Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


224 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

...but I not sure of its age. Body is medium like a 12/15 year.

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sho'nuff! This is where sweet rum drinkers start mellowing out a bit. Pleasant fruit smell with a hint of wood aroma. The taste has just the right amount of sweetness that can be enjoyed by both the sugar fans (Bruce Leeroy) and the dry rum drinkers (Shogun of Harlem). The wood flavor could be considered a little heavy for some but I think it keeps things interesting. The burn and after taste make for a great experience. Zafra 21 is a must have for any person who enjoys sipping rum. Great stuff.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I just picked up a bottle of this rum in Key West after discussing it with Bahama Bob Leonard. I got it home and tasted it for the first time and I absolutely love it. It is a very smooth rum with great flavor. I almost gave it my 2nd 10. After a few more sessions with it, I may just have to do that.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

It tastes like what I feel a great aged run should taste like; subtle yet intense in flavor and yet sweet without being overly sweet. Not as sweet as a Diplomatico or Zaya but not as dry as a Appleton or Mount Gay. I feel fortunate to have been able to purchase this bottle at the price I did for what I got in return.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rhum Man from United States with 8 ratings

I've been enjoying this rum. Kind of like Santa Teresa but with more oak and the dryness the wood brings. Very smooth, without relying on sweetness. The heat of the alcohol lingers and so I find myself enjoying it more with an ice cube.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum reminded me very much of El Dorado 21. In fact, I struggled to differentiate them in a blind tasting. Ultimately, the El Dorado 21 is a little better, but not by much (I'm rating them both the same). But at half the cost of the El Dorado 21, this is a bargain! It has oak, spice, honey, and tastes nice, though I'd prefer just a tad more sweetness.

Posted over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum. Smells very good, first sip is excellent. Soft taste, lasts long. Excellent and maybe favourite sipper. Perfectly balanced!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ray from United States with 1 rating

for anyone looking for a Rum with a fine scotch feel nothing like the Zafra 21. Very smooth aged in bourbon casks. Great with cigars and extremely satisfying. Not as sweet as other aged rums which is a plus for scotch connoisseurs

Posted over 4 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

Primero abuelo ahora este ron zafra en una presentacion sencilla, pero hasta ahí llega su sencillez uno de los rones más complejos que he probado con un aroma dulce pero no empalagoso, con un sabor extraordinario saltan las almendras frutos oscuros y la madera Añeja, es suave al paladar e igualmente sabroso si te lo encuentras en el camino llévatelo no te arrepentirás .

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Představíme si 21 let starý panamský rum Zafra Master Reserve. Pojem Zafra pochází ze španělštiny a odkazuje na období, kdy se sklízí cukrová třtina. Na českých internetových obchodech se všude můžete dočíst, že tento rum “ uvedli na trh lidé, kteří stáli u zrodu a vývoje značky Zacapa“. Zdroj této informace asi nevystopujeme, ale obchody si tuto informaci houfně kopírují, přičemž se mi nepodařilo ani na zahraničních webech zjistit nic, co by tuto informaci potvrdilo. Krom toho, že tato informace je nejspíš blud, mám z ní i dojem klamavé reklamy. Pokud máte někdo informaci, která by spojitost se Zacapou potvrdila, rád svůj názor přehodnotím. Výrobcem Zafry je firma PILSA (Proveedora Internacional De Licores S. A.) a nejvýraznější personou, která za tímto rumem skutečně stojí, je master blender Francisco “Don Pancho” Fernandez Perez, který svou kariéru začal na Kubě, kde se v 70. letech vypracoval na ředitele Kubánského nápojového průmyslu. Ve své funkci pak pomáhal školit master blendery v lihovarech v zemích bývalého východního bloku, ale i v Kanadě nebo na Madagaskaru. Osvojil si i výrobní postupy při výrobě vodky v Polsku, whisky ve Skotsku a zkušenosti získával i z evropských vinařství. Na počátku 90. let pak působil jako master blender ve firmě Varela Hermanos, což je producent známého rumu Abuelo. Po této bohaté čtyřicetileté kariéře, ve věku již důchodovém, vytvořil Zafru Master Reserve, jako svůj doposud poslední významný počin.

Při testování jsem přímo srovnával s mým oblíbencem rovněž z Panamy, Abuelem 12y.
Barva:
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Nesmírně hluboká vůně, kde převládá káva s karamelem, a k nim se přidávají i cedrové tóny, známé z Abuela 12y. Abuelo je v aroma naladěno výš, Zafra je nejméně o 2 oktávy níž, mocnější a hřejivější. Skvělá vůně. (93 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku nečekaně nacházím jen minimální sladkost, svou suchostí mě Zafra překvapila. Dojem je těžký a přitom jemný. V dochuti se ozve opět cedr, výborně, to se mi líbí a zároveň to body vytáhlo, jinak by to za 89b. nebylo. Abuelo 12y je pro mě chuťově znatelně lepší a bohatší. (89 b)
Body: 91
Shrnutí: V přímém testu Zafra dokázala porazit Abuelo o jeden bod ve vůni, ovšem v chuti zaostala, a ani skvělá dochuť Zafry s tím už nic nenadělala. Přesto je to výborný rum, ostatně jako všechny čtyři, které jsem v minisériii testoval. Ať už se jednalo o nevšední a originální Arcane Extratoma, Zayu, která byla skvěle vyvážená, chuťově nejlepší z celé čtveřice pak Atlantico Private Cask, nebo nejlépe vonící Zafra Master Reserve, ani s jedním nešlápnete vedle a záleží na tom, co preferujete.

