Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 50-Year rum

Appleton Estate 50-Year Rum was crafted in 1962 to celebrate Jamaica's full independence from Britain. Barrels were set aside to age with the intention of bottling the rums decades later in celebration of the country’s 50th independence anniversary.

According to plan, Appleton Estate announced the sale of 800 bottles of this 50 year old rum in June 2012. Aged over 50 years, this rum is the world’s oldest barrel-aged rum.

Rate Appleton Estate 50-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Appleton Estate 50-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Now Im not just throwing full marks at this because its fifty years old, but the concept of it does get it at least 1 point. The oldest rum available to buy and as there are only 500 of the 800 bottles made still available im not sure im even going to get the chance to try this again! Lucky enough to be part of a private tasting which was awesome, i was really able to take my time and enjoy this one properly. As you can imagine with a rum of this age its very dark mahogany appearance and incredible legs show off the viscosity before sticking your nose into that powerful oak with a balanced undertone of cinnamon and vanilla alongside of touch of citrus zest which follow into tasting the first sip. Incredibly smooth and long lasting, it really is a lovely finish on such a remarkable product. And the complexity of it all i must add really worked with the rich dark chocolate that was handed out with it. Although i only had a nibble before finishing my rum, it really did bring out the sweeter notes of cocoa and caramel which were rounded off beautifully. Spose i should get saving if i want one of my own... :-D

Posted about 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Never has a rum intimidated me so much to taste it - I felt almost unworthy. I'm a fan of Jamaican rum and Appleton in particular, however, I really didn't enjoy it all that much. To me, it actually tasted like it spent too much time in the barrel (gasp). This rum is rich, dark, and smooth, but the oak and smoke overpowered my enjoyment. Glad to have tried it, consider it a good rum, but wouldn't spend the money on it a second time.

Posted over 3 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

I hope this is good rum for the price ;))))))))))))))))))

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

I guess I should technically not be rating this yet because I haven't actually opened my bottle(and I don't intend to until my 50th birthday……… OK maybe my 40th). But at $5000 a bottle it better dam well be a 10 out of 10.

I have read a lot of reviews that say it is really "oaky" but thats not necessarily a bad thing.

I only hope i am around for the 100 year bottle in 2062; my god, i'll be 84 years old.

Posted over 7 years ago by Robert Burr from United States with 7 ratings

In honor of Jamaica's 50th celebration of independence, the iconic Appleton Estate brand of rum was issued -- a very limited release of a 50 year old rum -- to commemorate the special occasion.

The Appleton Estate 50 Year Old Jamaica Rum, known as Jamaica Independence Reserve, comprises rums which have been aged for a minimum of 50 years in oak barrels. The rums that make up this blend were specifically set down to age to celebrate this important occasion.

This very rare, limited edition rum was launched on June 7, 2012 at Jamaica House in Kingston, Jamaica and was attended by a number of dignitaries including the Prime Minister of Jamaica, the Most Honorable Portia Simpson-Miller.

Posted over 7 years ago by TRayfield from United Kingdom with 1 rating

For a rum that has spent as long in oak as this one (minimum of 50 years, maximum of 55) Appleton Estate 50 Year demonstrates true elegance. Wonderfully balanced this rum shows a beautiful spice and citrus entry which is rounded out by the oak and then an incredibly long finish with hints of tobacco.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Don't worry about a 'ting a ling a ling. Umthandi zintho

Posted over 6 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 16 ratings

I have a bottle of this but I'm waiting for a very special occasion to open it. I'll let you know when we get there.

Posted over 7 years ago by El Toro from United Kingdom with 31 ratings

Big... Quite simply put. Obviously having been in wood for so long the oakiness is strong. Has a smokiness, almost like cuban cigars and a subtle bitter chocolate note to match.
But not perfect as those woody notes tend to dry it out too much, not letting enough of the sweet molasses flavour Appleton is famed for to come through.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

It's not everyday you get a chance at something like this so if you see it at a bar then you really need to splurge. It's not overly oaked but instead a very deep profile of spices and slight hogo. Remarkable rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 34 ratings

So the closest thing to this unsurprisingly is Appleton Joy (which is much more affordable) but the 50yo is like the perfected version of joy. It’s ridiculously smooth and heavily orange peel flavored almost to the point that you could start saying things like “tangy”. From the taste perspective it’s very unique and worth paying a bucket of money ($250-$300) for an ounce in the elite bars that carry it. From the bottle and box perspective there is no equal even the iconography have jamaican-rooted symbolism

Posted 7 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Very nice sweet and smooth aroma with vanilla tones. Taste is same perfect ballanced, complex and swweter (but no too much) turning in wooden tannine aftertaste (aftertaste similar to 30y).
I was so lucky to get and taste one sample.

Posted 11 months ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

Was fortunate to get a shot of this rum. Think I took about three hours to finish that shot - wanted it to last as long as possible! Simply the richest, smoothest, most flavorful rum ever. Perfect. Only “10” I’ve ever come across! 🏴‍☠️

Posted almost 3 years ago by Christopher Ackerman from United States with 3 ratings

I've had my fare share of rums over the years and while enjoying an Appleton and coke on a friends dock had mentioned how much I'd love to try this very rare rum. He happened to have a bottle and cracked it open to pour two neat for us to enjoy. It was the smoothest and most flavorful rums I've ever had. I'd love to taste it again but my piggy bank isn't that big.