Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (252 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
32
85
103
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

252 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 196 ratings

As most rum lovers I’ve started my rum journey among the Spanish styled ron. Nowadays there are not more than around 15 left in my cabinet. The ones that still stand out are especially two brands from Panama, Zafra and Malecon. Can maybe depend on that “Don Pancho” has been involved in both. So Zafra 21 is still one of my favourites to a reasonable price. It’s complex, not extremely sweet, smooth, has rich flavours and a very nice afterburn. If it wasn’t for the Zafra 30 I should have given it a 10, but now I stop with a 9 till I have tasted my Zafra 30.
Pictures: My Panama shelf & My two Zafra’s.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

A touch sweet for being such an “aged” rum but still delicious. Vanilla, oak, straw. It’s hard to believe this is actually a 21 year rum with the price point being so low (around $55 usd).

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Incredibly drinkable. Not usually fan of rums from bourbon casks, but this one is exception.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Ok .. .

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by cK from Canada with 64 ratings

I would have given an 8.5 if I could. Very close to a 9 for me. Easy sipping rum, smooth enough for the price and not too sweet. A good rum to add to your collection.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Was gifted this one and it's truly a treasure. I have several guests who deem this their favorite in my collection. Well-balanced, smooth, great as a mixer but that may be wasting it's potential. Enjoy it immensely with a cigar. For some reason we always want cigars when we drink this rum! It works well for those longer sessions with it's balance and smoothness.

Thanks Robin!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

Distilled: Column-Still
First impression: typical panama rum, very balanced. There are some peppery notes with white fruits and of course a lot of vanilla.
With Panama rums I have always a taste of paper and pepper in my mouth. Same here but very balanced. If you a new to Panama rums and you wanna understand them without getting shocked, this is the perfect one.
First you get a lot of vanilla with citrus notes, vanilla is typical flavour from the bourbon casks. Then you get some white fruits (they are not intensive) and after that Panama is greeting you with the typical aromas of paper and some pepper.
It's an easy sipper from Panama, but I need more of the typical Panama character and more intensity.

Smell: vanilla, caramel, white fruit (prune, melon), fermented citrus fruits, cinnemon, pepper.
Taste: vanilla, paper, some cereals (sesame), burned suggar, some white fruits
Finish: spice, sweet vanilla, oak with tanins, again dry paper

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Intensity: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (58€): 3/5

Btw. this rum has nothing to do with El Dorado 21 like I read in another review, the flavors are completely different.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by chriscathcart from Canada with 14 ratings

Tastes likeva Demerara rum to me
Is smooth and has flavor

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 146 ratings

Veľmi pekne vyvážený skôr suchý rum, zreje po bourbone. Podľa môjho názoru trošku preceňovany vzhľadom na vyššiu cenu. Každopádne každý kto ma rád suchšie rumy si pochutna

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 90 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Frutas, especias, barrica y mucha barrica. Bien hecho como Ron y bien añejado en Bourbon.