Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch

Philippines | Aged

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

5.7/10 (673 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
36
34
44
67
79
143
139
75
36
20

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


673 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

00f9e83a4546d1cf0d9e9b1956d5cdfb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

il vaut la peinr d 'etre gouté, pour le voyage, il vient de philippines . il goute le rhum, est agréable, festif, sucré mais les additifs trop présents. on a vraiment l impression qu il s agit d'un mix de rhum avec un peu de ceci et un peu de cela pour lui donner une identité. c 'est un bon achat mais pas un vrai rhum. (avis personnel)

B575695ed7cca3e88edb14c5f120b38f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

U mňa áno, taký kumkvatovo sladkejší. Ale mne také vyhovujú.

8b762d17158fbc2d0d1e329ae5a2b242.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Chutnal som ho spolu s rumami Pyrat, Zacapa, Plantation. Zaujal ma najviac. Výrazná pomarančová chuť a chuť po kandizovanom ovocí. Svojou sladkosťou a voňavosťou výborná voľba pre ženy a ľudí, kt. si chcú vychutnať pohárik. Predpokladám, že na opitie vhodný nebude...ranné prebudenie by asi bolo kruté, s bolesťou hlavy :) Určite odporúčam skúsiť aj ľuďom, ktorý neobľubujú tvrdý alkohol (vo všeobecnosti vinkári), tento kúsok ideálne prelomí ľady :)

D585d875b7201cd718e99ca930aea97d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tobs1991 from Germany with 8 ratings

I found this one very interesting. It has a lot of tropical notes in the nose. It is both intense and interesting. It is sweet and enjoyable.

Considering comments from other reviewers concerning possible cheating and flavouring, it feels almost bad to enjoy it. Sorry.

9907d8fe708f79907596a8db171e4e3b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Čekal jsem hodně, dostal né tolik. Vanilkový rum, vůně/chuť vanilkové bonbónky typu sisinky, výrazné sladké aroma i chuť. Babské pití. Ale not bad jen je potřeba se naladit na tu sladší jízdu. Další lahev do domu už ne.

7a8f5ef7a3759144b0c178ae736bea63.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Crazyrumlady from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This rum is sweet. I mean sugary. It is syrupy and golden, it certainly looks the part but is very overpowering.
I liked the look of the rum and bottle is lovely, personally it is far too sweet but is great as a mixer in a long drink or cocktail. Great for those that have a sweet tooth, handy to give to guests.

4ed66541bbbde6bbf5997f4132a5f734.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Robhendriks from Belgium with 11 ratings

Nice wrapping. But not the greatest rum, in thé price segment. Sweet.

D046ec581616b00545d9f59ca8d48b12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

This was another one of those ones I bought on a whim from a supermarket without knowing anything about it. I've had it for a couple of months now and the only reason I have a glass of it in front of me now, is so I can write this. It is not a bottle I reach for unless there is no other rum available.

I regard it as very much in the same vein as Pyrat XO.
It's just about drinkable, but there isn't much to say about it as a rum.
As with most licquers, it you make it sweet enough someone will drink it, and this has sweetness in spades.
Beyond that, it has citrus, oak and boiled sweets. Not the good kind like Werthers Originals (I often suck a Werthers when I'm drinking rum and let them play around in my mouth) but more like the cheap barley sugars you buy at petrol stations before a long journey, only to have a couple and decide they taste horrible and they stay in your glovebox until you sell the car.
There's something artificial about almost every aspect of this rum. The burn is harsh and long-lasting. The overall flavour is like the sauce from a plate of duck a l'orange. There is a little spice and a touch of pepper right at the very end, but it's more a kind of heat than a flavour.

This is yet another rum priced at a touch over £30.
If you want to spend a similar amount on a sweet rum, buy a Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. It is undisputably better. A bold statement, but I stand by it.

If I was to ever buy another bottle of this, it would be because
a It's cost has fallen to below £12 per bottle
b I could not get any other rum, and I had none in stock at home ... as if
It's not horrible, but there are other bottles in the house I would rather be drinking.

A845b72b5f33e90ecf7e9d2554f1f7c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Roy from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Nice sweet smoothness with a little after burn. Not a bad rum for the price

25f6c26f960b88ac36686eefccd27271.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Wanzl from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Not really a rum. More like a coffeeliquor.
Too sweet for my taste. Nice bottle though.

A232d22c0994ced1af4742185a7424d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Smell very sweet. Taste like a gummy bear. Not for me, do not order again!