Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


548 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Delicious nose, very appealing ! Tastes sweet and has a nice smooth aftertaste. Lots of caramel.
The bottle is super tall ! Good to know ;)

Posted over 5 years ago by TriniGirl from United States with 1 rating

I purchased this rum as a gift for a friend from Trinidad, and had the good fortune to sample it at his party. It is absolutely the most delicious, smooth rum I have ever tasted. I have enjoyed it straight up, with cola, and on the rocks. Vanilla, molasses, caramel ... just a delightful.

And, the bottle is bit of a conversation piece!

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Havde glædet mig til at smage den, blev lidt skuffet, lige sød nok.
Men dejlig duft.

Posted over 5 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

Very unique taste. I love it with ginger ale or ginger beer. Kind of heavy and close to a liqueur. Very sweet. Not great mixed with cola and just okay on the rocks.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum har jeg læst skulle være "for" sød, det synes jeg ikke, slet ikke kvalm. Her er stor vanilje duft og smag, samt karamel, jeg fornemmer også en anelse tobak. God nydelses rom.

Posted over 5 years ago by pondarosa from United States with 1 rating

Smooth enough to be a well aged bourbon, has that smokey type of flavors.The best for the price in my neck of the woods.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chip from United States with 6 ratings

I have never found anything smoother! Molasses notes. Great on the rocks or with a splash of soda water.

Posted over 5 years ago by JE Tressler from United States with 18 ratings

One of my collection but not my favorite. I drink quality rums straight up and although this rum has great appearance and aroma the finish is not as smooth as less pricy rums.


Be cool,
jt

“Mon amie laissez le bon temps rouler!”



Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

As I do like some of the sweet rums (Plantation 20th & Zacapa XO), I was really wanting to love this, but the over abundance of sugary vanilla actually gave me a headache.

Posted almost 6 years ago by CaptainRon from United States with 5 ratings

Reminds me of flan with notes of caramel and vanilla

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Smooth sweet toffee aroma. The palate offers you sweet toffee and some vanilla. At this pricepoint i miss a bit of body though. It's very similar to the hafl priced punta cana esplendio. I actually find the punta cana better, because it posesses a slightly fuller body, missing in the Zaya

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

not complex.

Nose: Caramel and strawberry.
Taste: Caramel, vanilla, chocolate.

It's a liquid chocolate bar. And for the price, I'm perfectly fine with that.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

A tad sweet, but very smooth. Drink on the rocks or freeze the bottle.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

The perfect example of a sweetened rum pretending to be "premium" but is a good dessert rum. It´s sweet and smoooth.... from added sugar... 20g/L but that is less than some other "sugar bombs" out there, still 20 is a lot.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thomas Christiansen from Denmark with 9 ratings

Meget sød, fed og velsmagende rom som alle kan drikke. Måske en kende for sød. Men super god(har naturligvis alt den karamel og vaniliesmag den kan trække:)

Posted about 6 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Elsker den flaske. Og indholdet. Sød men ikke kvalm. Lækker rom, svært at drikke ét glas.

Posted about 6 years ago by Hrpalle from Denmark with 19 ratings

Sweet vanilla smell, with some other notes in the back. The smell is fantastic.

The taste I great as we'll. The vanilla is not as heavy in the taste, but it's there. It's a real nice, smooth and easy to drink rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bigdaddy from Denmark with 6 ratings

Denne rom er til alle som er til en sød rom.
Der er noter af vanilje, kaffe samt chokolade og dufter fantastisk. En dejlig rom som bør have sin faste plads i skabet.

Posted about 6 years ago by Nicky from Denmark with 2 ratings

Dette er en super god og sød rom

Posted about 6 years ago by Morten from Denmark with 4 ratings

Love it

Posted about 6 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Et must i en rom samling

Posted about 6 years ago by Sam from United States with 8 ratings

Smooth

Posted about 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

An interesting, smooth rum, albeit a little expensive. It's not quite a sipping rum, although I have certainly enjoyed it as such, and it's not quite a mixer, although I've certainly done that as well. It's in the price range between a mixer and a sipper. However if I had to make a list of top 10 rums to try, Zaya would absolutely be on it.

Posted about 6 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

A very good aged rum, a little to much vanilla but still sippable.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

Probably the best rum available in the market I live in. Nice caramel and honey taste with a hint of spice. Good over ice with a twist of lime. The color is excellent. Overall, one of my favorites for regular consumption.