Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


551 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

Com on , no wonder this Rum has Gold Medal Winner 2009 Ministry of Rum Tasting Competition. Silver Medal International Review of Spirits Award. Highly Reccommended by Beverage Tasting Institute, is sweet and easy to loved . Is versatile you can take it straight or on the rock, good with dessert or cigars after a meal. Very enjoyable .

Posted about 2 years ago by Gregg Zwilling MD from United States with 1 rating

I enjoyed this rum at Myrtle Beach!
Drank a fifth just chilled.
South Point Resort, going back in June hope to pick up another bottle!

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

Last years wicker neck version is no longer available so when I see it I buy it. It is noticeably more smooth and richer flavor to the nose and mouth than the newer version. The bottle design and label are totally different.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

It is hard to believe that this product came out, it was pretty damned good, dark colored, sweet no doubt, but it had some character, something stuck in my mouth while warming my throat. I’ll admit it, I loved the stuff! Great price, nice taste, versatile it was the beginning of a great relationship..... Then something happened and wham-o, it changed overnight! WTF?!! The new bottle is, I won’t say crap, I’ll just say not for me. I gave my bottle to a friend who didn’t know better!( Sorry Mike) I do have 3/4 of an old bottle left, like pictures of a hot old girlfriend. I loved the old vanilla Carmel twist, made my rum and cokes sing in the glass. The new stuff has a taste that I can’t stand,I don’t know what it is, it just pisses me off that it isn’t the SOS. There’s no going back, that’s what I’ve learned, the old Zaya would have ranked higher, but the new Zaya might even be lower. I split the middle. Be on the look out for the woven top and cork stopper, it will be a collectors item soon if it already isn’t.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr. O from United States with 7 ratings

Cheap vanilla flavor with a lack of smoothness. Better buying Kraken.

Posted over 2 years ago by rm64 from Switzerland with 12 ratings

Nice sweetness, very smooth and tastefull, i will by it again

Posted over 2 years ago by Darryl Thompson from United States with 7 ratings

Not a bad 12 yo rum for the money. Never hesitate to recommend this rum to freinds & family.
Good entry level aged rum for the money

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

The nose carries very little astringency, and is simply bursting with vanilla and caramel. It smells sweet like an ice cream topping. Tasting it for the first time turns the same smells into flavors, and my palate is assaulted with an overabundance of vanilla and caramel. The mouth feel is oily, but the saccharin sweetness is the dominant characteristic here.
Tastes pretty good BUT carries a very odd and unpleasant aftertaste.
Similar to Seven Tiki.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 23 ratings

Hmmmm. Not a favorite. A little to harsh. The color looks beautiful. The spice and vanilla are intriguing. I could see making rum balls with this. Which is sad for a $30 bottle. A LOT of mellowing (my entire ice cube-a big one at that- had to melt before it felt sippable) improves the experience, but it's a lot of effort.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

I heard good things about this rum so I picked it up while on vacation in maine...I had to drive 40 miles to find a liquor store that had rum other than Bacardi Silver. Even then, I couldnt get past this taste of the topical gel the dentist puts on your gum before giving you a shot. But then I had a root canal a few weeks later and realized that topical actually tastes better. The sad part is that I could tell it was a nice tasting smooth rum under the blanket of that weird medicinal taste, but I couldnt get past it. Wont be buying again unless I'm forced to pick it or pick Bacardi Silver.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

To the chase: starts off with a potent aroma of vanilla, rolls past the lips with vanilla, beads thinly off the tongue with vanilla, and finishes with a smooth vanilla. If you haven't guessed, it's all vanilla. This is the rum equivalent of chugging a bottle of vanilla extract.

The 12 year is superior.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is a very smooth rum with a taste that lingers well after it has left my mouth. I had a sample at the liquor store and had to have it in my collection. Sweet, dark, caramel, with a hint of coconut.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kyle from United States with 18 ratings

Zaya used to be a favorite of mine, smooth with a great nose and easy drinking. Now this stuff tastes like medicine and it took every bit of me not to dump it down the drain. The taste is horrible now. I would not recommend buying this anytime soon. Overly sweet and even then the sweetness is not a good sweetness.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I had read such great things about this rum I have to say I was a little disappointed last night when I tried it. I get blasted with the overpowering caramel aroma and flavor. I will try it on ice to see if it has a life other than a mixing rum.

