Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock

Puerto Rico | Gold

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

6.8/10 (371 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
5
10
25
63
142
75
27
16

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


371 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthew Gifford from United States with 14 ratings

This is a great everyday rum. Throw it in the freezer and leave it until ready to drink. It’s very smooth and great spice flair to keep ya coming back for more.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

This has been my go to sipper for many years.
A number of my friends and I are always on the lookout for a good/great rum. When we see a potential one we buy it and share it.
Seldom are these selections even equal to Private Stock, let alone better and any that have been as good have been far more expensive.
For my money, there just is not a better rum value available.
PS - It does not get a 10 only because, as with women, I think that 10's are a myth.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 78 ratings

Taste 6+/10. You can taste chocolate & artificial sweetness. Not Bad not good, average.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jlowndes from United States with 15 ratings

The private stock is decent. But still a far cry from good rum. It is better than standard captain by a good degree but I still don't think I would drink it neat or on ice...which to me, is a signature of a truly good rum

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Derek G. from Canada with 1 rating

First time I drank this rum, it was with cola and ice. I didn’t like it at all. Tried it again a year later over ice.... no cola and thought it was one of the best rums I had ever tasted. Don’t let the fairly low price fool you, this rum is by far the best bang for your buck I have ever tasted. Enjoying one now as I am making my comment.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

If I buy Captain this is my go to. It's has a great rich rum flavor and can be mixed or drank on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Daniel from United States with 5 ratings

Nice vanilla aroma, sweet and smooth, no real harsh aftertaste to speak of. I prefer to drink it neat. Price is affordable, around $25 give or take, easy to find. Not my top pick but definitely one I keep on the shelf and reach for regularly.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Shawn Prewitt from United States with 1 rating

Very smooth rum, goes amazingly well with Dr. Pepper if you need a chaser but easy to drink without one.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Grimmreeper from United States with 15 ratings

I was not expecting such a mass produced Captain Morgan product to be this good. If you're looking for something that you can find at almost any liquor store that can be your go-to rum when you can't find your favorite, I think this one is a really good choice. There's a lot of flavor packed in there, and the price isn't too bad either. It isn't my favorite rum, but I'm happy to pick this one up when I can't find one of my other usual choices.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 14 ratings

Every time I don't know what to get I go for this one

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Duane Cooper from United States with 2 ratings

I can drink this straight or with coke. Very smooth, solid choice for the price.