Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (553 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
49
106
177
109
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


553 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F2cc9172cf27227e0c576ecbde386c8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Delicious nose, very appealing ! Tastes sweet and has a nice smooth aftertaste. Lots of caramel.
The bottle is super tall ! Good to know ;)

3b71ed573eaa6cbe6722475aa3cfd341.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 1 rating

A wonderfully smooth rum that tastes great sipped in the cockpit of a sailboat

Beb96c0d3b94efc15c6d579caf821fef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Theslasher from United States with 11 ratings

This is probably the worst i've had to date.I generally like sweet rums but it is so sweet and spicy it's disgusting.It doesn't work at all as a mixer either.The bottle I have is the old zaya not the new stuff which is even worse.It does have a nice bottle design but that's all it has going for it.Don't waste your money on this.I've got a half of a bottle left if someone wants to pay shipping they can have it for free.

580da4d0cab42bea8a0c396b844b8ecc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Carlos from United States with 2 ratings

I appreciate primarily sipping rums but also enjoy good rums for mixed drinks. While on a recent visit to Total Wines in Atlanta I was recommended Zaya 12 by an associate. After trying it I am extremely disappointed. There is an overpowering and unpleasant artificial vanilla scent both on the nose and in the taste that makes the rum very unappealing. There is also a lot of heat from the alcohol. Also tried it in a rum tonic and did not enjoy the overpowering vanilla tones along with a good tonic water, lime and a drop of angostura. Overall a poorly confectioned rum and a very low QPR. Maybe I can use it for cooking.

E21aa2d745577b2152ad308a1e40e8f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

This rum is dark, sweet, and very vanilla/oakey. It’s decent, good in a dark n stormy for sure. A little too “one-note” to stand on its own or with a cigar

F6e0cd82870ffe1db6491618a3b3b5e6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Marvin from United States with 6 ratings

Sweet taste and very smooth. I prefer to drink straight but mixes well. Recommend it to those wanting a easy to drink rum that’s not a wallet killer.

D64fcac397a69270ace10e8ab4f479bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by G R Tilt from United States with 1 rating

For years Zaya - the 12 year old version - was my favorite and go-to rum. The scent of vanilla filled the room when the bottle was opened and the liquid went down like gold. The crap that they have replaced it with - a blend of 12 aged rums to keep the big 12 label - is an embarrassment to what was Zaya. Bait and switch.

4c6c6aebefb598c90469dde2233c3a40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

An average rum. The bottle is nicely designed and the rum if a golden dark. Flavours are what you'd expect in rum but nothing jumps out at you. Average rum and something I'd easily put out.for my friends during a game of poker and not fret if they drink it out. No collector's item by any stretch of the imagination.

199fe19a7ed3357545b437f14e163b76.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 1 rating

First off, I have to say that I'm not a neat drinker. I like my booze on ice. So my review is based on how it tastes on the rocks; which is great! Nice taste, smooth finish and great value.

C87b978af1588931c00446896cc2a472.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by CSG from United States with 24 ratings

If you want a sweet rum that’s not too sweet, this is perfect. It’s also smooth with a good nose. As a trade off, it’s not very complex, especially for a twelve rum blend. It’s a one trick pony, but a very good one if that’s the trick you want.

4b700b1d5012ea7ef403db649ec64fdb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

So I'm no connoisseur by any means but I found it pretty boring. One dimensional. It was pretty sweet but that's fine, I like sweet. Pretty easy sipper, but like I said, just kinda boring.