Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo rum

Brugal Extra Viejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

5.6/10
107 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
8
26
32
23
6
1
2

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

107 Brugal Extra Viejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

I hoped it would be an upgrade to Brugal Anejo and it does seem to have a thicker body and maybe more aging, but its aged only in ex-bourbon casks not sherry. It’s good but if you’re a regular Brugal drinker the finish feels sort of empty because there is no fruity wine barrel influence that is usually there in other Brugal offerings. Heavier and maybe more sugary than the Anejo, but lacking the full Brugal flavor found in their other better rums.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by mulorz from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Nejlepší rum na míchané nápoje! Pít ho samostatný chce ale dost odvahy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Perhaps they meant to type "BRUTAL" on the labels and just went with it. If I ever need to chlorophorm someone in a pinch, this might work if it doesn't kill them.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 30 ratings

Excellent in mixed drinks. Had lots in Dominican.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

Enjoyed most of the Brugal in the islands when that’s the best we could find. I mix this with fresh coconut water or coke. A bit rough to sip on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by DurhamLad from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I went to the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic some years ago and tried many of their rums. I purchased a bottle of this as it was the best rum that I had sampled during the visit. I have kept this bottle for special occasions and recently opened it. I must admit to being underwhelmed with this rum. For the unusually high price, this rum drink (at 37.5% can you class it as rum?) is fighting way above its weight. It's not a bad rum but it is less than average in my opinion.
The aftertaste is harsh when drank neat but ice does tend to improve it a lot. The taste has a smokiness to it that does not linger. A truly forgettable rum that does mix with coke classic very well. When in a bind is just about right for this rum.

Small 24e26e66 c6c7 425d a133 3a533f9d023a

Posted over 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 59 ratings

Expected more. Going to DR in 2 weeks waned to sample a local but this is thin not flavor I expected. Will try the better if I can

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

A little harsh on the nose with molasses and caramel. It's 37.5% abv...feels and taste that way. Initial taste, swift unwanted volatile compounds with an impact of caramel, citrus peel and oak, finishing in peppery oak spice. I think it would be helpful distilling it one more time before aging and bottle it at 40% abv. Besides that, average aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Rien de particulier dans cette bouteille. L'alcool prend vraiment le dessus sur un petit côté boisé pourtant pas désagréable. Bien en cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

For a rum made for mixing this one us pretty boring. It doesnt bring anything else than the cheal alcohol taste. You're probably better off with another kind of rum

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

I know this is not the most expensive, however we all know pallet in individual and this is one of my favourites on the rocks. its very dry and has a lovely flavour that means many can be consumed over an evening.......