Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (553 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
49
106
177
109
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


553 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F2cc9172cf27227e0c576ecbde386c8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Delicious nose, very appealing ! Tastes sweet and has a nice smooth aftertaste. Lots of caramel.
The bottle is super tall ! Good to know ;)

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Palírnu s tímto jménem by jste hledali marně, jedná se o soukromou značku, kdy se pod názvem Zaya prodává směs rumů původem z Trinidadu a Tobaga, vybraná a namíchaná master blenderem. Dočetl jsem se, že dříve prý byla vyráběna z rumů původem z Guatemaly. Destilát je vyroben z melasy, zrál v sudech po whisky a bourbonu a jeho stopy vedou ke společnosti Trinidad Distillers Ltd, která spadá pod křídla firmy Angostura Ltd. Trinidad Distillers Ltd má na svědomí následující rumy: Ferdi's Premium Rum, Fernandes Black Label Rum, Forres Park Puncheon Rum, Kraken Black Spiced Rum, Scarlet Ibis Rum a Vat 19.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Trinidad a Tobago
Aroma: Bohaté aroma je výrazné, hřejivé, silné. Kůže a karamel se zde mísí s hřebíčkem, propolisem a medicínskou vůní, tak typickou pro Angosturu. (90 b)
Chuť: Velmi příjemně nasládlá, jemná, uhlazená chuť, s trochou hřebíčku, který svým suchým dojmem vyvažuje sladkost. Dozvuk je velmi dlouhý, medicínsky angosturovský, ale má po delší době až trochu dřevitě medicinální suše svíravý dojem, tento dojem se dostavil až asi po jedné až dvou minutách po vypití. Trošku vada na kráse, měl jsem už napsané body nad 90, ale za tuhle chybku koriguju. (90 b)
Body: 90
Shrnutí: I po drobné korekci je to ve výsledku krásných 90 bodů. Hodně mi připomíná Angosturu 1919 a 1824, ale v chuti přidává navíc nasládlý rozměr.

27059c90b36fa12eab46a669bbea560a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by rum ambassador from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Aromatic notes of vanilla, caramel, with hints of banana and cocoa.
The palate is an initial taste of vanilla, cocoa and brown sugar, with a medium-sweet bodied with hints of oak and orange spice.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

After reading a post on the discussion board about how Zaya has become undrinkable swill under new ownership, I finally opened a bottle I had picked up last year while on vacation at what I thought was a great price of $25.

i have to say I agree 100% with the guy who made that post. This stuff basically tastes like vanilla extract. I found an unopened bottle stashed in my cellar of the old stuff with real palm leaf wrap around the neck, and though it is a sugar bomb it at least tastes good. The new stuff either has a paper wrap around the neck or a metal screw top and collar. My newer bottle has the metal, but according to the guy who wrote the post the paper wrapped bottles are terrible too.

I have heard this rum was awesome back in the days it was from Guatemala, unfortunately that was before I got interested in rum. The garbage stuff says "a blend of 12 rums" in the little round label on the bottle instead of "aged 12 years" on the older bottles. Classic bait and switch, avoid the newer bottles. I wouldn't buy this again at any price.

Aa65ddff0e1314d239fb22085bb0d5fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by TC from United States with 2 ratings

Currently my favorite rum. It is a little sweet, with flavors of vanilla and caramel. Perfect for a dessert sipper. Do not waste as a mixer, drink this one neat. Great rum to share with friends after dinner. For $37 this is a steal.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 20 gpl. Lot's of reviewers liked this rum, but I did not finish the bottle I purchased while on vacation. It's a smooth rum with a nice finish but the Vanilla aroma and flavor dominates it from start to finish. I tried it on ice and in mixed drinks but could not come to liking it enough to finish the bottle or to even think of adding it to my collection. I would not buy this rum as there are better rums in this price range.

E3731de8f09e133a3c9a8f80a59c8775.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

This was a quite wonderful dram. The vanilla sweetness hit my taste buds first but didn't overpower a complex, bitter, chocolate nuttiness at all. Long and pleasant finish. Sip this neat and appreciate the craft!

Acbfe3bd3ddaf2408cd4cb2f8a4a1767.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 5 ratings

A must have in your collection a golden to copper brown color nice vanilla scent nice barrel flavors with vanilla tones with a smooth finish.

1e9bd2f055bd3ae31ba27f8bdfbaf70d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

Vanilla flavor is too dominant for my tastes. Very smooth and very little after burn. A pretty good sipper.

C78e10b95ce49f529e2195eaa8cb94b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by btmcsweeney from United States with 1 rating

All reviews from before 2016 should be ignored - this is now a distinctly different and much lower quality rum than it was previously.

The original Zaya was the rum that got me into sipping rums. Every time I finished a bottle I would get a new one. It was fairly sweet with a taste of vanilla and caramel. If you can still find a bottle where the label has cursive writing on it and there's a wicker sleeve on the neck, buy it.

At first when the logo changed, I was skeptical. The font change on the label wasn't bad, but the sticker that used to proudly proclaim "Aged 12 Years" now read "Blend of 12 selected rums". The neck was no longer covered in wicker and the cork had been replaced with a screw off cap. The taste is *very* different. It still has flavors of vanilla and caramel, but they aren't as rich as they used to be. The rum doesn't taste aged at all, as the change from 12 years to 12 rums suggests. It's still good as a mixing rum, but I wouldn't suggest it for sipping.

0d195f4fead3b1254796596914916393.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bill from United States with 1 rating

Be aware: I'm rating the new version of Zaya rum. The aroma has an intensely chemical vanilla nature with an unpleasant overtone of aftershave. The taste is consistent with the aroma, and is cloyingly, sickly sweet. I like vanilla, but not this artifica, chemical-tasting vanilla. This product is truly horrible. You may think I'm exaggerating or being overly dramatic, but no. With absolute sincerity, I can tell you, this product is truly horrible.