Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo rum

Brugal Extra Viejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

5.8/10 (99 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
7
23
31
22
5
1
2

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


99 Brugal Extra Viejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

00334520c625d880561282e63ab08d7f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Cardene from Belgium with 17 ratings

An average rum at best, generic taste. Not much going on with it.

6b7799938fc4042595b9aa20ec52f6da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 28 ratings

Excellent in mixed drinks. Had lots in Dominican.

23dd56e40dadd697b813e2798897a33f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 41 ratings

Expected more. Going to DR in 2 weeks waned to sample a local but this is thin not flavor I expected. Will try the better if I can

Ea5c2ee5a2a3abacc761b35ae471621b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

A little harsh on the nose with molasses and caramel. It's 37.5% abv...feels and taste that way. Initial taste, swift unwanted volatile compounds with an impact of caramel, citrus peel and oak, finishing in peppery oak spice. I think it would be helpful distilling it one more time before aging and bottle it at 40% abv. Besides that, average aged rum.

7e27fb38eade778773c28d51984d950a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Perhaps they meant to type "BRUTAL" on the labels and just went with it. If I ever need to chlorophorm someone in a pinch, this might work if it doesn't kill them.

Ab94a46e23f13ca79ce9454b3f7761a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Rien de particulier dans cette bouteille. L'alcool prend vraiment le dessus sur un petit côté boisé pourtant pas désagréable. Bien en cocktail.

B263a771cffe2e3a7c46b18a3c445bd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

For a rum made for mixing this one us pretty boring. It doesnt bring anything else than the cheal alcohol taste. You're probably better off with another kind of rum

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 406 ratings

I know this is not the most expensive, however we all know pallet in individual and this is one of my favourites on the rocks. its very dry and has a lovely flavour that means many can be consumed over an evening.......

Bf20d2c798e86bc52e7ce29ff17dfd6d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Dany from Canada with 15 ratings

Theres nothing i like about this rum , i find it tasteless snd dry even with coke. Sorry i guess im not a fan of Brugal

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...I had to knock a few points off just for the aroma. Reminds me of paint thinner. Sorry, but it does.

Tasting it....one word....harsh...has a weird flavor to it that just seems...well...off...

Viscous...

Tastes as if the wood particles weren't filtered....

Supposed to be "extra old" but exhibits no such aging...

A little sweetness but has some noticeable bitterness that is displeasing...

Not...I repeat...NOT a sipping rum...

I don't know...maybe I got a bottle from a bad batch but I really cannot recommend this for anything but for mixers calling for harsh rum. Not my first, second, or third choice. There are much better rums for the price.

66b377c036ad88d9f85f33c445dc10c5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 1 day ago by steveinny from United States with 16 ratings

Not my favorite. Mix it but don't drink neat. Kinda harsh.