Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock

Puerto Rico | Gold

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

6.8/10
391 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
5
11
26
69
152
75
29
16

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

391 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rhun from United States with 14 ratings

Meh. Average rum to my tastes. Pretty good as a mixer, but there are better, less expensive ones.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 40 ratings

This is one of my standard bearers for a good ole fashioned rum and coke. Much smoother than its younger brother and equally obtainable, it is the definitive choice on an evening with friends. Easy to throw back and forget how many you have had.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Portoriko
Aroma: Bohatá vůně, plná, nasládlá. Vše v linii káva-kůže-čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Kořenitě nasládlá. Zprvu tenčí, lehká, jemná chuť, ale postupně přechází do hřejivého koření, dřeva, čokolády, pralinek, se skořicovým dozvukem. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Od této značky jsem nic skvělého neočekával, navíc i kategorie spiced ve mně důvěru moc nebudí, o to větší bylo překvapení při ochutnávce. Litrovka pod šest stovek se jeví jako dobrý nákup.

Small 0b2082f5 93c5 4e06 9aee d60fb4903f99

Posted 1 month ago by Red_Beard from United States with 4 ratings

Most would look down on captain spiced but I have to say this private stock was very surprising on how comparable it is to other more expensive brands I’ve had. Spice forward on the nose but very sweet with the vanilla on the draw but not to overbearing like you might expect. For the price you can really complain.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Azun_the_Wise from United States with 6 ratings

I am not a huge fan of Cap Morgan, as I have discovered many other rums that are simply better, but it was a good starting point. That said I do have a bottle of this on my shelf right now and I do enjoy it. It is far from my favorite rum, but it is sweet, though a little harsher than expected. It is a significant upgrade from any other captain morgan.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ajt95 from United States with 15 ratings

A good bourbon barrel aged rum. Great value for the price, mixed it really shows the hints of bourbon, almost tastes like a mix of rum and coke and a Bourbon and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Vagimir from Slovakia with 14 ratings

Na túto nádheru som prišiel náhodou. Išiel som po Dictador 12, no osud chcel aby som vyskúšal niečo iné. Po prvom príjemnom dúšku vôní ma prekvapila jemnosť chutí a sladkosť. Pri porovnaní s goldom a otázkou kolegu "čo to stojí?" som rád priznal "trojnásobne viac to chutí, ako gold" 😀 Takže sa ku tomuto rumu určite budem rád vraciať. Určite odporúčam všetkým ktorí majú radi sladkú, príjemnú chuť a vôňu.👍

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

I wouldn't sip any of the Captain Morgan's that I've tried so far, but all are mixable to varying degrees. Morgan's Black is my favorite of these rums, but the Private Stock is second. Not a close second, but second.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jimechsbu99 from United States with 5 ratings

This is the rum got me into drinking rum. Truly enjoy the smooth taste of tis magnificent alcohol, especially when mixed with Diet Dr Pepper.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 160 ratings

Smagte en lille smagsprøve hos Dansk-Vinlager. Overraskende sød og nem drikkelig af en Morgan, havde jeg ikke regnet med

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by steveinny from United States with 36 ratings

This is a top shelf rum that has been adorned with a subtle spice element. Absolutely delicious and the spices accent a fantastic base rum bringing it to another level.