Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior

Puerto Rico | Light | 40.0% ABV

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

3.6/10
625 ratings
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
62
124
139
103
109
47
23
13
2
3

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

625 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

This is the first rum I ever bought. My thinking was that if it's so common, it must be representative of what a rum should taste like. Oh boy, how wrong was I. This Bacardi singlehandedly made me lose out on the wonderful world of sipping rums for a very long time (yes, I know it's not primarily intended for sipping). Luckily a friend had a bottle of Zaya rum, and that made me realize that rums can taste completely different and be worthwhile spirits, so much that I now mainly drink rums (bumped down whiskeys and cognac as my previous go to spirits).

I don't even know where to begin to describe this rum. It just doesn't taste like rum or anything else anyone should drink. Chemical like. Why would anyone continue to buy this? It's even terrible when mixed with Coke. Stay far far away.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

It does not in any way taste like rum. It's just a horror drinking this undefinable spirit.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I was told this is the best selling rum shot in the town I live in. I feel sorry for my town.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

If you get past the weak flavour, the hangover hits while you're having your second drink. No other booze makes me feel as bad...

Not the worst in a pinch, not the best either.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

ούτε για αστείο δεν ξανα πίνω αυτό το μπουγαδόνερο!!!!!!προτιμώ να πιώ Johnnie Walker red label!!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Bicardi babe from United Kingdom with 1 rating

smelly and an after effect on the stomach which is not nice

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Barely even a suitable mixer rum.

Small rivers

Posted almost 6 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 28 ratings

Branding and marketing to the max, quality is however very poor. Mainly harsh spirit which smells like hand sanitizer and tastes like cough syrup. Has little sweetness and a short bitter aftertaste. In my book this isn't even suitable for mixing, it's just truly disappointing.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Thus gas to be what 85/15 gasoline tastes like. Don't buy it to drink it.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

I mean I don't expect much from a cheap mass-produced rum but come on Bacardi, you have to cut the heads and tails off somewhere. The nail-polish remover smell make it hard to even down this one, fortunately the (lack of) taste is not as bad as the smell would make you think.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

You might wanna use it for Mojitos. But don't, there are several better alternatives.