Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (560 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
50
109
179
110
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


560 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a good rum, though the vanilla is a bit dominant. The vanilla is actually quite good, but it's hard to taste the rum over the vanilla (though this is far better than most other vanilla bombs I've tried). Easy drinking and smooth, I'll give this my top score for (what I believe should be) a flavored rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Grimmreeper from United States with 15 ratings

To me, this rum is very high quality at this price point. Not necessarily the absolute best option, but a very solid option. It's pretty smooth drinking and has some really great flavor. There is a bit of afterburn, but it is not unbearable.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Nice vanilla & molasses aroma but was a little disappointed with the taste. A touch harsher on the palate than i was expecting & the vanilla came across as almost extract-y. Not terrible but have had much better.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Igor Marchosky from United States with 3 ratings

My go to when I want to sip a rum with little commitment to a second drink. Sweet enough for an after-dinner drink, smooth with sweet molasses and cocoa lingers in the pallet

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Dan Brush from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, not overly sweet. It tastes like its spiced though which is a slight turn-off.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

A very sweet rum with strong flavours of banana make sit taste like desert. It’s not bad but it’s not for me.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Har bara provsmakat denna som är från Guatemala med petate. Herregud vilken gudomlig Rom. Väldigt söt men smooth som babyrumpa utan någon brännande känsla i munnen. Smak och doft av massor vanilj, karamell, kokos och banan. Skulle jag hitta originalet från Guatemala skulle jag köpt alla flaskor.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Jeff from United States with 2 ratings

Great rum, smooth with some carmel and molasses flavor. Excellent in Cuba libre!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Zaya Gran Reserva !! Quick review:

I'm just gonna start by saying I really love this rum. I may be biased as blends seem to be my favorite but it's still really exceptional stuff. Very inexpensive. Zaya is a blend of rums sourced from Trinidad and Tobago. Double distilled from raw sugar cane and aged in bourbon and whisky barrels for a minimum of 12 years.

On the nose- wood, vanilla, molasses, tropicle fruit and oak. Also pick up a tiny bit of leather but that could just be me.
First sip- very smooth with a very pleasant tingle on the palate. There's a lot going on but mostly just sweet and smokey. You get vanilla, maple syrup, cherries, smoke, tobacco and lots of oak on the finish. The tingle hangs out for a while at the end which is oddly satisfying.

The sweet haters are gonna hate but at $30 American, this is a solid 8/10 in my book. Price, nose, taste and finish.. It's all there. Go get some. it's pretty easy to find!

Nazdrowie! 🙌🥃🤙

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 18 ratings

Muy bueno en términos de un Ron del lado dulce.
Mejora muy bien con la oxidación

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

It's pleasant enough although maybe over sweet with a bitter end. Lots of caramel and sugar on the nose and a vanilla kick in the background. Here is the nub - at this price point, I would never choose this one ahead of many other rums. For me, it just hasn't got the complexity of an El Dorado, to name but one.