Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock

Puerto Rico | Gold

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

6.7/10
385 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
5
11
26
68
150
73
28
16

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

385 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bernard from United States with 5 ratings

This is very tasty. I recommend it on the rocks with a squeeze of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 31 ratings

This is one of my standard bearers for a good ole fashioned rum and coke. Much smoother than its younger brother and equally obtainable, it is the definitive choice on an evening with friends. Easy to throw back and forget how many you have had.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Portoriko
Aroma: Bohatá vůně, plná, nasládlá. Vše v linii káva-kůže-čokoláda. (86 b)
Chuť: Kořenitě nasládlá. Zprvu tenčí, lehká, jemná chuť, ale postupně přechází do hřejivého koření, dřeva, čokolády, pralinek, se skořicovým dozvukem. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Od této značky jsem nic skvělého neočekával, navíc i kategorie spiced ve mně důvěru moc nebudí, o to větší bylo překvapení při ochutnávce. Litrovka pod šest stovek se jeví jako dobrý nákup.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ajt95 from United States with 15 ratings

A good bourbon barrel aged rum. Great value for the price, mixed it really shows the hints of bourbon, almost tastes like a mix of rum and coke and a Bourbon and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Vagimir from Slovakia with 14 ratings

Na túto nádheru som prišiel náhodou. Išiel som po Dictador 12, no osud chcel aby som vyskúšal niečo iné. Po prvom príjemnom dúšku vôní ma prekvapila jemnosť chutí a sladkosť. Pri porovnaní s goldom a otázkou kolegu "čo to stojí?" som rád priznal "trojnásobne viac to chutí, ako gold" 😀 Takže sa ku tomuto rumu určite budem rád vraciať. Určite odporúčam všetkým ktorí majú radi sladkú, príjemnú chuť a vôňu.👍

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

I wouldn't sip any of the Captain Morgan's that I've tried so far, but all are mixable to varying degrees. Morgan's Black is my favorite of these rums, but the Private Stock is second. Not a close second, but second.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jimechsbu99 from United States with 5 ratings

This is the rum got me into drinking rum. Truly enjoy the smooth taste of tis magnificent alcohol, especially when mixed with Diet Dr Pepper.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 126 ratings

Smagte en lille smagsprøve hos Dansk-Vinlager. Overraskende sød og nem drikkelig af en Morgan, havde jeg ikke regnet med

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by steveinny from United States with 36 ratings

This is a top shelf rum that has been adorned with a subtle spice element. Absolutely delicious and the spices accent a fantastic base rum bringing it to another level.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by RumHelps from United States with 9 ratings

I strongly feel that since Rum does not have so many rules and regulations like say, bourbon or whiskey, that it is truly up to an individual to define what their Rum palette enjoys. That being said, I prefer my Rum not too Oaky, and not too sweet. It's hard to find a Rum that just doesn't taste like liquid candy, or like an unrefined whiskey. Captain Morgans Private Stock is that perfect balance. There are other rums I like....but few that could be an "everyday". You can taste the vanilla, toffee, and caramel, but it's balanced out by the spices. I seem to always come back to this Rum. It's super smooth, but complex. Price is nice too.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Shiver me timbers this be a sweet rum! Aye, I've called out Bumbu Original for being a dessert rum, but this be far sweeter, maties. She smells wonderful and tastes just as sweet. Vanilla, spices, easy burn, rich body. Pure candy that be great for sipping... and your mates who are new to rum... and plunderin' with your mates who are new to rum... arrgh!