Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10(262 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
6
33
88
108
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

262 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by RumBa (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

A good sipping rum for the price $50.
Not as smooth as it’s 30 yo brother but it’s much better deal price wise.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 408 ratings

Aroma is nice with wood and raisin. Taste is well ballanced - warm, bit sweet, complex with wood, raisin, forest fruit and honey. Aftertaste is pleasant, mainly wood and molasse. In direct comparison with Zafra 30y is a bit less smooth and complex, but for less than half price of 30y it's perfect value.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by SBQ from Puerto Rico with 10 ratings

A perfect selection to sip after a well deserved dinner. Sweetness from raisin and vanilla notes but also some ginger traces. Nice product after a 21 yrs effort!

Small img 20210206 154938 5219080434316553790

Posted 19 days ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 17 ratings

Smoth rum, very tasty, not too sweet not to dry.The bottle is simple but elegant, really strong and interresing smell, i will buy the 30 years next

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Francois from France with 104 ratings

I thought it would be even sweeter so that was a relief but problem I thought it would have some more flavor, very flat..

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Hector from United States with 38 ratings

This is what a great aged run should taste like; beautiful on the nose, subtle well balanced yet intense in flavor without being overly sweet. A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum. My go to for special occasions. This gets a 9.1

Small 20210227 173716

Posted 1 month ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 81 ratings

The Zafra Master Reserva 21 is a molasse rum from Panama which was supposedly stored in bourbon barrels for 21 years. The rum is produced in Column Still gets bottled with just 40% alcohol. The beautiful mahogany-coloured dark rum comes in a rather uninspired bottle, which looks rather boring and not high quality. Sugar is added. About 15g/l.

The rum is appealing in the nose and has beautiful oak and wood notes. Caramel and vanilla are there and also dried fruits such as raisins. On the palate, the rum is a good mixture of dry and sweet, fruit and seasoning. Caramel and fruit are captured by oak and vanilla. All very appealing. The finish is only medium long and is accompanied by wood, some nutmeg and barrel notes. For me the rum was a little too thin and watery. Also, the sharpness was not well integrated, even if it was not intrusive or intense.

Overall I find the rum delicious and successful, but it definitely lacks the kick. That certain extra. The body could be more full-bodied, which would certainly emphasize the existing complexity. For me, the rum is too diluted and 43% or 45% would make it so much better. What a pity. Is now my Daily Sipper.

Der Zafra Master Reserva 21 ist ein Melasse Rum aus Panama welcher angeblich echte 21 Jahre in Bourbon Fässern gelagert wurde. Der im Column Still Verfahren hergestellte Rum wird mit mageren 40% Alkohol abgefüllt. Der schöne Mahagoni farbende dunkle Rum kommt in einer eher uninspirierten Flasche , welche eher langweilig und nicht hochwertig wirkt. Es wird Zucker hinzugefügt. Ca. 15g/l.

Der Rum ist in der Nase ansprechend und hat schöne Eichen und Holznoten. Karamel und Vanille sind da und auch getrocknete Früchte wie z.b. Rosinen. Am Gaumen ist der Rum eine gute Mischung aus Trocken und Süß, Frucht und Würze. Karamel und Frucht werden von Eichenholz und Vanille eingefangen. Alles sehr ansprechend. Der Abgang ist nur mittellang und wird durch Holz, etwas Muskat und Fassnoten begleitet. Ich habe den Rum bein Trinken als etwas zu dünn und wässrig empfunden. Die Schärfe war wenig eingebunden auch wenn sie nicht aufdringlich oder intensiv war.

Insgesamt finde ich den Rum lecker und gelungen, es fehlt aber definitiv der Kick. Das gewisse Extra. Der Körper könnte vollmundiger sein, was die vorhandenen Komplexität sicherlich noch hervorheben würde. Für mich ist der Rum zu stark verdünnt und 43% oder 45% würden ihm gut tun. Schade. Ist jetzt mein Daily Sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by andreas11 from Slovakia with 10 ratings

Toto je skutocna perla. Dokonale vyvazeny, extremne jemny rum, s prijemnou pestrou aromou,
kde kazdy si najde svoje. Dokonalost pre chutove pohariky, nic lepsie rumove som zatial nepil.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Thorsgaard from Denmark with 7 ratings

Dejlig balanceret rom.
Helt klart en rom som altid skal være i mit barskab.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by nejmil from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Uzasne jemná až sametová chuť. Neutrální, žádná výrazná příchuť, jen lehounce sladký bez lihového závěru. Podle mě rum, který zavděčí širokému spektru publika, je to elegán.