Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


553 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

507eebd16a519a3ba57a563b5a51b589.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

i wouldn't rate it high but the rate system has one called "gasoline like". which i would have to agree strongly.

why buy this personally when the cheap bars make your rum base cocktail out of this for you already.

you know you are not going to get any quality when the brand offers dozens of products and this sits on the bottom rung within it's own brand food chain.

no expectations and i can't believe it has not proved me wrong.... time and time again, this should be just used at your local bakery for making tasty pastries.

08476e806aea624043ad6af311ff5879.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

I really don't get all the hate. Simple enough, this is a rum to put in daiquiris or cocktails (rum & coke, hurricanes, etc.) It works fine. It's rum for mixing and it mixes well. Doesn't add any flavors but I don't like anything smoky or caramel-y contrasting my strawberry or melon daiquiri anyway. You want alcohol in your sweet beverage? Grab some Bacardi. No regrets. Rated it a 6 because the description for 5, "easily consumable in a bind" doesn't give it enough credit. It's not like this stuff tastes bad in a drink. I don't "put up with" Bacardi. I use it when it's called for. Solid 6 and should really always be in your cabinet.

93921e4e8914470e203c340f0ae4baed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Bacardi is by far the bottom of the barrel when looking for rum. Lacks any quality flavour and is far from smooth. For a white rum there are many other better options out there. Never on my bar.

E06d37c7b972920f0806dfd5e756edcf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Represents everything that can be wrong with rum.

C3abaccd6aa534da6d84010317410f46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Quite possibly the worst rum in the market. Cheaper rums are available that match or exceed Bacardi Superior quality.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

There are enough bad reviews about this rum already, but I'd like to point out that one person rated this stuff a TEN!!!

Humans are doomed.

7a27c50fd37aaa3fdd4fc41924e4ebaa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

The most famous rum in the world probably; it's used for a lot of differents cocktails all over the globe (caipirinha, daiquiri, mojito etc) but it's certainly not the best rum in the world. Unfortunately...

42aaad6ea0905018ef046944ed868098.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven Bertsche from United States with 4 ratings

This is lower than the bottom of the barrel, its as if you lifted up the barrel to see what was underneath

755529ad453b218f2f16b9986453ca49.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Barlee from United States with 7 ratings

Bacardi gets blasted as a "rum for the masses" -and it is that. Funny thing is, it gets voted higher in blind taste tests than many "top end" rums. To me, it's a nice standby for fruit juices, Coke, etc.

3e75be6535cc7342c01331905c8e3036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is probably the most pervasive rum in the world. It's used in bars everywhere. It's probably also the rum with the highest production levels too. That's what it tastes like. A mass produced commercial drink. While I know it touches a wooden barrel, I wonder how big that barrel is, 30,000L vat perhaps? Sometimes when you're drinking a daiquiri or mojito something feels a little bit off, maybe too strong, not quite the perfect blend. In many cases this is the culprit. The best way to sum this up is, always look for Havana Club instead.

8ce5d80b9dbebd75df97a70f1ea0bc6e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

This is the first rum I ever bought. My thinking was that if it's so common, it must be representative of what a rum should taste like. Oh boy, how wrong was I. This Bacardi singlehandedly made me lose out on the wonderful world of sipping rums for a very long time (yes, I know it's not primarily intended for sipping). Luckily a friend had a bottle of Zaya rum, and that made me realize that rums can taste completely different and be worthwhile spirits, so much that I now mainly drink rums (bumped down whiskeys and cognac as my previous go to spirits).

I don't even know where to begin to describe this rum. It just doesn't taste like rum or anything else anyone should drink. Chemical like. Why would anyone continue to buy this? It's even terrible when mixed with Coke. Stay far far away.