Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


549 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Etwas vom besten, das du im Glas haben kannst.
Mild und würzig zugleich in der Nase.
Karamell, Vanille, Trockenfrüchte und vieles mehr (sehr Süss) im Gaumen
Langer köstlicher Abgang

Something of the best you can have in the glass.
Mild and spicy at the same time in the nose.
A (very sweet) taste caramel, vanilla, dried fruit and much more
Long, delicious finish

Posted about 5 years ago by Stacey Sanford from United States with 1 rating

I discovered this rum and it changed my view of rum. Previously only thought of rum as a mixer. This is my got to sipping rum and at a great price. Very and a nice finish.

Posted over 5 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

This is the rum that opened my mind to rum beyond a crap rum and coke. This rum is perfect on an ice cube. Truly one of the best liquors available of any kind. Some spice and a touch of sweet.

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This is an excellent rum. It maybe the smoothest rum readily available. This is a great sipping rum. It's easy to drink a lot without realizing how much you've had. However, the vanilla overwelhms the taste. This isn't necessarily a good or bad thing depending on how you feel about vanallia. It is one of my favorite flavors but every thing else gets lost. If it wasn't so smooth I'd rate it lower. It's also a good value at about $30 a bottle for such a smooth rum. If you have friends who think they don't like rum, this is a good one to get them started with.

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

sweet vanilla with hints of raisin and spices. I like sweet rums and this one fits the bill.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kevin from Cowtown from Canada with 4 ratings

Overall, this is an excellent rum. It's tastes great, looks good , finishes, excellent. The only downside is that it's generally pricey, but if price isn't a factor then, this is the best, or at least right up there.

Posted over 5 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

Smooth, sweet, warm. If you mix with this rum, you're nuts.

Posted over 5 years ago by ouak from Belgium with 5 ratings

Très bon après un bon repas entre collègues.avec quelques glaçons.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Great after dinner sipping rum. To sweet for for everyday rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Tomazet from France with 17 ratings

Ce rhum est une merveille à mon goût. Il faut aimer la vanille par contre pour apprécier sa douceur. A tester de toute urgence pour les fans de rhum arrangé à la vanille.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Agree that it's smooth and good, but it has a strong vanilla flavor that reminds me of spiced rums. Prefer neat with just a little water added, but overpriced for my taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by adam from United States with 2 ratings

So smooth. And the vanilla accents this so well. Its like a vanilla finish to a smooth rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

This is an extremely dark rum in the bottle. As soon as I popped the cork, the subtle hint of vanilla escaped the bottle neck. Very smooth, sweet and delicious with a nice finish. Perhaps a bit too sweet.

Posted over 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

i really like Zaya. Silky smooth with great sweet notes of vanilla - maybe even too much (the reason for no 10). Short finish, with a little spice. Probably the best rum for beginners, but maybe slightly lacking complexity for pros

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Zaya had a strong vanilla flavor. Sipped it straight. Smooth but I thought it had a little bit of a medicine aftertaste to me though.

Posted over 5 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

Beautiful caramel and vanilla notes. Smooth on the palate. Wonderful neat!

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Harris from United States with 2 ratings

A fine rum that is enjoyed by many. A taste of bourbon or whisky

Posted over 5 years ago by brad from Canada with 5 ratings

Beautiful caramel color
Sweet vanilla, chocolate and spices on the nose.
On the tong it is sweet with brown sugar vanilla and spices. Dried fruit and chocolate hints as well.
Finish is smooooth. Beautiful rum if your in the mood for something sweet.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

I just can't get enough of this Rum! Smooth, flavorful, great price point, easy to find, perfect with a Cuban! What more can you hope for in a sipping Rum!?

A 10 all the way, for me.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott from Sweden with 11 ratings

Best smelling rum I ever put my nose to, but when I drink it, it just doesn't deliver what the smell promises smell is a 10, taste is 6 or 7

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin Paquette from United States with 3 ratings

This rum has a subtle vanilla aroma in addition to the rich scents I have come to associate with an aged rum. On the palate the flavors are of strong vanilla, as expected and very subtle spice, however I felt the spice notes could have been more pronounced. Overall it is pleasing but not one I believe I would purchase again as there are far better rums out there at the same price point.

Posted over 5 years ago by Perro from Germany with 16 ratings

it is a sweet and smooth rum with really strong dark chocolate notes, the nose is really rich, I consider it an OK rum but not a top one.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Fine taste you just sit back and enjoy and unwind after a hard week at work

Posted over 5 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

this rum has a strong vanilla flavor. I drink it with Coke zero and it tastes just like a vanilla Coke with a little bit of spice. One of my favorite rums.

Posted over 5 years ago by Por ahora from United States with 6 ratings

Like some other readers, my first aged rum. Still love the vanilla aroma! My go to when I am introducing good rum to Bourbon drinkers in the south.