Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (554 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
49
107
177
109
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


554 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a good rum, though the vanilla is a bit dominant. The vanilla is actually quite good, but it's hard to taste the rum over the vanilla (though this is far better than most other vanilla bombs I've tried). Easy drinking and smooth, I'll give this my top score for (what I believe should be) a flavored rum.

4b700b1d5012ea7ef403db649ec64fdb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

So I'm no connoisseur by any means but I found it pretty boring. One dimensional. It was pretty sweet but that's fine, I like sweet. Pretty easy sipper, but like I said, just kinda boring.

0b027afc02e6f0da79e33c0f25f81e86.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I liked but a little too sweet. Very smooth and good for sipping.

A5106a9332529874dc884f59b56ef191.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Carlos Obregon from Canada with 2 ratings

Strong vanilla showing right from the first sip, caramel coming close behind. A bit sweeter than I like but would buy again nonetheless.

3a8412a0759467e414669818fb349c3a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Had a glass of this neat and was hoping to be wowed, especially for the price. A decent taste but not great. Looks pretty in the glass, deep color but the flavor is not rich. Not a good value.

Da4430967db37711cd81ebe2228e3b0d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Andre Byrd from United States with 4 ratings

A nice smooth tasting rum. Has a very nice taste, one of my wife’s and I favorite.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

This was my third and final test of sipping rums as one shot neat for each from a well stocked bar. If you can separate yourself from the thought of what it used to be when it was distilled in Guatemala, you just may wind up enjoying it. On the other hand, the Guatemalan version must have rated as a 10 instead of a 7 here. Then again, maybe my first two stronger samples of different rums prior to that clouded my judgment.

The aroma is incredible and the taste is smooth and sweet with no burn on the tongue or throat. It has a very pleasant and unique artificial after taste which I cannot describe. It can be used as an affordable sipper at about $27 per bottle, but my shot ran me $9. I am on the fence about buying a whole bottle since I already have enough great rums in my collection. It is a decent rum, but not great. And believe me, I went searching all over some forgotten liquor stores for any remaining bottles from Guatemala with the straw on the neck and having a real cork. My shot was the version from Trinidad.

Update several weeks later: After researching how the parent conglomerate company has slowly degraded the quality of this rum since it was produced in Guatemala back in 2008, I won't be buying an entire bottle. The memory of some artificial taste in that one sample was enough to have me thinking that I would regret buying a whole bottle and having to finish it while paying a penalty each day after drinking it. Comparisons to Sailor Jerry have been made, how both start off deceptively appealing and then the next day it's "Gotcha!". That happened with my first and last bottle of Sailor Jerry. By the way, the bar where I had my glass of Zaya also has Sailor Jerry to sample because that is what the mostly hipster patrons want. I initially gave this Zaya a rating of 7 at best, but have now lowered it to a rating of 5 to match my empty bottle of Sailor Jerry. Any rum that I rate less than a 6 is one that I cannot wait to get rid of, either for bad taste or ill effects the next day.

D48251c83435054cc9e2bd23c8a92548.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

Coconut on the nose and pallet. More alcohol on the finish than I would have expected. Not as good as others I’ve tried.

Dc5e6a4e8aaabc9cad910a14cfb8e0d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Middle sweet, vanilla, frui and tspicy a bit smoked like. For me very tasty, like this one.

697ace28031c2e163592dbbe51f3168a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chip Brooks from United States with 13 ratings

Very tasty rum. The vanilla is very pronounced in this one. Sweet with a lot of caramel tones.

74522b11302498bd32fe00ae6a559456.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph from United States with 3 ratings

I went with this with a sales person's recommendation. Others mainly noted vanilla, caramel, and sweetness. I just tasted smoke. Not my favorite, and definitely not worth 30.