Posting your rating...
Don Papa Small Batch rum

Don Papa Small Batch Rum is produced by the Bleeding Heart Rum Company on the southern island of Negros in the Philippines. The rum is distilled from molasses, then aged for over 7 years in American oak barrels, and lastly charcoal filtered.

The name Don Papa rum was inspired by Papa Isio, a leader of the Philippine revolution against the Spanish who led his island to independence before joining the main revolutionary movement.

Rate Don Papa Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


655 Don Papa Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Weak body, not many layers of taste - only sweet and candied fruit. No burning. Can be the choice for women.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ole Gerkensmeyer from Germany with 13 ratings

Very good for people you want to show the richness of rum: neither too sweet nor too strong, good entry level
Has a nice smell of ripe fruits and is tempting to sip

Posted almost 4 years ago by Earnsen from Germany with 8 ratings

Süsse: 8/10
Würze: 7/10
Frucht: 9/10
Milde: 9/10
Preis Leistung perfekt

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

V soucasne chvili je ho vsude plno, ale me proste chutna. Neni treba v nem hledat nic velkeho, ale vzdy potesi.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

This is a rum that distincts itself from others. It has the nice flavors of vanilla and caramel and citrus, but also something that I can't define. That part makes it quite unique. It's sweet and easy to drink. Not bad at all.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Very fruity rum. Orange, vanilla, caramel and citrus notes. Nice botle.

Posted almost 4 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

I wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews, but i actually like the rum. The bottle is a beauty. Only a decanter would beat it. 8/10. The taste was ok. Sweet, too sweet for some probably but i like the more sugar-fruity rums. 7/10. Nothing very complex or no amazing combination, but a smooth and sweet uniform taste. It tastes like a 3y old more then a 7y old

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Fruity delight with an incredible aftertaste that shocks you for the cost wow

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Ce produit ne devrait pas être classé dans les rhums
C'est un ersatz de rhum vieux bourré de produits chimiques de sucre et d'arômes artificiels

Posted almost 4 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Der Geschmack ist schon recht gut aber der Rum klingt gar nicht nach und ist sofort wieder weg. Wer es mild mag kann den trinken, jedoch wenig gehaltvoll

Posted almost 4 years ago by Frip from Belgium with 14 ratings

it's like drinking a medicine mixed with swimming pool water... horrible taste if you expect a good aged rhum. There is only marketing behind this product. It was a good try on the international level for these guys, Philippines was virgin on the market, so why not trying to sell a crap to the world using the story of this country... bad luck for them, good luck for aged rhum lovers...
If you want a good Philipinnes aged Rhum, try the Emperador Zabana, this would be the best one from this country, far from all others, but a bit more expensive.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Puternic gust dulce, miere, vanilie.. aftertaste cu portocala-mamdarina. Recomand! E o experiență..

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Este un rom foarte deosebit, putin spiced dar cu un finish frumos, elegant, suav. Putin cam dulce, aromat, nuante de trandafiri, fructe exotice si vanilie din belsug. Intr-un cuvant; Altceva! nu este pentru fanii romurilor mature.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lofik from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

Distinctiv aroma of vanilla in the smell and taste,medium sweet and smooth.

Posted almost 4 years ago by wayfarer from United States with 7 ratings

As far as spiced rums go, this is my favorite.They don't label it as such, but flavor-wise it's in the ball park of Sailor Jerry and Captain Morgan, but superior in taste to either. I find it to be pleasant, smooth and rather sweet. The Philippines is fond of sweet things so that stands to reason. I prefer drinking it on the rocks. Not a bad Cuba Libre mixer either, but when drinking this I don't want any distractions from the taste of the rum itself.

Posted almost 4 years ago by gips from France with 5 ratings

Après mon 1er diplomatico, j'ai craqué pour le packaging.
J'aime assez son goût d'agrumes en bouche.
Il est resté longtemps mon favori jusqu'à. ....

Posted almost 4 years ago by xavier from United States with 17 ratings

Forte presence d'agrume, un peu trop fort en bouche, le 10 ans est plus doux, un petit peu déçus...

Posted almost 4 years ago by Koestel from France with 14 ratings

Un rhum très parfumé, très agréable avec un dessert. Je le recommande.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Very interesting rum, a great noise, of caramel and fruits.
Then the taste bring some more caramel and fruity flavor, and some vanilla as well.
I would say this rum is too good for a mixer but will never be my choice to have straight up, too much sugar but yet not that smooth.

PS: I changed from 6 to 5, I am having a hard time finishing the bottle, just way too much adding sugar in it.

Posted almost 4 years ago by B12kjc from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I get this at my local cocktail bar I haven't tasted that many spiced rums but this is so smooth and spicey I drink ginger and lime but I am going to try straight it's not in supermarkets at moment I think it's about £34 but I say it's a great Rum and I would pay price

Posted about 4 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Not sure about this one. Had to check it wasn't a spiced rum. Very orangey in both taste and smell. Strange blobby legs in the glass too. Not unpleasant though and smooth enough to drink straight up.

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Very hard to explain, but I think either you love it, or you' ll just drink it to the last drop but will never buy it again...I don't want to call it spiced Rum so I'll just say : It has a very original taste that makes it's identity and will never be confused with anything else...
Sweet but sort of agressive, not very balanced, a low cost that tastes low cost in my opinion.
May be I have to try it in a long drink...

Posted about 4 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Leckerer süßer rum hatte das geschmacklich nicht erwartet. Top

Posted about 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

I like sweetness with Rum, but this is too Sweet for me. It is like liqueur.

Posted about 4 years ago by koon from Germany with 13 ratings

Der Philippinische, Holzig Honige sanfte Knaller! (V1.0.)