Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (251 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
32
85
103
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

251 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted almost 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

An everyday to go to priceworthy and always pleasant rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Fausto from United States with 5 ratings

The life of "Covid Isolationism" has brought me to the WORLD of RUM. I had this rum delivered and it did not disappoint. Zafra 21 presents to the nose at first pour with wafts of complexity married with a rising wave of alcohol dryness. As it mellows in the glass so does the alcohol vapors strength. Now we have carmel, vanilla and sandlewood. The bourbon casks are also present. In the mouth it starts with a sold hit of its proof and imparts so many subtle tastes like a symphony.This rum is not overly sweet. It finishes with a slight burn and cherry, carmel and other notes keep on coming. The color of the rum is a light golden auburn. When swirled in the glass it presents such beautiful legs. VERY SEX-Z-(afra). I'm not alone anymore.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by shammerle from United States with 14 ratings

I have been trying to hit different styles on my journey and this was my first step towards more dry, less sugary rum. I thought it would harsher, but it was really nice. I enjoy woody flavors and you can definitely taste the bourbon cask. I much prefer it neat, as I picked up more layers in the flavor. It seemed better after letting it sit and open up for about 5 - 10 minutes in the glass. With ice it become one dimensional with a much stronger,, more bitter woody flavor.

It’s a little harsh in the nose immediately after the pour, but is enjoyable after about 5 minutes.

Interestingly, once the filtered water ice cube melted, I found a lot more depth in it. Maybe it’s my palate, but it’s the first rum that felt that way. I really picked up a lot more with the filtered water in it, but at room temp. Probably the way I’ll drink the rest of the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jeff Sutker from United States with 5 ratings

Since I drink bourbon half the time, I was interested to try this rum. Notes from the bourbon on the nose, and I think the vanilla notes come from barrel also. Goes well with the fruitiness of the rum. Smooth and sweet. great to sip neat. When (if) I find my second bottle, I'd like to try it in a rum Old Fashioned or a rum Manhattan.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

This rum is good, it’s smooth, sweet, slightly mellow, ok aftertaste but doesn’t work for me maybe I’m blinded by my Foursquare rums. Just lacking something to cary it to the next level.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It was just what you would expect from a 21 year rum. It had obvious hints of oak and caramel quite similar to other 20 year rums. I had it in Rumba in Seattle.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

This rum is halfway between Spanish and Jamaican style. Maybe common points with an El Dorado and a Quorhum.
Very pleasant complexity all in all.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

V celku obyčejná láhev, ale k dnešnímu dni nejlepší obsah jaký jsem zatím pil a za tu cenu není vůbec o čem mluvit.

Vůně: vyvážená, příjemná
Chuť: jemná, vyvážená, lehce sladší
Opětovná koupě: určitě ano
Cena: okolo 1400,- Kč

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I'm really surprised this isn't much more popular as I don't see if around often. I had to order my bottle from California if I recall. I must say a very proper bottle and well worth its cost.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Very impressive Panamanian rum. Smooth to a fault. Very easy to drink. A great sipper. I liked this neat better than on ice. Balance is inspiring. Great bourbon nose. Thoroughly enjoyable. My only wish is that the finish was a bit longer. A rum this good cant last too long.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

A touch sweet for being such an “aged” rum but still delicious. Vanilla, oak, straw. It’s hard to believe this is actually a 21 year rum with the price point being so low (around $55 usd).