Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (248 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
32
83
102
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


248 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

An everyday to go to priceworthy and always pleasant rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nora from United States with 10 ratings

Very smooth, perfectly balanced. Very reminiscent of a good scotch. Would not have bought it due to the price but it just so happened to have been on sale. It is aged in ex-bourbon barrels. It is not as sweet as other rums with is something I greatly enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

I sampled this at the same time of the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, and although the Plantation won the rum battle, this is still an excellent rum! Zafra, like most Panama rums, focuses on the smooth velvety finish, versus have a strong flavor. After all, it's distilled by the master himself, Don Pancho! If you are huge Ron Zacapa fan, this is very similar in flavor and finish. If you are fan of Don Pancho 8 year, this will lack some wood flavor substance.

Rich toffee, exotic fruit and spice. Very minimal oak flavor and smooth finish. I would buy this for someone who is looking to get into rum sipping.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by declan walker from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Every time I pour a glass I feel amazing. Looks very professional and tastes the same. Good value too. Very complex flavour, beautiful stuff.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 74 ratings

This is the perfect rum for those bourbon and/or scotch drinkers who don't want to be bombarded with the overt sweetness and sugar of some rums such as Diplomatico Reserva and Zaya. Don't get me wrong, it still has a lot sweetness but it's muted by the bourbon barrel aging and goes down very easily. I'm really enjoying this at the moment as my nightly sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The nose is fragrant with some spice. When you swallow you definitely get a clear bourbon taste that only lasts for two seconds. The finish is long and very nice with flavors of vanilla and toffee. This would have probably been a perfect sipping rum if it weren't for the bourbon. On the other hand, this is maybe perfect for bourbon drinkers new to rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Was recommended to me by a friend. Very good and found it a tad nicer than Diplomatica Reserva Exclusiva. Has a little sweetness, but nice flavor and burn.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

After a glowing review here, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. Quite smooth and somewhat complex, however I noticed a heavier burn on the aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Another one off the wish list; a shout out to wifey for grabbing me two bottles in South Beach.
This was on my list for years and I'll admit I had lofty expectations.

It reminds me of a cross between angostura 1824 and matusalem 15. Now I do like both of those but I guess I was expecting something different.

If I wanted to impress a buddy with an amazing 21 year old rum I would probably turn to appletons or el dorado before this one.
Still; this one is not without its charm.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

I like the bottle. It has presence on the bar. What's inside tastes dry and smokey or woody. Not sweet. Not bad. Abuelo 12 is sweeter and also Panamanian

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Smooth and delicate with a tiny burn and some sweetness. Probably solera. A good amount of bourbon flavor.