Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This is better than the regular captain morgan spiced rum, but that is not saying much. It is too syrupy sweet for my taste. You can do much better for the money.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Nice smmoth rum. Perfectvfor sipping neet. Vanilla notes.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Ok this rum is what it is and I think the flavor is very nice and enjoyable. The ole Captain won Lots of Vanilla, sweet and very enjoyable. The Private Stock would be served well on ice cream. I served this at a blind rum tasting of around 25 rums. Now given that only a few guys know anything about rum everyone consistently gave it a 8-9 out of 10. I scored it a 7 but it is a good 7.5. Excellent priced tasty rum.. Can go as a high end Rum and Coke if yur shy with neat..

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

They didn't even try with this one. Someone poured a large bag of sugar into a barrel of semi-aged bulk rum, added some vanilla and baking spices, and called it private stock.

The stuff tastes like acid reflux. I would actually serve it to my worst enemy because, who else?

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The amount of vanilla overwhelms anything else that might be an asset. Regular Capt. is a better product.

edited to add sugar test results- 45g

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 45- 50 gpl. Not much to say about this but if you read the label you will see that there is a lot of sugar added to this rum to where it is close to being a desert rum. It's got a bit of vanilla and caramel and spice in it and overall I would say that it's agreeable to those that don't like rum without cola. Don't mix this with anything sweet. I suggest that you put it on ice, or on ice cream. It's a good value rum, but I like a little or a lot more taste.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 16 ratings

Captain Morgan trying to break into the upper end of the market. Good , just not great.

Posted about 8 hours ago by Srod from Canada with 11 ratings

De prime a bord la bouteille est différente de se que le capitaine nous ba habitué elle est bien carré avec de jolies impression
Le nez est bien sa sens un peu l'alcool la vanille est le fût de chêne
La couleur est très jolie brun assez foncé avec reflet jaunâtre
Au goût c'est bien sucré vanillé un peu boisé les épices sont pas très présente pas contre
Mais quand même pas mal

Posted about 17 hours ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 11 ratings

This, again, is only a mixer. That said, I feel like original Captain Morgan spiced rum makes for a cleaner cocktail.

Posted 1 day ago by Mekpdue from United States with 6 ratings

You may think all Capt. Morgan’s rims require a sweetener (Coca Cola or a juice), but this rum is definitely more sophisticated (smooth). While I haven’t got the mouth to distinguish all the flavors, this rum is as smooth as some $40 dollar rums.

This is my go-to mid to low(er) cost rum.

It’s a sipper and a mixer. Try it.

Posted 9 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Not a bad sipper, but still cheaper in taste. Great mixer to switch up the old capt and coke.

Posted 21 days ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Very tasty sipper on ice. Smooth, fruity, touch of vanilla and maybe toffee.

Posted about 1 month ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

This rum is strait vanilla. Not good on its own but tastes good as a mixer with coke. Probably wouldn’t buy again unless to give to friends to mix at a party.

Posted about 1 month ago by juice062190 from United States with 5 ratings

This was my first "starter" before moving up. I have not had this in years and it is not a bad rum there are just better ones out there. It has a vanilla, coffee and cocoa taste but it is super dry. Has a little spice taste, like hot spice taste and that can take away from it. Overall not bad for mixing, but there are far better options for the price.

Posted about 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

However, when compared to the rum admiralty its rank as captain is deserved. Don't get me wrong, this is a quality rum. Easy to drink too. I like sweet rums but this one might be edging into too sweet territory. Lacks the alcohol bite that very fine rums incorporate without losing smoothness or balance. I like it, but it simply cannot sail along side the elite rums out there.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

A boire avec accompagnement, coke ou 7up. Vous pouvez l'essayer avec une glace ,ais sans plus!

Posted 3 months ago by Loud from Canada with 14 ratings

I find myself reaching for this Over many more expensive rums. I really like spiced rums, but this rum Is particularly tasty. It’s got really nice caramel flavours.

I’ve started giving it some time to breathe and noticed a big difference. After about 10 minutes any harsh notes were gone and I really enjoy what’s left.

Posted 3 months ago by Britain22 from United States with 10 ratings

For the price, this is a great Rum. It is always available in every liquor store I have been in and the price is always within reach. You can drink it str8 or mixed with soda and either way it works well.

Posted 3 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 22 ratings

I was surprised by how good this rum was. Wasn’t expecting much from captain Morgan

Posted 3 months ago by Rummy Martin from United States with 6 ratings

Just the amount of spice, this is one oif my favorite inexpensive rums. Good neat, great in cocktails.

Posted 4 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ein Literpreis von 30€ und man bekommt einen gefälligen und süßen Rum.
Die Flasche sieht nett aus und man kann ihn auch Neulingen anbieten.

Hier ist der Zuckergehalt mit 45 Gramm pro Liter ähnlich hoch wie bei den Premium-Rums der 100 € Klasse.
Aber es wird nicht damit gelogen das der süße Geschmack einer 30jährigen Fasslagerung entstammt. Das finde ich zumindest in Ansätzen ehrenwert.

Posted at LATAM Vip Lounge 4 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 4 ratings

es un buen ron , complejo no muy alcoholico , lo refiero con un hielo, los sabores muy balanceados , se nota la vainilla, color acaramelado justo, lo volvere a comprar

Posted 4 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

The only way i find I like this rum, is with coke. Has a very good vanilla taste. Doesn’t mix well with fruit juice.

Posted 4 months ago by nofa93 from Canada with 7 ratings

Intense to the nose and pleasant but seems artificial and sugary. +1 for disclosing ingredients.
BACK LABEL INGREDIENTS,ALCOHOL,SUGAR/GLUCOSE/-FRUCTOSE,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOURS

Posted 5 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 18 ratings

Notes of leather, Tobacco, Vanilla, and citrus in the Nose and taste. I like this Rum even with the Bite. It mixes well with a Coke, but I’ve found the cheaper sodas actually work better as a mixer. Try Faygo Cola, it less sweet than Coke and Pepsi and let’s more of the Run flavors come through without burying them. While it’s not quite a sipping Rum, it would do if that’s your budget as it’s above it’s price point in flavor. Ok, I’m going to give another evaluation here. It’s been about 6 months since I first tried this, sipping some as I write and will change that it is indeed a sipping Rum. It still had a little bite compared to other Rums, but sometimes I like my Rum or Whiskey to have that bite and burn. The burn is very mild and it’s still as sweet as my first try. Get a bottle today as it’s less than $25.00 almost everywhere and worth more in my opinion.