Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


229 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

75baef26efdf2cea03021612e4e4cd11.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 47 ratings

A touch sweet for being such an “aged” rum but still delicious. Vanilla, oak, straw. It’s hard to believe this is actually a 21 year rum with the price point being so low (around $55 usd).

9924f88b00eb14d3783e76e30aff5556.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Incredibly drinkable. Not usually fan of rums from bourbon casks, but this one is exception.

15aa70c944d2c9469e99a18b7214e3e3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Ok .. .

963c64b8333160ccc559949b01490841.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

I would have given an 8.5 if I could. Very close to a 9 for me. Easy sipping rum, smooth enough for the price and not too sweet. A good rum to add to your collection.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Seems to be a pure rum but it doesnt really jump out at me as something I want to drink. I've had an open bottle for almost 2 years. I enjoy it when I have it, just not something I seek out.

00d60d1fb1c0ffd7e58ac7dd5d92e56a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Was gifted this one and it's truly a treasure. I have several guests who deem this their favorite in my collection. Well-balanced, smooth, great as a mixer but that may be wasting it's potential. Enjoy it immensely with a cigar. For some reason we always want cigars when we drink this rum! It works well for those longer sessions with it's balance and smoothness.

Thanks Robin!

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 154 ratings

First impression: typical vanilla/panama rum. With an impression of agricole.
I don't like agricole flavours. It's not bad overall, but I expected more, especially for 21 years.

Smell: vanilla, caramel, tropical fruit, fermented citrus fruits (agricole), cinnemon.
Taste: cereals (sesame), caramel, burned suggar/spice, sweet vanilla, agricole

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

91541ef4282d7edb60972c2b5ce4d920.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

Tastes likeva Demerara rum to me
Is smooth and has flavor

32e3e5b67602d975f912e71d71fe0053.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Light color, good aroma but taste wise, it’s a bit harsh for my palette. There are so many better ones than this. The 30 year was recommended but I couldn’t find it locally so I bought the 21 year old.
Was very disappointed for a 21 year old, found much better runs in some 12 year olds.

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Veľmi pekne vyvážený skôr suchý rum, zreje po bourbone. Podľa môjho názoru trošku preceňovany vzhľadom na vyššiu cenu. Každopádne každý kto ma rád suchšie rumy si pochutna