Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10
573 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
27
56
115
180
109
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

573 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

This review might not be current because the bottle of Zaya Gran Reserva I tried was an old one found on the shelf of a local liquor store. It was distilled in Guatamala, not Trinidad, and had the 2007 San Francisco Gold Medal tag on it so I imagine it had been on the shelf for about 8 years.

The rum was very dark in color. Slightly darker than a Trinidad version I saw at another liquor store. The aroma is strong with the dominate smell for me of coffee and licorice with vanilla accent. It is very smooth with very little alcohol burn. I drink it as a sipper with just one ice cube in the glass.

Very good rum for someone who likes flavor and aroma...

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

An interesting, smooth rum, albeit a little expensive. It's not quite a sipping rum, although I have certainly enjoyed it as such, and it's not quite a mixer, although I've certainly done that as well. It's in the price range between a mixer and a sipper. However if I had to make a list of top 10 rums to try, Zaya would absolutely be on it.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

A very good aged rum, a little to much vanilla but still sippable.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

Probably the best rum available in the market I live in. Nice caramel and honey taste with a hint of spice. Good over ice with a twist of lime. The color is excellent. Overall, one of my favorites for regular consumption.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

Okay- While I cheerfully admit to being a dilettante as far as being a "true" connoisseur of rum, I do know what I enjoy drinking, and Woof! This is a definite keeper! It starts with a somewhat sweet vanilla flavor, and wanders it's way into a cinnamon finish, and leaves you wanting "just one more" to wrap the night up. Not quite a velvet brick, but it sure comes close.... This is pretty much one of my favorite Rums, Period.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

I only drink sipping rums and don't believe there is a bottle of any booze with more than 50.00 us. So that culls the field for me. Zaya is my all time favorite in bouquet, roll around on the pallet flavor of honied butter, smokey caramel, and unreal smoothness going down. No harsh after burn. Perhaps a lime twist.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by nimrodrose from Israel with 7 ratings

good Trinidad taste

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

This belongs in everyone's rum collection. A well balanced rum with enough difference to make it stand out from the others.
I've only had the bottle from Trinidad, not from Guatemala.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Njia from United States with 5 ratings

Who needs cola when sipping on Zaya Gran Reserva? Vanilla and caramel are the dominant tasting notes as others have described. I also detect the hints of orange on the nose and I think a bit of melting ice brings it out. The sweetness is very pronounced, but as an after dinner drink, would be a great alternative to sherry. This is a magnificent rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by elmo0823 from United States with 17 ratings

On the rocks or straight up

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

This is my favorite rum so far. It is great for sipping at room temp, sweet with no bite. For the price, this is the best value rum I've found.