Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo rum

Brugal Extra Viejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

5.7/10 (104 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
8
25
32
23
5
1
2

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

104 Brugal Extra Viejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 64 ratings

Not bad, and while I prefer to sip my rhums, if I need some to mix, I choose this one, as it is not on par with other on the same price range. Not complex, not particularly pleasing.

Pas mal, et même si je préfère déguster mes rhums nature, si j'ai besoin d'un rhum pour un cocktail, je choisis celui-ci, car il n'est pas à la hauteur d'autres dans la même gamme de prix. Pas complexe, pas particulièrement agréable.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Cheap good for coctails, without depth, better than bacardi, captain morgan. But on the other hand for that price I think Jameson whiskey is better way to go...

Final verdict: Maybe some day I will giv it another shot

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Seriously, did they catch these bottles swimming in an enchanted swimming hole in the DR? The ABV is weak for the style, and it tastes like candy water. They could do much better with a little more TLC with the product, instead of focusing so much on the brand.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by ProfessionalFloridian from United States with 13 ratings

Harsh with no depth. I don't have much to offer here. I don't have any ideas as to what they're doing wrong, just that is in fact wrong. Too many great options out there to settle for this.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

The aroma and taste of this rum has no other flavor than alcohol. Definitely not for drinking straight or with water. Maybe ok for a mixer but I didn't even wish to try anymore of it.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 181 ratings

Having had Brugal Anejo, Brugal XV and Brugal 1888, it was only a matter of time before I got my hands on a bottle of Brugal Extra Viejo. This version of the Brugal line sells for $35 CAD in my area and I would guess it is most likely used as a mixer. In spite of the low rating on this site (5.9 from 78 ratings) I thought I would give it a try as a sipper rum as it is known to be very dry, with no sugar added.

This rum is dry indeed and while not a premium rum, it is nevertheless acceptable neat but much better rums are available for a few extra dollars. Would I drink this again? Yes. Will I purchase another bottle? Not likely.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan Brush from United States with 7 ratings

Very good, but a little too sweet f

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 61 ratings

El sabor no es malo, es un poquito dulce y sabe mejor q el Brugal Añejo q sabe a tierra. No es uno de mis favoritos ya que al dia despues de tomar este ron me dio muy mala resaca y dolor de cabeza. Brugal tiene mejores rones q este.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Un peu dure a boire seul, mais parfait pour les drink

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by chris from Canada with 11 ratings

there's much better options from there, even from Brugal, I have heard much better from the 1888 if you want to try that instead !

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 75 ratings

ok i'll give it this smooth but something that i couldn't put my finger on was not right about this rum
thin and medicinal like it had a funny after taste that to me was off putting
gladly it was not me who bought the bottle ,lol
i will not run out to buy this rum it can stay on the shelf , i would much rather drink the Anejo