Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (241 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
30
79
101
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


241 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Tasted. Nice rum. I can see why most of people like it. Rich wide taste, sweet mollase with distinctive nutty (wallnut, hazelnut) taste afterward. Sweet mollase vanilla smell. Very, very nice sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sho'nuff! This is where sweet rum drinkers start mellowing out a bit. Pleasant fruit smell with a hint of wood aroma. The taste has just the right amount of sweetness that can be enjoyed by both the sugar fans (Bruce Leeroy) and the dry rum drinkers (Shogun of Harlem). The wood flavor could be considered a little heavy for some but I think it keeps things interesting. The burn and after taste make for a great experience. Zafra 21 is a must have for any person who enjoys sipping rum. Great stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I just picked up a bottle of this rum in Key West after discussing it with Bahama Bob Leonard. I got it home and tasted it for the first time and I absolutely love it. It is a very smooth rum with great flavor. I almost gave it my 2nd 10. After a few more sessions with it, I may just have to do that.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

It tastes like what I feel a great aged run should taste like; subtle yet intense in flavor and yet sweet without being overly sweet. Not as sweet as a Diplomatico or Zaya but not as dry as a Appleton or Mount Gay. I feel fortunate to have been able to purchase this bottle at the price I did for what I got in return.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

Primero abuelo ahora este ron zafra en una presentacion sencilla, pero hasta ahí llega su sencillez uno de los rones más complejos que he probado con un aroma dulce pero no empalagoso, con un sabor extraordinario saltan las almendras frutos oscuros y la madera Añeja, es suave al paladar e igualmente sabroso si te lo encuentras en el camino llévatelo no te arrepentirás .

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rhum Man from United States with 8 ratings

I've been enjoying this rum. Kind of like Santa Teresa but with more oak and the dryness the wood brings. Very smooth, without relying on sweetness. The heat of the alcohol lingers and so I find myself enjoying it more with an ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum reminded me very much of El Dorado 21. In fact, I struggled to differentiate them in a blind tasting. Ultimately, the El Dorado 21 is a little better, but not by much (I'm rating them both the same). But at half the cost of the El Dorado 21, this is a bargain! It has oak, spice, honey, and tastes nice, though I'd prefer just a tad more sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

As most rum lovers I’ve started my rum journey among the Spanish styled ron. Nowadays there are not more than around 15 left in my cabinet. The ones that still stand out are especially two brands from Panama, Zafra and Malecon. Can maybe depend on that “Don Pancho” has been involved in both. So Zafra 21 is still one of my favourites to a reasonable price. It’s complex, not extremely sweet, smooth, has rich flavours and a very nice afterburn. If it wasn’t for the Zafra 30 I should have given it a 10, but now I stop with a 9 till I have tasted my Zafra 30.
Pictures: My Panama shelf & My two Zafra’s.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum. Smells very good, first sip is excellent. Soft taste, lasts long. Excellent and maybe favourite sipper. Perfectly balanced!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 359 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.