Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior

Puerto Rico | Light

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

3.5/10
617 ratings
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
60
124
137
103
106
47
23
13
2
2

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

617 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

This is the first rum I ever bought. My thinking was that if it's so common, it must be representative of what a rum should taste like. Oh boy, how wrong was I. This Bacardi singlehandedly made me lose out on the wonderful world of sipping rums for a very long time (yes, I know it's not primarily intended for sipping). Luckily a friend had a bottle of Zaya rum, and that made me realize that rums can taste completely different and be worthwhile spirits, so much that I now mainly drink rums (bumped down whiskeys and cognac as my previous go to spirits).

I don't even know where to begin to describe this rum. It just doesn't taste like rum or anything else anyone should drink. Chemical like. Why would anyone continue to buy this? It's even terrible when mixed with Coke. Stay far far away.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Biggsy from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

It's a shame this is so widely available as there are better white rums out there.

Every rum drinkers nightmare: ordering a rum and getting Bacardi.

Small img 20210120 171843 947

Posted 26 days ago by Spack Jarrow from United States with 14 ratings

I feel like this is just about everyone's first rum in the sense that its mixed into just about every tropical drink. It's cheep, it's basic, but by no means is it something you'd want to drink on its own. It's good if you're trying to boose something up, but just be prepared to mask with Malibu, juice or a lot of Coca Cola. If you're looking for a cheap white rum you'd be better off with something like Meyers Platinum.

Small rr

Posted 1 month ago by KINhuna from United States with 11 ratings

Let's be honest, this end of the Bacardi lineup is very limited, but has a role in the RUMba Community. You walk into a watering hole and see the selection is... well, let's just say you are in no mood to experiment. We've all been there. It's hot. You're thirsty. The character behind the bar has the patience of a gnat and "Q" tattoos. "Bacardi and soda, please." The well lemons look like Joan Rivers before her 12th face lift. You get the picture. Don't hate just set your expectation for what this one is good for.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by RaisingIndiana from United States with 9 ratings

This is terrible. Overproduced. Really burns. No characteristics that stand out. It's got legacy, but pass on it and spend more.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Stefanvanbeveren from Belgium with 15 ratings

A shame people have this as a reference for rum. Undrinkable pure, the more it gets diluted with anything the better!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 72 ratings

Its clear. Its on the shelf. I suppose you can take it to a party and mix it in stuff and get drunk. Thats fine, just don't try to drink this rum straight or on the rocks...just don't do it. I don't really have any use for it in my cabinet because there are far superior mixers for the same or better price. The issue really is that it has no flavor other than a barely noticeable citrus. I suppose if i had to choose between Bacardi Superior and a standard Vodka then I would choose the Bacardi Superior. Thats about all I can say for it though.

Nose: 2
Palate: 2
Aftertaste: 2
Smoothness: 2
Versatility: 6
Price: 6

Total: 3.3

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Bacardi Silver It’s good for getting drunk. But why else use it?

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Is this worth your money? No way. You want something cheap to mix with your drinks? Go for Havana Anejo Especial. Dont waste money on this, dont waste money for company which provides bad rums. Same as Morgan - just commercial garbage.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ozdrinker from Australia with 1 rating

After not drinking Bacardi for about 5 years, I’m really disappointed. The taste has changed dramatically and is not the Bacardi I remember. It’s more like a subtle methylated spirits taste now. I noticed that the Bacardi and cola cans were no longer sold here in Australia, so I’m guessing they got that bad they had a decline in sales forcing them out of the market. On the upside, a few drops of coconut essence with Bacardi and coke will see me through this bottle then onto Bundaberg Red label I think.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Haderfck from Denmark with 13 ratings

Denne Bacardi rom har absolut intet at gøre med en rom. Den er sprittet, klar som vand, og der er ikke en eneste smag af noget som helst. Bacardi Superior minder om hvad Slots Pilsner er for øllen