Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (248 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
32
83
102
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


248 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Was gifted this one and it's truly a treasure. I have several guests who deem this their favorite in my collection. Well-balanced, smooth, great as a mixer but that may be wasting it's potential. Enjoy it immensely with a cigar. For some reason we always want cigars when we drink this rum! It works well for those longer sessions with it's balance and smoothness.

Thanks Robin!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

Distilled: Column-Still
First impression: typical panama rum, very balanced. There are some peppery notes with white fruits and of course a lot of vanilla.
With Panama rums I have always a taste of paper and pepper in my mouth. Same here but very balanced. If you a new to Panama rums and you wanna understand them without getting shocked, this is the perfect one.
First you get a lot of vanilla with citrus notes, vanilla is typical flavour from the bourbon casks. Then you get some white fruits (they are not intensive) and after that Panama is greeting you with the typical aromas of paper and some pepper.
It's an easy sipper from Panama, but I need more of the typical Panama character and more intensity.

Smell: vanilla, caramel, white fruit (prune, melon), fermented citrus fruits, cinnemon, pepper.
Taste: vanilla, paper, some cereals (sesame), burned suggar, some white fruits
Finish: spice, sweet vanilla, oak with tanins, again dry paper

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Intensity: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (58€): 3/5

Btw. this rum has nothing to do with El Dorado 21 like I read in another review, the flavors are completely different.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by chriscathcart from Canada with 14 ratings

Tastes likeva Demerara rum to me
Is smooth and has flavor

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 130 ratings

Veľmi pekne vyvážený skôr suchý rum, zreje po bourbone. Podľa môjho názoru trošku preceňovany vzhľadom na vyššiu cenu. Každopádne každý kto ma rád suchšie rumy si pochutna

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 11 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 82 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Frutas, especias, barrica y mucha barrica. Bien hecho como Ron y bien añejado en Bourbon.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

Scored this on a whim. Ignoring the fact that the extra tall bottle had a hard time fitting in my bar.. my solution was to leave on the bar top.. THUS... it went rather quickly. Delicious. Smooth. Enjoyed Neat on a cold evening. Will enjoy again soon.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Haz from Denmark with 21 ratings

Zafra 21 is my fourth rum and my new favorite. The nose is very similar to El Dorado 15 but the taste is much milder it really does not burn the throat. Absolutely recommend this charm :-)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

For my 56th review i decided to open this bottle of Zafra 21 I bought a few months ago, what a great rum, i feel like I can kill a bottle of this in one night.. so smooth and flavorful, similar to Brugal Leyenda but way better, fire rums coming out of Panama, Abuelo and now Zafra! My number one so far!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Virkelig god rom. Overvejede et 10-tal. (Opdateret: den får 10 nu) Interessant Duft af karamel og egetræ, som man også får i smagen. Den er ikke sød, men heller ikke tør. Varierende smagsnoter som gør man vil have mere, og smagende bliver hængende. En rom som sagtens kan konkurrere med rom til 700-1000 dkr.
Kan muligvis godt få et 10-tal ved ny smagning, (og det fik den så)