Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior

Puerto Rico | Light

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

3.5/10 (584 ratings)
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
59
118
130
94
101
47
21
11
1
2

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


584 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

This is supposed to be a classic, but unfortunately the more you drink quality rum, the worse this rum tastes. Not much flavor and not much bite.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Strong rubbing alcohol aroma. This is dreadful stuff trading purely on the bacardi brand name. Tastes dreadful. If you like white rum then i suggest you try El Dorado 3 year old or Flor de Cana 4 year old!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

Just swill....harsh, barely passable even in a Cuba libre

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 31 ratings

Bacardi in my opinion is the staple for any base cocktail requiring a white rum. In my opinion, the rum does hold slight notes of earthly flavours which are seriously highlighted in cocktails that compliment the rum. My knowledge of white rum so far is limited to this and Captain Morgan White and i personally believe that Bacardi is far superior to Captain Morgan White as a base white rum. 6/10

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by WEJ from United States with 2 ratings

While certainly not a sipping class rum and arguably pale in comparison to most of the rums being discussed in the ratings scene, I am not sure why there are so many poor comments about Bacardi Superior/Blanca rum. It's a perfectly reasonable choice when a clear mixing rum is called for. In fact its preferable to or adjunct to more flavorful, aged rums when making many cocktails (e.g a Mojito, daiquiri, hurricane, Mai Tai) because those other rums would frankly be a poor or incomplete fit. So, yes, include a Bacardi Light rum in your rum cabinet.

As an important aside, I feel a more tragic reality (in the U.S.) is that your typical off the shelf choice of a "Coke" based mixer results in a serious downgrade in your overall cocktail experience due to the notably poor contribution of flavor HFCS Coke has versus traditional sugar cane based Coke or other cola brand. Always have sugar cane based cola on hand when a cola mixer is appropriate for your rum cocktail. If you are not covering this simple use case then it erodes the credibility of any associated rum rating commentary.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tim from Canada with 63 ratings

This worthless boiled gutter piss is an offense to the spirit: if this is your rum of choice you have no business being on this site... or consuming alcohol in general; basically don’t breed

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

It does not in any way taste like rum. It's just a horror drinking this undefinable spirit.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

Not a huge fan of a silver brew but this nearly made me dislike rum as it was the first I ever tried!
It was a couple of years after drinking this before I gave rum a shot again. Now I love it!
Boo

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

I typically rate based on several factors. Compared to a top of line rum yes this would be a one or two. I feel this rum purpose is for a coke to be added with a lime. I do have one once in a while and often for nostalgia. Ok rum. Balances well with coke. Decent flavor

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Poor Facundo Bacardi. Your name on the vodka bottle. And this vodka is bad. What a shame.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dave from Netherlands with 33 ratings

Zelfs gemixed met cola is het niet te drinken. En toch heeft iedere bar in Nederland het.... jammer.