Posting your rating...
Bacardi Superior rum

Bacardi Superior Rum is the original Bacardi rum, dating back to 1862 when Don Facundo Bacardi Massó purchased his first rum distillery in Cuba. 150 years later, Bacardi Superior is now manufactured in Puerto Rico, but the recipe remains largely the same.

A unique strain of yeast discovered in the Cuban sugarcane fields is used to produce Bacardi Superior rum. The rum is filtered through charcoal, a process pioneered by Bacardi, before and after it is aged in oak barrels for at least one year.

Rate Bacardi Superior

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


539 Bacardi Superior ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Some would chuckle, but in my collection of rum I still keep a bottle of Bacardi and a bottle of the Cap'n. They don't sell this for you to sip, but there's a lot of history, and a decent rum that comes out nicely in a Cuba Libre (with Coca Cola and a wedge of lime).

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Awful bar rail standard that should be avoided if possible.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

There's really not much to this rum. Smells like a wet rock, but the taste includes a hint of sugarcane and vanilla. While it's certainly ok, there's a lot of better rums out there. You can easily drink this straight at 40%abv, but again there's a lot better.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bobbylong from France with 7 ratings

La seul chose avec laquelle je peux mélanger ce rhum c'est avec du coca, ils se marient très bien ensemble.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

And you can call it a good afternoon. Few of those and see if the rating doesn't change a few points.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

This is the first rum I ever tasted, I was around 10 years old and accidently drank one of my parents Bacardi & Coke instead of my own regular Coke. Even at that age I somehow knew there were better rums out there and never went back.
Its decent to mix with coke/cocktails when you don't want to add any flavour, but besides that I can't think of a reason to buy it.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Podle me je lepsi Havana, ale ani iedno neumim pit samotne a v cole, nebo v koktejlu je to jedno.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

bacardi superior has and will always be a standard mixer on my drinks shelf

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

er du teenager og skal drikke hjernen ud, så er det her vejen frem :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

All commercial clubs use this one for mixed drinks. A must have if you like light/white rums. I use also for cookied cakes...not bad.

Posted almost 5 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 55 ratings

Rhum à boire en cocktail, pour un Mojito par exemple, et donc à éviter en dégustation.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

Words cannot describe the unadulterated contempt I have for this poor excuse for a rum. As an impressionable young adult, this 'rum' turned me off the whole experience until I re-acquainted myself with the elixir of my teenage years Captain Morgan. That in turn moved me back in the right direction towards decent, and finely well balanced sipping rums. Save yourselves the displeasure - stay away from Bacardi.

Posted about 5 years ago by tang from United States with 10 ratings

It's alright. Probably only so prevalent because of the company's aggressive marketing.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

pas très intéressant sauf pour servir de base a cocktails...
mais du coup, je préfère un charrette dans ce cas.

Posted about 5 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

There is a reason its sometimes the only option one may have at an uncivilized establishment it is the Budweiser of rum. No one ever got fired for serving it too the best of my knowledge and nor is it worth fighting for so its a safe bet for the barbarians at the gate.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

drinks for beginners not a good rum mix drink.....

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

It's a great rum, for students. Great name, low price and available almost everywhere. Best with coke and lots of lime. And your best friends. Women beware!

Posted about 5 years ago by Jariii from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Asi nejlépe dostupný kvalitnější rum do drinků jako Mojito, Piňa Colada, atd.

Posted about 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

I prefer Atlantico light to the Bacardi silver but this will make a good mojito too.

Posted about 5 years ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

I think, everybody has taste this one. Not a special, but it's a good mixing rum. Therefore a 5

Posted about 5 years ago by Jeff Sutker from United States with 4 ratings

It's not a very good rum - no question about that. But for many of us it was the first rum we tasted, in a mixed drink somewhere. i know it's what got me interested - so it can't be all bad...

Posted about 5 years ago by Know from Switzerland with 8 ratings

Impossible à boire sec et son odeur n'est pas top ! Ce n'est pas une boisson pour un amateur de rhum, mais avec du coca, ça peut convenir aux gens qui veulent se soûler rapidement pour un prix raisonnable... :)
Unable to drink straight and the smell isn't good ! This is not a drink for a rum lover, but mixed with coke, it may be suitable for people who want to get drunk for a resonable price... :)

Posted about 5 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Det här smakar bara sprit. Använd den till dussindrinkar där själva romsmaken är mindre viktig

Posted about 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Pour les cocktail éventuellement.
Mais à ce prix là, il y a (beaucoup) mieux.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0 to 2 gpl. This was my go to rum when I was a Rum and Coke drinker many years ago in school. It's definitely a mixing rum, but there are much nicer rums on the market. It has a petroleum smell and harsh taste which is why it's always mixed. It is a standard bar rum, but not in my bar. I don't own any and if offered this I order beer.