Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10(570 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
54
114
180
110
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

570 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

If this is the best that your store has, you'll be ok buying this, but there are many much better rums out there. Too much burn and oakiness to realize any other flavors.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Pour les débutants, mais pas pour les amateurs de rhum. Facile a boire avec des arômes de vanille très prononcée. Rhum foncée assez rond et parfumé. Beaucoup trop sucré.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by lonefalcon from United States with 23 ratings

This is a commonly seen rum in local bars, so I decided to give a bottle a shot. I ended up using this exclusively as a mixer, and not my favorite at that. There are other rums out there for the same price which are much tastier in either situation.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

trop vanille, sucre brun, pas subtil comme saveur, doit être pris avec de la glace

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

The rating of this rum was very good, I bought this with hope, but it was not my style.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 27 ratings

A very good rum but almost too sweet and spicy. A must have for the cabinet but no longer my first choice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alice.Hilaire from United States with 3 ratings

The sugar cane in this is gorgeously developed, I love every sip of this. I prefer this rum neat most often than not, it is so smooth and bold with age that it should really be meant with nothing added to it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Ratings are all over the board on this one. It really depends on your taste. Sweet cane nose. Very sweet flavor with hints of caramel and vanilla. Not terribly complex but not at all as bad as some of the ratings make it out to be. I think this is more of a middle of the road rum. Not world class but definitely not swill. Warming approaching hot. Slightly bitter finish but not unpleasent. A decent sipper if you really like it sweet and simple but it would be much better served with cocktails wanting a fuller bodied sweet rum.
Edit 9/25/19 - rating above is for old Guatemala rum. Recently tried the new Trinidad version. Not at all the same. Over sweet and artificial. No depth just sweet vanilla. Sadly this is giving rum the wrong reputation. I lower my rating for the new formula from a 6 to a 4. If you like real rum do not spend $30 on this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

Too sweet and this for my taste. I had it to sip at a celebration but was not impressed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

If this is the same rum everyone else tried. I have a couple bottles from a few years old to a couple years old. I like this rum. It is sweet and flavorful but an enjoyable supper with a little burn. Rum forward. Sweet. Vanilla and spice in the middle. Not my favorite but an enjoyable sipper to Gabe in the mix.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ihavenosavior from United States with 2 ratings

Had a glass of this and I enjoyed it. One of the better glasses of rum I've been able to get at a restaurant or bar. Good flavor to it without the overpowering taste that you usually get from a bar/restaurant rum. Not up there with a Kirk and Sweeny, but definitely a good rum