Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10(262 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
6
33
88
108
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

262 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The nose is fragrant with some spice. When you swallow you definitely get a clear bourbon taste that only lasts for two seconds. The finish is long and very nice with flavors of vanilla and toffee. This would have probably been a perfect sipping rum if it weren't for the bourbon. On the other hand, this is maybe perfect for bourbon drinkers new to rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Was recommended to me by a friend. Very good and found it a tad nicer than Diplomatica Reserva Exclusiva. Has a little sweetness, but nice flavor and burn.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

After a glowing review here, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. Quite smooth and somewhat complex, however I noticed a heavier burn on the aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Another one off the wish list; a shout out to wifey for grabbing me two bottles in South Beach.
This was on my list for years and I'll admit I had lofty expectations.

It reminds me of a cross between angostura 1824 and matusalem 15. Now I do like both of those but I guess I was expecting something different.

If I wanted to impress a buddy with an amazing 21 year old rum I would probably turn to appletons or el dorado before this one.
Still; this one is not without its charm.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

I like the bottle. It has presence on the bar. What's inside tastes dry and smokey or woody. Not sweet. Not bad. Abuelo 12 is sweeter and also Panamanian

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Smooth and delicate with a tiny burn and some sweetness. Probably solera. A good amount of bourbon flavor.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 15 gpl. This is a very smooth rum with tons of flavor. It's not overly sweet, has a nice burn and a great after taste. Bananas and caramel mixed with some Oak and smoke. At $50 per bottle it is a bargain. I put it in the same class as the Zacapa XO. Buy 2 bottles if you find it.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

Per the reviews on this site, I picked up a bottle for about 45 bucks. The initial feeling is smooth followed by a full tongue burn that nicely lingers after you are done with your sip. Nice mellow and balanced flavors. You can taste the bourbon notes. The first sip is really wonderful. A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Bababooha from United States with 1 rating

Been a rum drinker for over 20 years, with Captain Morgan being my basic staple rum and would mix with cola. Lately I've been branching out and tasting various rums, El Dorado 12 year, Zaya, Appleton, etc. In hopes of finding that elusive rum that I can drink straight with no coke or mixer. Well i finally found that elusive rum! Zafra Master Reserve 21!

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 92 ratings

super blød rum. et glas der smager af mere. kan anbefales,