Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock

Puerto Rico | Gold

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

6.8/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
5
10
25
64
142
75
27
16

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthew Gifford from United States with 14 ratings

This is a great everyday rum. Throw it in the freezer and leave it until ready to drink. It’s very smooth and great spice flair to keep ya coming back for more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jingis from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Príjemná chuť aj vôňa. Natrafil som náhodou v jednom podniku.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by iChomps from United States with 2 ratings

CM does not disappoint. Afforded great tasting rum. You can spend a lot more money and get an inferior product. Ratings are opinions and yours is the only one that matters, but CM reserve is a safe buy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bert Bouquet from United States with 5 ratings

This rum is a good standard for rum. I don't think it is special tasting just a good tasting standard rum. So it is better than most rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...for a Captain Morgan. You can sip or mix it, so go ahead and give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Surprisingly smooth. Enjoyable on the rocks. Just slightly to sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

Starting to see captain commercials again, what happened to the Kraken Commercials?Got this 6 month ago for retirement. was drinking Irish Whiskey. I like it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: Vanilla, caramel, pleasant, maybe a bit artificial.
Palate: sweet oak, aromatic but not very complex. Pretty smooth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by FranzPattison from Canada with 2 ratings

I never thought I would think of the captain as anything more than mediocre, a tasty mix with Coke. But then I tried this and I was blown away. I had never before tried a rum I enjoyed sipping straight. Always I had to force it down like it was gasoline. But this is sweet and has flavour like caramel with faint suggestions of cinnamon and nutmeg, but not overpowering like Spicebox.
It has a mild burn that warms all the way down. Like sitting in front of a roaring fire. I notice my rating is I think the only 10 and maybe some would consider the rating a travesty and consider me to have a naive palette, but if I'm honest I couldn't think of anything I would like to change about it, so for me it's a 10 just because of that. :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

I was actually impressed with this seeing as it’s a captain Morgan product. Pretty smooth sipping wise. Lots of upfront vanilla flavor.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Wayne from Canada with 2 ratings

This has been sitting on my shelf for some time now, buried in the back behind my growing collection of high-priced bottles. It’s Friday night and I rummaged through to find something to mix with cola to watch the hockey game with. I’m not generally fond of spiced rims, but the vanilla nose on this tweaked my interest. Tried a sip to test it before adding the dirty and was pleasantly surprised - enough so to forego the pollution. Smooth at the top with almost instant spice notes, and a long molasses and tropical fruit finish. Sweet enough to stand up to the mix, but drinkable on it’s own.