Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


343 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This is better than the regular captain morgan spiced rum, but that is not saying much. It is too syrupy sweet for my taste. You can do much better for the money.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

To much vanilla and suger. It may mix well but it is not a sipper.

Posted almost 4 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

scented, sweet, average, nothing special, but drinkable.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jesse from United States with 1 rating

I'm no rum connoisseur but this is one Captain variety that can be easily drunk on the rocks. It's definitely sweet of vanilla and molasses, but only at the start, as it is later offset by other flavors with a bit more bite. Excuse me while I pour another.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Christopher from United States with 4 ratings

I'm sorry once a food or a drink is tasty, what else do you want? This rum has the taste of sweet pralines, the aroma of a toasted sugar cookie, it goes down smooth as milk, so to me it's at least an 8

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Rhum abordable ultime pour les cocktails !

Aussi pas méchant à déguster seul.

Pour vrai, un produit hyper accesible et bien fait!

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Daca vrei sa descoperi romul, acesta este o alegere excelenta. Aroma puternica de vanilie care surprinde la inceput, poate un pic prea dulce dar servit cu gheata este o alegere perfecta mai ales atunci cand vrei sa impresionezi pe cineva care nu a mai incercat un rom de calitate .

Posted about 4 years ago by Alan Feucht from United States with 5 ratings

It was the only rum I could find in Utah and was a big surprise from the first sip. Great flavor and smooth like more expensive sipping rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Sean from United States with 3 ratings

This was my go to rum for a very long time. I like the bite and sweetness. Black or Dark rums are where tastes lie, but I will always come back to this. It doesn't matter that that it is a commercial maker. If you like it, drink it.

Posted about 4 years ago by MarkT from United States with 2 ratings

While I rarely find a good sipping rum under $50, this one hits the mark. Will just say that my friends and neighbors often ask for this over their favorite bourbons, perhaps for the unique spices that accompany the bourbon cask aging.

Posted about 4 years ago by Adrian from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This has to be one of my all time favourite spiced rums

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Not terrible neat, but lately I've taken to mixing it with coke. The reg captain is good for that....so there are better options for a neat rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 6 ratings

My go-to rum is usually Captain Morgan spiced on ice, but I decided to try this one for a change. What a difference. Very smooth with a sweet aftertaste that lingers. Will surely buy this again.

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement.............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This rum has a lot of...everything! Spice, vanilla, oak, molasses. I appreciate a mainstream commercial brand trying to do something more sophisticated. But, the rum snob in me can't give it more than a 7. It's really a 6 but I'm giving this one a 7 based on effort and the fact that its the only enjoyable rum Captain Morgan makes.

Posted about 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

This rum taste like anything but the rum. Taste might be surprising for anyone who expects another classic spice rum. Best served straight up in cold winter evenings. Update: originally scored 6, but have to reevaluate, this is definitely worth 7/10.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jay D from United States with 11 ratings

For $25 or $28 depending on where you buy it it's pretty nice over ice. The taste isn't anything that will blow you away but it's on the sweet side, if you like your rum sweet give this a shot.

Posted about 4 years ago by SureThing II from Slovakia with 29 ratings

I'm kind of unsure between strong 7 and low 8. Is this really Captain Morgan? Absolutely different to whatever else provided by Captain. Must try for sure!

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Even worth every penny. A little bit sweet but it's great. Good choice! One will buy whenever I could.

Posted about 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

This is my wife's favorite go to rum. A terrific sipping rum but also her choice for mixed drinks. Even a simple rum and coke is enhanced by this one. A taste comparison one night when several of my colleagues were in attendance led me to rank this even higher than the 12 and 15 year old El Dorados on my shelf.

Posted about 4 years ago by Krater from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

It has not much in common with the original captain morgan. Good choice for rum beginners. Not expensive, easy to drink.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from United States with 1 rating

Not bad taste for the brand and cost. I was surprised as to how smooth the rum is. You can mix or drink straight. I add 3 or 4 ice cubes.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Je crois que ce Capitaine, est le meilleur de la série.

Posted about 4 years ago by Brad from United States with 25 ratings

As long as you like vanilla that is. This one has a bit of a strong vanilla aroma and taste, but it is offset by a good blend of spice and sweetness. The burn is stronger than I would prefer, but is tolerable. Private Stock wouldn't be my first choice for sipping, but it mixes really well and the price is great.

Posted about 4 years ago by Adrian Sanabria from United States with 4 ratings

To quote my father-in-law, this stuff is "nasty good". At about $23 a bottle, it is a good daily sipper. The "nasty" comes in with the spice and sweetness. A bit too much, but if you complained about the taste, and someone tried taking your glass away, you'd protest.