Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo rum

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


98 Brugal Extra Viejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Light taste like the regular Brugal. There is a bit more wood and caramel in the finish. Very good with sprite.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

Excellent in mixed drinks. Had lots in Dominican.

Posted over 2 years ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Expected more. Going to DR in 2 weeks waned to sample a local but this is thin not flavor I expected. Will try the better if I can

Posted over 2 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

A little harsh on the nose with molasses and caramel. It's 37.5% abv...feels and taste that way. Initial taste, swift unwanted volatile compounds with an impact of caramel, citrus peel and oak, finishing in peppery oak spice. I think it would be helpful distilling it one more time before aging and bottle it at 40% abv. Besides that, average aged rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Perhaps they meant to type "BRUTAL" on the labels and just went with it. If I ever need to chlorophorm someone in a pinch, this might work if it doesn't kill them.

Posted almost 3 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Rien de particulier dans cette bouteille. L'alcool prend vraiment le dessus sur un petit côté boisé pourtant pas désagréable. Bien en cocktail.

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

For a rum made for mixing this one us pretty boring. It doesnt bring anything else than the cheal alcohol taste. You're probably better off with another kind of rum

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

I know this is not the most expensive, however we all know pallet in individual and this is one of my favourites on the rocks. its very dry and has a lovely flavour that means many can be consumed over an evening.......

Posted over 4 years ago by Dany from Canada with 15 ratings

Theres nothing i like about this rum , i find it tasteless snd dry even with coke. Sorry i guess im not a fan of Brugal

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...I had to knock a few points off just for the aroma. Reminds me of paint thinner. Sorry, but it does.

Tasting it....one word....harsh...has a weird flavor to it that just seems...well...off...

Viscous...

Tastes as if the wood particles weren't filtered....

Supposed to be "extra old" but exhibits no such aging...

A little sweetness but has some noticeable bitterness that is displeasing...

Not...I repeat...NOT a sipping rum...

I don't know...maybe I got a bottle from a bad batch but I really cannot recommend this for anything but for mixers calling for harsh rum. Not my first, second, or third choice. There are much better rums for the price.

Posted 5 days ago by DurhamLad (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I went to the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic some years ago and tried many of their rums. I purchased a bottle of this as it was the best rum that I had sampled during the visit. I have kept this bottle for special occasions and recently opened it. I must admit to being underwhelmed with this rum. For the unusually high price, this rum drink (at 37.5% can you class it as rum?) is fighting way above its weight. It's not a bad rum but it is less than average in my opinion.
The aftertaste is harsh when drank neat but ice does tend to improve it a lot. The taste has a smokiness to it that does not linger. A truly forgettable rum that does mix with coke classic very well. When in a bind is just about right for this rum.

Posted 16 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

For mixing only. Rum and Coke, juice or Coconut water. If you like the burn you can enjoy it Neat

Posted about 1 month ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Pleasant vanilla aroma, but taste not so good for me.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Rhum à boire avec accompagnement, du coke ou 7up ou en drink.

Posted about 2 months ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

A bit harsh as a sipper but a nice surprise as a mixer. A touch of fruit makes this different when mixed with coke , 7-up and ginger ale. A bit sweet but really nice for a change. At this price worth keeping around for a small treat.

Posted 3 months ago by Imaks from Latvia with 14 ratings

Can be better rum not favourite rum. 38% only spirit

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Dachte hier gibt's eine deutliche Steigerung zum Anejo. Dies ist nicht der Fall.

Posted 6 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

Not outstanding, but sipable later in the evening. Not alone, for that there are a few better one in that price range.

Posted 8 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Very dry and Sharp If you drink it pure.
The Sharp wodden Taste works with Coke but won't be your best drink in this nicht.
Compareble with a sharper Havanna 7 anejos in my opinion. (Also not my favourite)

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

The extra Viejo is a big step up from the regular.
And there is even better yet with the 1888 or XV, "9's'" in my book.

Posted about 1 year ago by dsrum from United States with 4 ratings

Good taste, and mixes incredibly well. Alone the flavor isn't anything special but it makes one of the best Cuba Libres I've tasted

Posted about 1 year ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I hoped it would be an upgrade to Brugal Anejo and it does seem to have a thicker body and maybe more aging, but its aged only in ex-bourbon casks not sherry. It’s good but if you’re a regular Brugal drinker the finish feels sort of empty because there is no fruity wine barrel influence that is usually there in other Brugal offerings. Heavier and maybe more sugary than the Anejo, but lacking the full Brugal flavor found in their other better rums.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ron Tyaon from United States with 12 ratings

Not as sweet or deep as the upper echelon rums but overall very good. Beautiful dark color with with notes of vanilla and molasses.

Posted about 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

absolut der beste rum zum mixen!!(cuba liebre i love you)!! preis leistung absolut super! pur geniesen nein danke!

Posted over 1 year ago by Robhendriks from Belgium with 11 ratings

It's not thé worst, of thé best. Just ok for it's price a