Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gungun from Sweden with 33 ratings

Nästan ingen sötma alls! Spritig eftersmak! Den passar inte mina smaklökar alls:-/!

Posted about 3 years ago by Anders Skjødt Hansen from Denmark with 65 ratings

Dejlig sod og kompleks rom. Synes den minder lidt om El Dorado 15. Derfor er dette ikke en jeg vil erhverve mig p.t da jeg har rigeligt inden søde ende.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

So good. A hearty, balanced, not cloyingly sweet for being aged bourbon barrel. Delicious in an old fashioned. The Master of Panamanian rum

Posted about 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Had it in a bar where everythung was 7,95-9,95. For that money its worth of it. Relativey nice balanced Rum, not too sweet.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

For the price, I expected a bit better. A little oaky aftertaste, light on the molasses. Have it listed as a 5.5 on my scale, but can't get a half bottle here.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Was. Given this as a promotion gift and it was amazing. Every glass. Was a treat and I would definitely buy one myself.

Posted over 3 years ago by Javier Roquebert from United States with 10 ratings

Where I live in Houston, there's a shortage of great rums. With the exception of Zacapa's offerings, this is the best rum you will find. Very smooth and delicious with a cube or two of ice. Nothing comes close for the price (around $42 where I live.)

Posted over 3 years ago by David Meyers from United States with 14 ratings

Received my first bottle of this as a birthday present. Went well with the cigars

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonas from Germany with 12 ratings

A very very good rum, almost as good as the Quorhum 30 (I love that one the most). Very harmonic and smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

This is a sweet but also elegant rum. Your first try will make you want more due to its smoothness, however, after your second, you will probably feel the strong molasses.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

Not bad, but has to breathe. I will have to taste it later and rate then.

Posted over 3 years ago by Richard from Slovakia with 17 ratings

A strong flavor, but somehow it didn't hit me right. I guess it's good, but I can't really recommend this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

The aroma that came from the bottle upon opening...wow! A touch on the sweet side but awesome: leather, slight wood smell and somewhere between dried plums & dried apricots (but I can't put my finger on it).
The viscosity of the liquid seems a little thicker than the average drink. Making it roll off your tongue in a smoother fashion.
As for the taste, spot on.
Is it a 9.... not for me but would definitely give it an 8.5

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

Well, I opened my bottle of Zafra and I can say that it is unique and enjoyable. The flavor is complex, and to me, it has an earthy and grassy flavor to it. The flavor remains consistent throughout the drink. Now I have to disclose some news that will hurt some folks feelings. I mix the rum with either Diet Dr. Pepper or Diet Coke, depending on which flavor I am looking for. I like starting one drink with Zafra to get that grassy flavor and then I have my second drink made with Clement 6 to give me that earthy - dirty flavor. I like them both and recommend them to your collection. Zafra is good for every 1 out of 6 or 7 drinks to prevent getting tired of it and appreciating it when you do want something GREAT, yet uniquely different. Cheers,

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

God sød rom, som ikke kommer i top, men et køb værd

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Tasted. Nice rum. I can see why most of people like it. Rich wide taste, sweet mollase with distinctive nutty (wallnut, hazelnut) taste afterward. Sweet mollase vanilla smell. Very, very nice sipper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

Well, i bought only 1 bottle, didn't taste bad, but for that price I could buy a better one.

Posted over 3 years ago by James Dylan from United States with 8 ratings

I bought a bottle when I was in Dubai airport a few years ago, and I remember I loved it. I can't get too in-depth here, as I can't remember everything, but I know it was smooth, really great rum. I was recently going through a bunch of old photos, and came across one I took of the bottle, which was a reminder to myself to be sure and buy it again, ha ha. I'm in Hawaii now, haven't seen it here, but I'm looking for it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It has been difficult to find in Sweden, finally found it in Denmark. Smells simular to other quality rums. The taste is round bot not that sweet as I expected 5-6 in scale of 1-10. It becomes more complex wirh longer aftertaste after around 15-20 minutes in glass. The bottle mentoned by others is beutyful👍🏻🙏🏻

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

White oak after bourbon was a great choice. Very distinguished nose and mouth. This one doesnt bore you for a while

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Vraiment un rhum smooth, si vous aimé le Santa Theresa 1796, vous allez adorer ce rhum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Matt Thomas from United States with 11 ratings

Not bad. Not bad at all. Flavors of molasses at the front with a smooth finish. GAI.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Poutavá barva mědi, ve vůni dub, exotické ovoce/koření, tabák. Bylo mi ctí :-)

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Very good rum, the group of friends enjoyed this bottle.