Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rico from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

A dry finish with a light burn. Great sipping rum without the sweet heavy taste of a demerara rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by sandman_01 from United States with 9 ratings

This rum is in my top three behind Kirk & Sweeney 23 and El Dorado 21. Caramel and toasted nuts drive this smooth drinker and it doesn't disappoint. Finishes clean without being overly sugary. A pleasure to enjoy.

Posted over 2 years ago by Banjo from Italy with 1 rating

Excellent. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted over 2 years ago by Nicholas from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Was expecting a little more and already with the bottle was under whelmed. Price Tag is beyond it’s appeal.

Posted over 2 years ago by TomShu from Switzerland with 3 ratings

Wunderbar, nicht süss, sehr ausgewogen und rund.
Sehr gut

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

This is some of the best rum I have had. It is complex with a smooth finish. My only critism is the vanilla flavor comes through more than the others an hurts its balance. It reminds me of a better Zaya or a Zacapa with the vanilla turned up.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Zafra 21 year has very good flavors, but it is very dry, has a harsh burn and does not have the most pleasant afterburn. If you like dry rums, then you will like this one, and especially all the single malt whisky drinkers, you will love Zafra 21 year.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kevin from United States with 5 ratings

Great smokey flavor and a nice, sweet slow burn. Just sweet enough to sip, yet able to mix as well.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Milan Barancik from Slovakia with 6 ratings

My new favorite drink
Smooth as a hot summer night
Try to drink a little bit warmer and you will find new emotions

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Not too sweet and not too dry, a wonderful presentation of a ideal sipper with a moderate price point of around $50. Just another fine rum in master blender, Don Pancho Fernandez' repertoire. Nicely aged in bourbon casks for at least 21 years, Zafra provides rum aficionados with a premier sipper reflective of Panamanian charm.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Aaron from United States with 6 ratings

Fantastic rum with a complex flavor and smooth aftertaste. Great for sipping and inexpensive to boot.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Not as sweet as expected, but it does not matter - it's also not sharp.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michel from Belgium with 79 ratings

Un rhum que je ne connaissais pas du tout mais qui fût une agréable découverte! Il est vraiment bien abouti et très agréable à déguster!

Posted almost 3 years ago by S from Belgium with 3 ratings

Amazing taste! Smooth sweet and a powerfull after taste.
One of the rums you must have.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Wrongrider from United States with 18 ratings

A very enjoyable rum. A nice flavor with a beautiful color. Its a simple yet elegant bottle. It pleased the crowd of IPA drinkers I was with.

Posted about 3 years ago by Waly Vega from United States with 15 ratings

Good for the soul!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted about 3 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

I really liked this one, full body, loads of taste, to rate it higher I need it to be a bit sweet in the end, and maybe it has spent a bit to long in the barrel - as this taste is really pronounced = a bit to much.

Posted about 3 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

En meget afbalanceret og rund rom. På ingen måde for sød, men heller ikke for 'sprittet'.

Den smager bedre nu mere man drikker af den.

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

Always drink it neat. Pairs well w/lobster or fries.

Posted about 3 years ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Dejlig rom med lidt anderledes og skarpere smag end de noget sødere rom jeg er vant til. Har godt af at stå i glasset et kvarters tid oplevede jeg.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

I've been working on a rum collection for a bit. There have been some high and lows in the quality of the adventures, but this one is easily one of the best I've had yet.
Smooth, not overly viscous, layered and deep flavors. The bourbon aging brings a darker edge to the palate but it is not unwelcome nor does it overly dominate.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I enjoyed the oak in the nose and in the mouth. I found a surprising cinnamon mouth feel that really impressed me.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Lovely dark amber in the glass with aromas of dark fruit and caramel sweetness. Sweet but not sickly and balanced nicely with the oaky dryness. Very nice.

Posted about 3 years ago by WJanyk from Canada with 5 ratings

This is a fabulous rum amazing taste and finish not too heavy love the wood tones and moderate spice, bought this in St Thomas on a cruise last week, it will go well with my collection. Have a bottle of Centenario 25 from Costa Rica and Angostura 1824 all are fabulous.