Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


553 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F2cc9172cf27227e0c576ecbde386c8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Delicious nose, very appealing ! Tastes sweet and has a nice smooth aftertaste. Lots of caramel.
The bottle is super tall ! Good to know ;)

409d3408e63bb6b038371878ec31626a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Zaya Gran Reserva !! Quick review:

I'm just gonna start by saying I really love this rum. I may be biased as blends seem to be my favorite but it's still really exceptional stuff. Very inexpensive. Zaya is a blend of rums sourced from Trinidad and Tobago. Double distilled from raw sugar cane and aged in bourbon and whisky barrels for a minimum of 12 years.

On the nose- wood, vanilla, molasses, tropicle fruit and oak. Also pick up a tiny bit of leather but that could just be me.
First sip- very smooth with a very pleasant tingle on the palate. There's a lot going on but mostly just sweet and smokey. You get vanilla, maple syrup, cherries, smoke, tobacco and lots of oak on the finish. The tingle hangs out for a while at the end which is oddly satisfying.

The sweet haters are gonna hate but at $30 American, this is a solid 8/10 in my book. Price, nose, taste and finish.. It's all there. Go get some. it's pretty easy to find!

Nazdrowie! 🙌🥃🤙

A464c7e42cb2445cf5acac4c1db1f5d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Muy bueno en términos de un Ron del lado dulce.
Mejora muy bien con la oxidación

033bcee20b6b058cb5be71854cf6e100.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

It's pleasant enough although maybe over sweet with a bitter end. Lots of caramel and sugar on the nose and a vanilla kick in the background. Here is the nub - at this price point, I would never choose this one ahead of many other rums. For me, it just hasn't got the complexity of an El Dorado, to name but one.

79390010e0aa4bb6c3f33d4044b8c555.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jaker from Canada with 3 ratings

They changed their brewing. Do not buy. Only buy the old stock. The old stock has a wicker cover on the top and is not a screw cab

C9d0b093dc7890cf9031d38d01bb7ced.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Zaya is hands down the smoothest rum I have tried so far. It is full of flavor but is not over bearing throughout its flavor range . This rum is a must have for the collection.

3c97c5356c537a9f5f5e1482e6143f59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Hawkeye821 from United States with 17 ratings

This is my go to rum for parties and guests, great for mixing, sipping straight, on the rocks or shooters.

6eddee32223d91fa5489c5f26d5e79f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by jo from United States with 2 ratings

GREAT WHEN MIXED WITH COKE. STRONG VANILLA FLAVOR. DARK IN COLOR. GREAT WHEN HAVING A CIGAR ON THE DECK.

12a9630361bf6e5e3a79fd555679f152.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Hefty Vanilla tones on the nose. Alarmingly smooth wash through to an oak tongue, sweet caramel finish. Subtle banana and what seems to be apricot hints within as well. A superb rum. May have to make this a regular on my shelf.

B14fdfbd81b59893e8497d838f9e426e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Keith Ferguson from United States with 1 rating

“This is EXACTLY what i thought that RUM was gonna taste like when i grew up!!!”

I am so HAPPY that “ZAYA” has kept me a kid. 👉🏻😎👈🏻...

834e48458a93441ff35e3132e0e68327.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Very pleasantly surprised by this rum. I expected a stronger molasses flavor with the dark color but it has a wonderful vanilla aroma and flavor to it. It's a very smooth rum and is excellent on the rocks. For some purists the vanilla maybe a little too much but I rather enjoyed it, this will definitely be a new keeper in the cabinet