Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo rum

Brugal Extra Viejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

5.7/10
109 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
9
26
32
23
7
1
2

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

109 Brugal Extra Viejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Nouette from France with 12 ratings

Nothing to do with old rhum

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dany from Canada with 15 ratings

Theres nothing i like about this rum , i find it tasteless snd dry even with coke. Sorry i guess im not a fan of Brugal

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...I had to knock a few points off just for the aroma. Reminds me of paint thinner. Sorry, but it does.

Tasting it....one word....harsh...has a weird flavor to it that just seems...well...off...

Viscous...

Tastes as if the wood particles weren't filtered....

Supposed to be "extra old" but exhibits no such aging...

A little sweetness but has some noticeable bitterness that is displeasing...

Not...I repeat...NOT a sipping rum...

I don't know...maybe I got a bottle from a bad batch but I really cannot recommend this for anything but for mixers calling for harsh rum. Not my first, second, or third choice. There are much better rums for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by cclark.stj (PREMIUM) from Virgin Islands, U.S. with 1 rating

I bought this rum in hopes that "Extra Viejo" really meant that, but it doesn't. Still, the rum compares favorably with Cruzan Gold at the same price point: about $14/liter here in the place where Joe Kennedy, and also countless terminal rummies, start(ed) off. The packaging (see photo) means I'll buy it again as a robust mixer.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 2 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 416 ratings

I wound up at a liquor store that supposedly had a great selection and they can also order Pusser's rums for you. It was a convenience store on a busy federal highway, but in the back was a large glass case filled with expensive tequilas and single malt scotches. The small selection of rums was next to that glass case, and they did have this rum. Since I had not seen this one in a VERY long time, I just had to spend my Belmont Stakes trifecta winnings on it. Would it be just as bad as my all time worst rum ever, Brugal Anejo? I would soon find out.

Sipping it neat has too much burn. On the rocks brings out some caramel flavors. At $26 US, this is still too expensive to mix. The label on the back recommends drinking on the rocks or in mixed drinks. I agree. This one started out as a low 6 in my ratings, but has tumbled down to a high 4 because of the strong chemical taste found eight days after opening the bottle. No more rums from Brugal for me! Their 1888 was the best and I rated that as a 6. All are overpriced crap.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by soccerrd5 from Netherlands with 21 ratings

Drink this often, good to mix with coca cola, orange or grapefruit juice or more. Won't disappoint

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Haberer from Austria with 31 ratings

well the headline says it all, i'll try it as a mixer but even then i expect not much from it. maybe i got a bad batch since others seem to rate it higher, but the stuff in my bottle honestly smells like the glue children use in arts and crafts. taste wise i only get burn and cheap alcohol taste, could as well be colored oven cleaner. at least i didnt pay for this stuff

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by PCMike from Dominican Republic with 8 ratings

This rum is often pushed on tourists as one of the finest rums in the country. Obviously, it lags well behind that classification. A decent mixer. The aging in sherry casks strongly influences the final product. Good in a pinch, if Barcelo Anejo or Gran Anejo is not available.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Valtinho from Finland with 4 ratings

Smooth, sweet. Works well in Cuba libre. Value for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Adamek from Poland with 13 ratings

Well, won’t buy it next time. Not for drinking sote.

Small dsc 0175

Posted 10 months ago by Dimitris from Greece with 81 ratings

Nice molasses with a touch sweetness and bit dry end. Overall a sympathetic moderate rum.