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I love this rum, but just wonder if it might not be even better if it hadn't spent quite so long in wood. The complexity and dryness from the oak is very appealing, and makes a welcome change to my preferred full rich, sweet fruit. The oak does tend to dominate a little too much, but the rum is smooth and complex if lacking a little length on the finish. But overall has a sophistication that most rums just don't have.

Posted 4 months ago by Rick from United States with 8 ratings

Finally a Rum my wife likes as well. She is a whiskey drinker and really likes Zafra. One of the few I drink on the rocks no mixing.

Posted 6 months ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

Easily one of my favorites. Very smooth, with balanced caramel, vanilla, and light molasses flavors. I normally am not find of a strong or heavy molasses flavors rum but this one is exactly right. Subtley sweet, but not overpowering at all. Has a slight burn (very slight) but is a delayed warm tingle that brings out focus on the after taste. Not the longest after taste, but long enough to full enjoy the flavors it presents.

For me I sip this one neat, and it goes down sooo easy. Never added ice as for me it was never necessary and I am so happy with it neat I never had the urge to experiment.

It's a little higher than other rums ($45 Miami where I buy it) but no where near the exclusive prices. Yet, I'd take this any day and $45 for this beats any whiskey hands down in this price range.

Posted at 2to2 bar 8 months ago by Carterofshadows from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

I love it full of taste with too many diferent tastet's in diferent moods

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

Absolute perfection. It has the right balance of sweet and burn. I could just smell it for hours. I had a pour of it in the BVIs and having a hard time finding it. Not sure what a bottle cost but it’s worth it.

Posted over 2 years ago by fedebelga from Belgium with 8 ratings

Now this is some very balanced premium rum, a 21 yo Panamanian master reserve. The nose: sweet, molasse (brown sugar).
The flavour reminds me a somehow of the Diplomatico reserva exclusiva, yet a bit less sweeter and more complex in taste. The finish is not so strong, a gentle light burn.
All in all, a very good rum!

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Has been on my wishlist for a long time so was pleased to receive it for Xmas. As its 21 yrs old i poured a double dose into my Glencairn glass and left it for 25 mins on the bench.
On the nose i get caramel , molasses and wood , lots of wood.
This is a smooth , dry sipper that seems very well constructed. Tastes smokey with some leather , oak and plenty of Bourbon flavour which im not a great fan of..
Nice gentle burn in the mouth but no real burn in the throat.
There is some sweetness as well but this is definitely a bourbon /whisky lovers dream introduction into the world of aged rums..I enjoyed it more with an ice cube , overall a good alternative to overly sweetened rums
8.5

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

I get some molasses on the nose mixed with a hint of bananna. Not a strong or overpowering aroma - it is kind of subtle, very pleasant.

Initial hit brings out the lingering flavor of the bourbon, blends into oak flavors. Other reviews comment on strong oak notes - I dont get that. It is there, but not overpowering. It transitions into a sweet back end of molases before tailing off. Finish is a bit weak, i wish it had more.

Overall a great drink. Smooth, nothing that is overpowering, complex enough to be really enjoyable, simple enough to drink neat pr over some ice. Definitely will keep a bottle in my cabinet.

Posted about 3 years ago by Nora from United States with 10 ratings

Very smooth, perfectly balanced. Very reminiscent of a good scotch. Would not have bought it due to the price but it just so happened to have been on sale. It is aged in ex-bourbon barrels. It is not as sweet as other rums with is something I greatly enjoy.

Posted about 3 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

I sampled this at the same time of the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, and although the Plantation won the rum battle, this is still an excellent rum! Zafra, like most Panama rums, focuses on the smooth velvety finish, versus have a strong flavor. After all, it's distilled by the master himself, Don Pancho! If you are huge Ron Zacapa fan, this is very similar in flavor and finish. If you are fan of Don Pancho 8 year, this will lack some wood flavor substance.

Rich toffee, exotic fruit and spice. Very minimal oak flavor and smooth finish. I would buy this for someone who is looking to get into rum sipping.

Posted over 3 years ago by declan walker from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Every time I pour a glass I feel amazing. Looks very professional and tastes the same. Good value too. Very complex flavour, beautiful stuff.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is the perfect rum for those bourbon and/or scotch drinkers who don't want to be bombarded with the overt sweetness and sugar of some rums such as Diplomatico Reserva and Zaya. Don't get me wrong, it still has a lot sweetness but it's muted by the bourbon barrel aging and goes down very easily. I'm really enjoying this at the moment as my nightly sipper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The nose is fragrant with some spice. When you swallow you definitely get a clear bourbon taste that only lasts for two seconds. The finish is long and very nice with flavors of vanilla and toffee. This would have probably been a perfect sipping rum if it weren't for the bourbon. On the other hand, this is maybe perfect for bourbon drinkers new to rum.




#