Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


538 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Artificial alcohol taste. I guess 90% of the budget with bacardi is spend on marketing. Definitely not on the quality lf their low end products.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This was the first white rum I tried. It was aweful, the reason why i don't have an interest for white rums in the first place, until I found the plantation 3 stars which was amazing. The bacardi superior is nothing to spend money on.

Posted over 2 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

It's all extract hot dog rum. If you smashed together a bunch of separate ingredients into a mixer, hit blend this is the garbage you get. Foul, offensive and expensive. No Bueno.

Posted almost 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

Not drinkable. Industustrial alcohol. Unfortunately a lot of bars mix with it 😬

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Why people continue to buy this crap is beyond me. Price... ok, I get it however, their are so many other rums available at this price that are exceedingly better. Moreover, it isn't like other rums are not commonly found at liquor stores leading people to select this by reason of no other choice. Bland, strong alcohol burn and complexity that is not there.
Yuk.
Another example of companies mass producing and neglecting quality.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I really don't know how Bacardi managed to establish itself so well. It's one of the most common rums, yet this piece of garbage seems to be the standard, cheap, go-to rum for every bartender's cocktail. Awful flavour, and a sad representation of rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Don't. Just... don't. Airs of toilet cleaner with a hint of gasoline.

Posted over 3 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

This is not at all a good rum. So many better, cheaper options out there even for light rum. Don Q Cristal and Cruzan Light are cheaper and miles better.

Don't bother with this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

This is a really poor choice in rums. Even at e price point it sells at. Very chemical taste, harsh and weird. Doesn't even mix well. Too many better choices for the money. Too bad it's always available, even at the least rum friendly stores.

Posted over 3 years ago by samantha from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

dont do it. Unless you are 18 with no clue or tastebuds this is not drink to delve you into the world of rum!

Posted over 3 years ago by dan from United States with 6 ratings

just don't, this is the opposite of rum...its like nail polish remover meets mineral spirits. Pretty sure thy make methanol in the same bottle and relabel it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Unicorn from United States with 1 rating

And I've tasted quite a lot. It basically has the flavor of rubbing alcohol, mixed with gasoline and nail polish remover. Shortly after ingesting, if you listen closely, you can hear your esophagus screaming for help. It also gives a great complementary headache along with your buzz.
Hold your nose, toss it back quick, mix it, do whatever it takes to avoid the taste in this drink, because it's vomit-inducing; make sure you're ready to practice fighting that gag reflex. Better yet, if you're a fan of clear alcohols like I am, just stick with vodka or gin; this stuff isn't worth your time. The only reason I gave it a 2 instead of a one is because it didn't kill me.

P.s. I don't think a homeless alcoholic would drink this even if you paid him.

Posted over 3 years ago by chibbo van straaten from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Some time's if you still want to give it a try.....

You just walk away dissapointed

Posted over 3 years ago by Tasadar from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

Drink it only with coke. Consume at your own risk.

Posted over 3 years ago by Des Esseintes from Italy with 7 ratings

The most commercial rum in the world. It's made just to make money..

Posted over 3 years ago by Waso from United States with 5 ratings

No one should purchase this product. This "rum" is sold to people who A. kids trying to get drunk and think they're cool and B. Divorcees trying to get drunk and think they're younger than they are.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonas from Germany with 12 ratings

Only with coke and when there's nothing else to drink...

Posted over 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

When I was student I used to drink only the cheapest and therefor worst rums, but while this is the least cheap from that group, it is also the worst tasting one, making it even a bad quality/price ratio.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lenka from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Artificial not natural taste...dunno..for me its one of the worst rums, unfortunatelly most of bars have just Bacardi...why? why? why? Its popular especially in Russia...omg...so disgusting, i cannot drink even cocktail with that.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I don't think it should be categorised as rum if I'm honest.

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 113 ratings

Tja ikke meget med rom at gøre vil aldrig bruge den til drinks mere

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Friends don't let friends drink this swill. It's what gives rum a bad name. Sadly and all too often, the only rum non-rum drinkers know. If you're looking for an affordable rum for use in mixed drinks, do yourself a favor and try Cruzan Light. It's an aged light rum that blends seamlessly into cocktails.

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

Absolute gins piss
Drink when desperate
Good for cleaning the toilet, just add coke

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Norell from United States with 5 ratings

Well unfortunately this is what's used everywhere due to mass marketing pull from this huge manufacturer...but it is right down there with the worst white rums out there from my perspective. A strong smell of naphthalene does nothing to help along this old, harsh horse. Useful only in a Cuba Libre and then only with a lot of Coke and lime and when nothing else is available. Even Bacardi has better mixing rums for just a little more money. But go with the cheapest Cruzan for a far superior experience.

Posted over 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

if I'm picking up a white to share
Why not pick this it mixes good and normally will be consumed at most parties with no complaints . It's just a white