Additional review comments: After trying this 3 more times I think I either have a bad bottle or they have changed their way of creating this rum. It is not enjoyable neat, with water, rocks and I think it would not work well with Coke or any other soda. I read that the 12 of the bottle no longer refers to any age of the rum, but is letting you know that 12 different rums have been blended to create what is in the bottle.

I am not an age snob, don't care if color or sugar has been added to the rum as long as I enjoy the experience of drinking the rum. I can't say I am enjoying this one at all.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth and easy to drink. A little on the sweet side, but a good starter rum for introducing someone into sipping rum. Not my go to rum, but I won't turn it down.

Posted over 3 years ago by BermyNuts from Bermuda with 8 ratings

Becoming A new self proclaimed Rum connoisseur is hard but I have to appreciate what this rum has to offer. This Zaya is the cause that started me on this journey tasting the finest rum in the world. With that said this is my favorite rum to mix with. It is sweet and with vanilla, oak , Caramel and fruit flavors infused.
I enjoy this rum as a mixer, but on the Sip Side I see it's flaws it's a little thin which takes away from the smoothness feel. I also feel without good aeration that the after taste could be a bit strong which I don't like my self. Also when I go to sip the alcohol aroma hurts my nose show it's very young " I think". The way I have countered this is by drinking it a little warm I find it becomes very tasty, enhances the flavors and much smoother to drink.
But all in all this is one of my favorite, " I love SWEET rum" I am already give through 2 bottles this year. My Rating is as a Mixer I give it a 10 but as a sipper I give it a 7.

Hope my advice helps.....

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Tremenda botella mucho sabor en boca en nariz explosión de frutos rojos secos y fuerte el alcohol

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Nose is heavy vanilla almost thick like a perfume

Taste isnt bad, its smooth, very thin, theres not much of a finish here. As a previous reviewer had stated " the high end of the low end" thats accurate. Smooth but not much going for it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

This rum has been on my wishlist for a long time now. If I had to describe this rum in one word that word would be SWEET, but I think all the hype that I had received about this bottle made me expect something better. I've been told this is the "best bottle of rum I have ever teased" by a good number of my rum drinking friends and family and I think that I was expecting more complexity. This rum tastes EXTREMELY sweet, with a strong flavor of vanilla and cane sugar. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy this bottle. I just feel there are much better 12 year bottles that have the complexity that Zaya is missing. Rum's like Appleton Estate and Flor de Cana both have excellent 12 year rums that sit around the same shelf price. This is a bottle that will sit on my shelf for many years to come. I only gave this rum a 6/10 because it far from a bad bottle of rum. I can taste what makes this rum so popular, the sweetness and lack of complexity.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

The old presentation was better. I would not recommend to buy this one, there's better option for $35 Rums like Don Pancho 8 years.

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

It's sickly sweet and oh, the vanilla! Zaya Gran Reserva used to be a bit of a guilty pleasure but the reformulation is a syrupy mess. There are so many better rums in my collection these days.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

You can buy this in Florida for less than $30 a bottle.
Nose: very sweet oak aroma. Really impressive. It gives you the feeling you're about to drink a great vintage reserva rum.
Taste: unfortunately that feeling didn't materialize. It tasted like a simple sugary watery drink with molasses.
Finish: very short with no discerning flavors.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mary Knoll from Saint Lucia with 5 ratings

Zaya from Trinidad was first intoduced to me in a small bistro in Shreveport Louisiana. Not available most places...in fact very hard to find even in most liquor stores. This rum is the smoothest, sweetest tasting rum l have ever had the pleasure of imbibing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 8 ratings

Zaya is a Rum that at it's price ($50-$60) is certainly fantastic! Sweet, smooth, vanilla. A nice richness that is definitely best enjoyed neat in a snifter. I would not even hesitate to purchase if you have never tried it before.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

Although i started back into rum with Zaya i had to rate this a 3. Why? Simple really. The old Zaya was better to me. The new Zaya is heavily loaded or blended with additives. It's just over the top like eating candy.