Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


349 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Un bon gout de vanille et de sucre, idéale pour mélanger avec le coke.

58a0b15181961fcbd7569a760e433f22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 1 day ago by CaptainGreen from United States with 10 ratings

Shiver me timbers this be a sweet rum! Aye, I've called out Bumbu Original for being a dessert rum, but this be far sweeter, maties. She smells wonderful and tastes just as sweet. Vanilla, spices, easy burn, rich body. Pure candy that be great for sipping... and your mates who are new to rum... and plunderin' with your mates who are new to rum... arrgh!

E301734b17e0a148cf3f2a6f3a244f15.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 13 days ago by Blowpez from United States with 1 rating

Picked this up due to all the raving reviews on here and was not disappointed. Intense vanilla and spice flavors keeps you coming back for more and more. What a good sipper. Will definitely always have a bottle handy from now on

E62001adb26e49890447bb6d0a12e395.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

This is my favorite rum by a landslide. It's affordable, complex, and smooth. It tastes great, probably due to the 2.5g of sugar per 1.5oz shot. It's sweet, spicy, and rich. It goes down smooth and leaves a nice aftertaste. Definitely worth trying out!

Ff4672fd4e6d730b9c8398626935d1cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Vejle Krog from Denmark with 66 ratings

This rum did not taste the way I thougt it would. This is actually very very good. Quite sweet, but very nice

90a28bc34b04afaf9be69d30e02616f2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Sabados from Slovakia with 6 ratings

I was pretty much surprised how good is this rum. Actually it is nice for sipping and mixing too. It's not very complex or special taste but it's nice simple and straight drink. Considering the price it is one of best rums considering value/satisfaction ratio.

403ac6a1ada4289854b3d4e16f8762e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mack from Canada with 27 ratings

All the hype with very little on delivery. I found the rum to be sweet with vanilla and spice flavors. I was disappointed however it is a good rum to serve when entertaining.

5f4ea9838b7e8089909274fb4ad9689e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Nice smmoth rum. Perfectvfor sipping neet. Vanilla notes.

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Ok this rum is what it is and I think the flavor is very nice and enjoyable. The ole Captain won Lots of Vanilla, sweet and very enjoyable. The Private Stock would be served well on ice cream. I served this at a blind rum tasting of around 25 rums. Now given that only a few guys know anything about rum everyone consistently gave it a 8-9 out of 10. I scored it a 7 but it is a good 7.5. Excellent priced tasty rum.. Can go as a high end Rum and Coke if yur shy with neat..

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

They didn't even try with this one. Someone poured a large bag of sugar into a barrel of semi-aged bulk rum, added some vanilla and baking spices, and called it private stock.

The stuff tastes like acid reflux. I would actually serve it to my worst enemy because, who else?

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

The amount of vanilla overwhelms anything else that might be an asset. Regular Capt. is a better product.

edited to add sugar test results- 45g