Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This is better than the regular captain morgan spiced rum, but that is not saying much. It is too syrupy sweet for my taste. You can do much better for the money.

Posted over 4 years ago by SL from Canada with 12 ratings

Certainly not an elaborate rum to sip on but pleasant nonetheless.

Posted over 4 years ago by Daniel from United States with 1 rating

Sweet to the smell, with vanilla scents. Tastes sweet and smooth. Great for an everyday type drink

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

If you don't like sickly sweet vanilla this wont be for you, but if your stuck at the in-laws over the holidays it might just get you by, barely. It is great for the price and availability.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Too sweet. Spices overwhelm and tastes artificial. Horrible aftertaste. I thought things would have improved since the horrific cheap Captain Morgan rum from my college days in the early to mid 80s...I was wrong...just expanded into other horribleness. If I had started with this rum when I got into rums earlier this year I might have rated it higher but I've sampled far superior rums than this so this is indeed barely drinkable and I would have to drown in Coke Zero in order to make it palatable. So I'm down to this: should I pour it down the sink into the septic tank (thereby inebriating the microorganisms in there) or push this off to some friends (thereby running the risk of making them EX-friends)....hmmm....

Choice is obvious...

PARTY IN THE SEPT TANK...MICROORGANISMS ABOUT TO GET TANKED!!!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Steeve Fabre from Canada with 10 ratings

As far as Captain Morgan rums go, this is the one I buy for myself (not for parties, cocktails or anything like that).

It's probably the only one I would drink neat, actually. This one and Oakheart are my 2 favorite "commercial rums"

Posted over 4 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 24 ratings

Split 3/4 of a bottle of this with a friend in high school many moons ago. I remember it being only marginally smoother than the original Captain (my drink of choice in high school) although it had a higher alcohol percentage, and similar in flavor. In spite of drinking so much, the night ended just fine- the reason I haven't revisited this rum is that it was nothing memorable for the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This is what I like to sip on. Straight up or on a few ice berg chunks.
Smooth and mellow.

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 5 ratings

its good enough to drink straight, but it's vanilla flavor makes it a good mix with root beer or cream soda

Posted over 4 years ago by MartinH from Slovakia with 10 ratings

At first i tried this i thought that is not bad rum because its CM, people think that it will be very spiced but no! only vanilla flavour is dominated, but none spice, most sweet rum i have ever drunk. It only 2yo but feel like more, it reminds me more older diplomatico 12yo, that is not as sweet like this rum but is more complete ans smooth, also more expensive, summary: will buy def again, nice to drink it straight also with coke or mix.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Very nice. For the serious connoisseur. Treat yourself.

Posted over 4 years ago by Thomas McClure from United States with 16 ratings

Private Stock used to be my go to rum. It mixed well with everything I threw at it. Coke, Sprite, Ginger Ale, Root-beer (with ice cream at times), and even the occasional Pepsi (I am not a Pepsi fan). I have only ever had two issues with this rum. First, the price. It is a good rum, I am just cheap. Second, it gave me heartburn. Not sure why though.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Love this one... Vanilla spiced rum is always good with coke and limes.

Posted almost 5 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

Simple inexpensive rum that you can mix with coke or drink on the rocks.that doesn't burn as bad as regular captain.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Commercial upgraded rum with very easy and uncomplicated body. Good for shots at a disco, bad for real rum enthusiasts.

Posted almost 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

When you don't feel like bringing a bottle of wine to a BYOB, this makes for a good little sipper (on the rocks)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

This is my favorite Captain Morgan to drink. I prefer to drink it with Coke. It was my first try at trying "better quality rums".

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Go buy a bottle of Zaya Gran Reserva. If you want to lose your pants and start dancing on a roof, go get a bottle of the regular 100 proof Cap.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Daniel Shinault from United States with 4 ratings

Captain Morgan Private Stock is a good starter rum for beginners. It helps one recognize the characteristics of a good rum and its weaknesses are easily apparent. It is not a true an aged rum like its more pricey companions on the top shelf but it is a good rum for sipping. It is sweet, smooth and with as strong taste of vanilla and slight molasses. With Rum and Coke being my prefered drink, i would Not recommend mixing this with coke but reserve it for sipping. Although its sweetness may become overwhelming after a while.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dany at pacifica from Canada with 2 ratings

for the price i believe that it is pretty good. It has a sweetness to it that I enjoy. I drink it neat not well suited to mix with coke.

Posted almost 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

Tu uz citit nejaku chut kvalitnejsieho rumu .... V tejto cenovej kategorii ale existuju aj lepsie volby, kazdopadne verim ze niekomu moze sadnut uplne perfektne

Posted almost 5 years ago by Clark from United States with 4 ratings

nice with cola smoother than the normal and you can taste the difference.

Posted about 5 years ago by tang from United States with 10 ratings

It tastes like butter, which is never a negative in my book.

Posted about 5 years ago by jason from United States with 4 ratings

Have had a bottle for 6 years have tried it 4 time just not for me

Posted about 5 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

Nice sipper with some ice.
Lot's of vanilla on the nose.
Really miss a bit of oak/wood in this rum, but what can you expect after only 2 years of aging.