Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ron Fuerte from United States with 4 ratings

I liked sipping on this one. A great combo of sweetness and barrel flavor. Not bad at all if you can find it for $40.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Good stuff, a little fire on the front side when drinking it neat, tobacco, leather and dried fruits, lots of esters, tossed in a couple rocks and it mellowed nicely. Good high end rum well worth drinking.

Posted about 4 years ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 27 ratings

One of the better choice, taste good but my I like sweet types.

Posted about 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce rhum est tres bon il m a rappele un zacapa 23 , mais avec un subtil gout herbace sur la fin.le caramel et la vanille dominent en bouche avec une tres legere note cafe a la fin .un rhum de qualite a recommande aux connaisseurs.mais il ne franchit pas 9 car il n entre pas dans la categorie exceptionnel comme opthimus 25 et 21 et quorhum 30.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Great sipper, smooth. This was good transition run from bourbon, given the oakiness.

Posted about 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

In a market now dominated by high-art bottle shapes (and, hey, I'm a fan), don't let Zafra's simple bottle distract you. It's what's inside that counts, right? And there's a lot here for those rum drinkers whose taste bends toward whiskey.

At 21 years, this is the longest-aged rum I've tried (Ron Zacapa's 23 Year Solera a horse of a different color). As my palette matures, though, I'm starting to see this less as a numbers game and far more as the art of balance. Perhaps this rum will tip too far in the barrel-flavor direction for some people. Sadly, beyond its age, there's not much technical information out there on this rum, so we're left to sort that out on our own. I'm going to guess this rum sees significant bourbon-barrel aging - that soft/round bourbon character and long oak, with the attendant spiciness, is ever present. To me, the typical rum flavors diminish in this expression, though that's possibly a good thing these days with sweeter and sweeter rums dominating. Certainly, if you're coming from a whiskey background - especially you quality bourbon lovers - this profile is going to be a home run.

Overall, I'm giving this a high mark for thoughtfulness, and I recommend it to those looking for more barrel flavor and less abject sweetness. I suggest you look carefully for a bottle, though, prices seem to vary dramatically.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jacob from United States with 10 ratings

Never head of this rum until a guy at the Specs store showed me. He stated that this rum was great so I looked it up on here. I noticed the high rating and bought it. I loved the rum more then I liked diplomatico.

Finished the bottle yesterday :(

Posted about 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Dieser Rum gehört zu meinen absoluten favoriten, ganz tolle Vanille- und Karamellnoten. Kein vordergründig süsser Rum, aber trotzdem ein sehr weicher und milder Rum. Schmeck auch noch nach Holz, Eiche und Rosinen, perfekt ausbalancierter Geschmack.

Posted over 4 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

Presentation is very nice. The aroma is higly appealing with very natural notes. The tastes are very real and strong. Nice buttery notes with excelent finished.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

Very nice bottle of rum for the price. Really smooth and easy on the palate enjoyed this one a lot just happen to see it at a grocery store and pick it up. Highly recommended. One of the best Rum of Panama.

Posted over 4 years ago by brunolela from Italy with 2 ratings

Un rum particolare che Sara farsi ricordare, dolce ma non troppo con un finale leggermente speziato. Consigliatissimo

Posted over 4 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I am still looking for my second 10. This is very good, and the price is very reasonable for such a fine rum. I can nearly get a 9 out of this, but a little too much burn for me. The finish is very tasty though. You can't go wrong with this choice. Worth a try and worth every cent.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ronny Björk from Sweden with 13 ratings

Bottle An ordinary bottle
In the glass. A golden brown color that shimmers a bit of red. Smells of oak and spices but also brown sugar.
In the mouth Oak and pepper spices are the first to meet me. After a second the flavors of berries is produced . Complex!
Aftertaste Spices grabs in the aftertaste but when they have put themselves to bring up a little fruitiness up . A long aftertaste
Summary If you want a rum that is not sweet so is Zafra an excellent choice. I would imagine that it is ideal for medium strength cigar.

Posted over 4 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color: Light,copper color
Nose: Strong alcohol, raisins
Body: Whiskey like, oak, with rum ingredients - caramel
Tail: Smooth, medium-lasting
Bottle: Under average

I would recommend this one for someone who is a whiskey fan and want to try some rum. For me this is little bit similar to Pusser's 15yo, whiskey/rum cross.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

This is a great rum, especially for its price point. I paid $60 for a bottle and am hard pressed to find anything close to it at that price. But let's ignore that for a minute. Zafra has a great nose with many of the intense rum notes you would expect in spades, caramel, molasses, vanilla, plantain. Wonderful color and smoothness. Be careful, it's easy to go through a bottle in no time.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I love the aroma of this rum and the flavor is quite unique. It seems almost buttery in nature. This has many excellent flavors to it. I will probably have to come back to amend my review. This is definitely a sipping rum. Albeit rated at 80 proof there is no burn to this rum...just a gentle embracing warmth that fades into a delightful aftertaste. Some sweetness to it...almost a kettlecorn flavor. Definitely recommended.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

A wonderfully concise and smooth flavor make it a joy to sip from time to time, but the oak occasionally drowns out all else in this one keeping me from going back more often. A great value for the experience though.

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

And boy am I happy I did. Even though I have a little cold I can tell there is a lot of complexity to the rum that I will be able to fully enjoy once the cold has cleared up. Really opens up with a little breathing time.

Posted over 4 years ago by winston from United States with 3 ratings

Very different taste than what I usually have, but definitely not complaining! Very smooth rum. Great quality for the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Great and dark color! Dark but easy to drink. One of my favourite rum,top 5 compared to price

Posted over 4 years ago by Joshua from United States with 2 ratings

I'm still very new to the rum world but this is hands down the most complex, and smooth rums I have ever had. this rum will be hard to share. Goes very well with a good cigar.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

This rum is as good as its billing. It is so smooth, the long barrel aging really comes up big. If you are starting an aged rum selection for your bar, this should be one of the staples to always have.

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

C'est un rhum de caractère, équilibré, boisé, fruits mûres, cuir et rien de tel qu'un sympathique cigare pour un pur moment de plaisir.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

We have never found the way to each other - its good smelling and tasting but there is something what bothers me. But try it for sure, its not a bad choice.