Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


538 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Tobias from Denmark with 29 ratings

This need some dilution in cola. Not much to do with Rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

I really don't get all the hate. Simple enough, this is a rum to put in daiquiris or cocktails (rum & coke, hurricanes, etc.) It works fine. It's rum for mixing and it mixes well. Doesn't add any flavors but I don't like anything smoky or caramel-y contrasting my strawberry or melon daiquiri anyway. You want alcohol in your sweet beverage? Grab some Bacardi. No regrets. Rated it a 6 because the description for 5, "easily consumable in a bind" doesn't give it enough credit. It's not like this stuff tastes bad in a drink. I don't "put up with" Bacardi. I use it when it's called for. Solid 6 and should really always be in your cabinet.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Bacardi is by far the bottom of the barrel when looking for rum. Lacks any quality flavour and is far from smooth. For a white rum there are many other better options out there. Never on my bar.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Represents everything that can be wrong with rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Quite possibly the worst rum in the market. Cheaper rums are available that match or exceed Bacardi Superior quality.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

There are enough bad reviews about this rum already, but I'd like to point out that one person rated this stuff a TEN!!!

Humans are doomed.

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

The most famous rum in the world probably; it's used for a lot of differents cocktails all over the globe (caipirinha, daiquiri, mojito etc) but it's certainly not the best rum in the world. Unfortunately...

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven Bertsche from United States with 4 ratings

This is lower than the bottom of the barrel, its as if you lifted up the barrel to see what was underneath

Posted over 7 years ago by Barlee from United States with 7 ratings

Bacardi gets blasted as a "rum for the masses" -and it is that. Funny thing is, it gets voted higher in blind taste tests than many "top end" rums. To me, it's a nice standby for fruit juices, Coke, etc.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is probably the most pervasive rum in the world. It's used in bars everywhere. It's probably also the rum with the highest production levels too. That's what it tastes like. A mass produced commercial drink. While I know it touches a wooden barrel, I wonder how big that barrel is, 30,000L vat perhaps? Sometimes when you're drinking a daiquiri or mojito something feels a little bit off, maybe too strong, not quite the perfect blend. In many cases this is the culprit. The best way to sum this up is, always look for Havana Club instead.

Posted over 3 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

This is the first rum I ever bought. My thinking was that if it's so common, it must be representative of what a rum should taste like. Oh boy, how wrong was I. This Bacardi singlehandedly made me lose out on the wonderful world of sipping rums for a very long time (yes, I know it's not primarily intended for sipping). Luckily a friend had a bottle of Zaya rum, and that made me realize that rums can taste completely different and be worthwhile spirits, so much that I now mainly drink rums (bumped down whiskeys and cognac as my previous go to spirits).

I don't even know where to begin to describe this rum. It just doesn't taste like rum or anything else anyone should drink. Chemical like. Why would anyone continue to buy this? It's even terrible when mixed with Coke. Stay far far away.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

The nose reminds me a bit of slightly sweetend hand disinfection products:-) the palate is alcoholic and somewhat bland. Not to be served neat, but fine as a mixer. Dont feel the need to own this product, as id rather make a drink with the outstanding el dorado 5 for just a few extra dollars

Posted almost 7 years ago by Simon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

And she has no taste!
Seriously
choose something that tastes good - not just to get drunk on.
If you want to get drunk cheaply - drink sherry - as an student will tell you, most alcohol per pence

Posted about 4 years ago by Mal from United States with 11 ratings

So Bacardi is the most common rum that you can find second to Captain Morgan (probably even more common than the Captain). Almost every bar has a bottle of this stuff because of how cheap it is (a bottle runs about 15 bucks at Walmart) and it's mostly used as a mixer. I've never seen this on the rocks or straight up, only as a mixer for things like grog, siren tears (rum lemonade), and with cola. This in my opinion is the WORST rum I have ever had and I mean that. To me this tastes like as if someone filled a bottle with rubbing alcohol and threw a small dram of real rum in there just so they could legally call it "rum". I view this as a rum that college frat boys buy to get wasted because it's cheap. In all honesty if this is the only rum at the bar then I just switch to whiskey because I cannot stand the way this stuff tastes.
I rated this stuff a 2 because this stuff truly is gasoline like in fact it even smells a little like gasoline. When our local Pirate Fest comes to town they carry this stuff for their drinks and I always have a friend bring a bottle of Kraken or even Captain Morgan so I don't have to drink Bacardi. Seriously there are so many beautiful rum options available and if money is an issue Captain Morgan or Kraken (my favorite of the cheaper rums) are fantastic options. I won't rate this a 1 because that's far to harsh but this rum isn't suitable for anybody other than college frat guys wanting to get wasted.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

It's a mixing rum, one step up from the fuel grade rum you'd see in a bartender's well.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

i wouldn't rate it high but the rate system has one called "gasoline like". which i would have to agree strongly.

why buy this personally when the cheap bars make your rum base cocktail out of this for you already.

you know you are not going to get any quality when the brand offers dozens of products and this sits on the bottom rung within it's own brand food chain.

no expectations and i can't believe it has not proved me wrong.... time and time again, this should be just used at your local bakery for making tasty pastries.

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Artificial alcohol taste. I guess 90% of the budget with bacardi is spend on marketing. Definitely not on the quality lf their low end products.

Posted over 5 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

Is because all they've ever had is Bacardi. You can make do with it on a plane when you don't have other options but for the money get something better. Too harsh and no flavor.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Now i don`t know why they have changed this rum? i have tasted the pre-Castro one and it was a totally different rum, flavorful!.This one is like rum being made to vodka...and to me it has a chemical aftertaste that is very unpleasant. I cannot for my life recommend it, there are other real good and flavorful and not over-filtered white rums out there.

Posted over 1 year ago by ProfessionalFloridian from United States with 13 ratings

Keep this rum in your first aid kit to disinfect wounds.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I was told this is the best selling rum shot in the town I live in. I feel sorry for my town.

Posted about 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

If you get past the weak flavour, the hangover hits while you're having your second drink. No other booze makes me feel as bad...

Not the worst in a pinch, not the best either.

Posted almost 5 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

ούτε για αστείο δεν ξανα πίνω αυτό το μπουγαδόνερο!!!!!!προτιμώ να πιώ Johnnie Walker red label!!!!!!!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bicardi babe from United Kingdom with 1 rating

smelly and an after effect on the stomach which is not nice

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Barely even a suitable mixer rum.