Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (568 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
28
12
26
52
112
180
111
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

568 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Har bara provsmakat denna som är från Guatemala med petate. Herregud vilken gudomlig Rom. Väldigt söt men smooth som babyrumpa utan någon brännande känsla i munnen. Smak och doft av massor vanilj, karamell, kokos och banan. Skulle jag hitta originalet från Guatemala skulle jag köpt alla flaskor.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 76 ratings

I've been curious to try this one and after reading some reviews I went ahead and got a bottle. The reviews I read were not wrong. This is an incredibly sweet rum. It has a very syrupy flavor. However, it also has a nice flavor profile that helps offset some of the sweetness. Once you get over the initial punch of sweetness, it's not a bad sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

I like the sweetness, but since I'm not a whiskey/ bourbon fan, this rum isn't a favorite.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

Zaya is a nice smooth sipping rum. It may be a little sweet for some but it is not over the top in sweetness. It is silky smooth and has little afterburn. This lack of a bite may be pleasant to some but others may judge it as a rum that is missing some kick. I can see it's score vary but I really like it

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

The more rum I drink the more I find my regard for Zaya diminishing. It has a nice color, and nice (if sticky) legs that I associate with added sweets. It smells like cookies in the oven. It tastes of caramel and lingers sweetly. And lingers some more. It’s priced right and they threw a couple of sipping glasses.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from United States with 8 ratings

I try a lot of rums and keep going back to Zaya for its sweet and complex flavor at a reasonable price. 12 years old and less than $30 is a bargain!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick schoen from United States with 5 ratings

First rum with this app. A smokey taste, with a hint of vanilla. Good straight up, or on the rocks. Excellent for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Goût de vanille et caramel. Facile à boire. Je n'ai pas goûté l'ancien Zaya du Guatemala pour le comparer au Zaya du Trinidad Tobago.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Serge Dufresne from Canada with 17 ratings

Pas disponible à la SAQ, j’ai découvert ce rhum sur les tablettes du LCBO, pour approximativement $75 CAD. Pour le même prix, vous pouvez acheterune bonne bouteiile de Planatation Barbados 20 ans, Zacapa 23 ans et Diplomatico Reserva Exclusivia ( celui est moins cher et meilleur que le Zaya). Pour presque la moitiė du prix, Eldorado 12 ans est un milleur rapport qualité/prix.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Grimmreeper from United States with 15 ratings

To me, this rum is very high quality at this price point. Not necessarily the absolute best option, but a very solid option. It's pretty smooth drinking and has some really great flavor. There is a bit of afterburn, but it is not unbearable.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Nice vanilla & molasses aroma but was a little disappointed with the taste. A touch harsher on the palate than i was expecting & the vanilla came across as almost extract-y. Not terrible but have had much better.