Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

I've been working on a rum collection for a bit. There have been some high and lows in the quality of the adventures, but this one is easily one of the best I've had yet.
Smooth, not overly viscous, layered and deep flavors. The bourbon aging brings a darker edge to the palate but it is not unwelcome nor does it overly dominate.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sho'nuff! This is where sweet rum drinkers start mellowing out a bit. Pleasant fruit smell with a hint of wood aroma. The taste has just the right amount of sweetness that can be enjoyed by both the sugar fans (Bruce Leeroy) and the dry rum drinkers (Shogun of Harlem). The wood flavor could be considered a little heavy for some but I think it keeps things interesting. The burn and after taste make for a great experience. Zafra 21 is a must have for any person who enjoys sipping rum. Great stuff.

3d47552e1a3e6da6f980f4fc9d8295d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I just picked up a bottle of this rum in Key West after discussing it with Bahama Bob Leonard. I got it home and tasted it for the first time and I absolutely love it. It is a very smooth rum with great flavor. I almost gave it my 2nd 10. After a few more sessions with it, I may just have to do that.

8af5983538e4158a170e5b2daff4d248.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

It tastes like what I feel a great aged run should taste like; subtle yet intense in flavor and yet sweet without being overly sweet. Not as sweet as a Diplomatico or Zaya but not as dry as a Appleton or Mount Gay. I feel fortunate to have been able to purchase this bottle at the price I did for what I got in return.

9b775856ca66e2fbc80842221c1aac79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rhum Man from United States with 8 ratings

I've been enjoying this rum. Kind of like Santa Teresa but with more oak and the dryness the wood brings. Very smooth, without relying on sweetness. The heat of the alcohol lingers and so I find myself enjoying it more with an ice cube.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 434 ratings

This rum reminded me very much of El Dorado 21. In fact, I struggled to differentiate them in a blind tasting. Ultimately, the El Dorado 21 is a little better, but not by much (I'm rating them both the same). But at half the cost of the El Dorado 21, this is a bargain! It has oak, spice, honey, and tastes nice, though I'd prefer just a tad more sweetness.

A44e79f04f5280da1b25bacea874f2c0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum. Smells very good, first sip is excellent. Soft taste, lasts long. Excellent and maybe favourite sipper. Perfectly balanced!

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.

986b940e3df20fb0fd9fce187a7faa78.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Ray from United States with 1 rating

for anyone looking for a Rum with a fine scotch feel nothing like the Zafra 21. Very smooth aged in bourbon casks. Great with cigars and extremely satisfying. Not as sweet as other aged rums which is a plus for scotch connoisseurs

8369366b7ce418f8ae3fd4befad80388.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

Primero abuelo ahora este ron zafra en una presentacion sencilla, pero hasta ahí llega su sencillez uno de los rones más complejos que he probado con un aroma dulce pero no empalagoso, con un sabor extraordinario saltan las almendras frutos oscuros y la madera Añeja, es suave al paladar e igualmente sabroso si te lo encuentras en el camino llévatelo no te arrepentirás .