Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10
575 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
27
55
116
182
109
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

575 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

This review might not be current because the bottle of Zaya Gran Reserva I tried was an old one found on the shelf of a local liquor store. It was distilled in Guatamala, not Trinidad, and had the 2007 San Francisco Gold Medal tag on it so I imagine it had been on the shelf for about 8 years.

The rum was very dark in color. Slightly darker than a Trinidad version I saw at another liquor store. The aroma is strong with the dominate smell for me of coffee and licorice with vanilla accent. It is very smooth with very little alcohol burn. I drink it as a sipper with just one ice cube in the glass.

Very good rum for someone who likes flavor and aroma...

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Por ahora from United States with 6 ratings

Like some other readers, my first aged rum. Still love the vanilla aroma! My go to when I am introducing good rum to Bourbon drinkers in the south.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by lo from Belgium with 20 ratings

Très bon rhum des trinidad. Belle couleur foncée.

Belle odeur sucrée et bon retour de caramel, facile à boire... un rhum très sucré et assez proche d'un millonario le côté épices en moins

A avoir dans sa collection !

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by TriniGirl from United States with 1 rating

I purchased this rum as a gift for a friend from Trinidad, and had the good fortune to sample it at his party. It is absolutely the most delicious, smooth rum I have ever tasted. I have enjoyed it straight up, with cola, and on the rocks. Vanilla, molasses, caramel ... just a delightful.

And, the bottle is bit of a conversation piece!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Havde glædet mig til at smage den, blev lidt skuffet, lige sød nok.
Men dejlig duft.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

Very unique taste. I love it with ginger ale or ginger beer. Kind of heavy and close to a liqueur. Very sweet. Not great mixed with cola and just okay on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum har jeg læst skulle være "for" sød, det synes jeg ikke, slet ikke kvalm. Her er stor vanilje duft og smag, samt karamel, jeg fornemmer også en anelse tobak. God nydelses rom.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by pondarosa from United States with 1 rating

Smooth enough to be a well aged bourbon, has that smokey type of flavors.The best for the price in my neck of the woods.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Chip from United States with 6 ratings

I have never found anything smoother! Molasses notes. Great on the rocks or with a splash of soda water.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by JE Tressler from United States with 18 ratings

One of my collection but not my favorite. I drink quality rums straight up and although this rum has great appearance and aroma the finish is not as smooth as less pricy rums.


Be cool,
jt

“Mon amie laissez le bon temps rouler!”



Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

As I do like some of the sweet rums (Plantation 20th & Zacapa XO), I was really wanting to love this, but the over abundance of sugary vanilla actually gave me a headache.