Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


538 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Artificial alcohol taste. I guess 90% of the budget with bacardi is spend on marketing. Definitely not on the quality lf their low end products.

Posted almost 5 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Branding and marketing to the max, quality is however very poor. Mainly harsh spirit which smells and tastes like cough syrup. Has little sweetness and a short bitter aftertaste. In my book this isn't even suitable for mixing, it's just truly disappointing.

Posted about 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Thus gas to be what 85/15 gasoline tastes like. Don't buy it to drink it.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I mean I don't expect much from a cheap mass-produced rum but come on Bacardi, you have to cut the heads and tails off somewhere. The nail-polish remover smell make it hard to even down this one, fortunately the (lack of) taste is not as bad as the smell would make you think.

Posted about 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

You might wanna use it for Mojitos. But don't, there are several better alternatives.

Posted over 7 years ago by NancyG from Puerto Rico with 5 ratings

This is the rum that made Bacardi famous - and it's distilled just a few miles from my home in Puerto Rico! A good, all-purpose rum for drinking straight up or, as I prefer, mixed with fruit juice, like my favorite Passion Fruit!

Posted over 7 years ago by Biggsy from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

It's a shame this is so widely available as there are better white rums out there.

Every rum drinkers nightmare: ordering a rum and getting Bacardi.

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Bacardi Silver It’s good for getting drunk. But why else use it?

Posted about 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Is this worth your money? No way. You want something cheap to mix with your drinks? Go for Havana Anejo Especial. Dont waste money on this, dont waste money for company which provides bad rums. Same as Morgan - just commercial garbage.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ozdrinker from Australia with 1 rating

After not drinking Bacardi for about 5 years, I’m really disappointed. The taste has changed dramatically and is not the Bacardi I remember. It’s more like a subtle methylated spirits taste now. I noticed that the Bacardi and cola cans were no longer sold here in Australia, so I’m guessing they got that bad they had a decline in sales forcing them out of the market. On the upside, a few drops of coconut essence with Bacardi and coke will see me through this bottle then onto Bundaberg Red label I think.

Posted over 1 year ago by Haderfck from Denmark with 13 ratings

Denne Bacardi rom har absolut intet at gøre med en rom. Den er sprittet, klar som vand, og der er ikke en eneste smag af noget som helst. Bacardi Superior minder om hvad Slots Pilsner er for øllen

Posted over 1 year ago by DavidFiggé from Denmark with 14 ratings

Nothing to do with rum. Just some commercial tasteless waste. Wouldnt even mix this in my drink

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Maybe there will be a day that I will drink some good bacardi rum, becouse I see they have many options that are reviewed here, but again this is barely dinkable for me, even with cola, and brings me so much pain when I see that people buy it on some parties to give some alternatives to rum lover and god damm, they are so wrong with that oprion

Final verdict: I will not buy it again

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jardel from United States with 4 ratings

I can shave with this rum, awful !.................

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Strong rubbing alcohol aroma. This is dreadful stuff trading purely on the bacardi brand name. Tastes dreadful. If you like white rum then i suggest you try El Dorado 3 year old or Flor de Cana 4 year old!

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

Just swill....harsh, barely passable even in a Cuba libre

Posted about 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

Bacardi in my opinion is the staple for any base cocktail requiring a white rum. In my opinion, the rum does hold slight notes of earthly flavours which are seriously highlighted in cocktails that compliment the rum. My knowledge of white rum so far is limited to this and Captain Morgan White and i personally believe that Bacardi is far superior to Captain Morgan White as a base white rum. 6/10

Posted over 2 years ago by WEJ from United States with 2 ratings

While certainly not a sipping class rum and arguably pale in comparison to most of the rums being discussed in the ratings scene, I am not sure why there are so many poor comments about Bacardi Superior/Blanca rum. It's a perfectly reasonable choice when a clear mixing rum is called for. In fact its preferable to or adjunct to more flavorful, aged rums when making many cocktails (e.g a Mojito, daiquiri, hurricane, Mai Tai) because those other rums would frankly be a poor or incomplete fit. So, yes, include a Bacardi Light rum in your rum cabinet.

As an important aside, I feel a more tragic reality (in the U.S.) is that your typical off the shelf choice of a "Coke" based mixer results in a serious downgrade in your overall cocktail experience due to the notably poor contribution of flavor HFCS Coke has versus traditional sugar cane based Coke or other cola brand. Always have sugar cane based cola on hand when a cola mixer is appropriate for your rum cocktail. If you are not covering this simple use case then it erodes the credibility of any associated rum rating commentary.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 56 ratings

This worthless boiled gutter piss is an offense to the spirit: if this is your rum of choice you have no business being on this site... or consuming alcohol in general; basically don’t breed

Posted over 2 years ago by Leonhard from Germany with 22 ratings

It does not in any way taste like rum. It's just a horror drinking this undefinable spirit.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

Not a huge fan of a silver brew but this nearly made me dislike rum as it was the first I ever tried!
It was a couple of years after drinking this before I gave rum a shot again. Now I love it!
Boo

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

I typically rate based on several factors. Compared to a top of line rum yes this would be a one or two. I feel this rum purpose is for a coke to be added with a lime. I do have one once in a while and often for nostalgia. Ok rum. Balances well with coke. Decent flavor

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Poor Facundo Bacardi. Your name on the vodka bottle. And this vodka is bad. What a shame.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from Netherlands with 33 ratings

Zelfs gemixed met cola is het niet te drinken. En toch heeft iedere bar in Nederland het.... jammer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I'd imagine that this has put a lot of people off rum and onto rum cocktails. One only hopes the people who may enjoy neat rum, try more than this.