Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (254 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
33
86
103
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

254 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

I know many people who enjoy this rum and see the reviews of same. I found this raisiny and a bit hot. For a sipper I’d never sip. If you like old mono, dos Madeira’s etc you’ll enjoy this. Similar flavor profile.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by fedebelga from Belgium with 8 ratings

Now this is some very balanced premium rum, a 21 yo Panamanian master reserve. The nose: sweet, molasse (brown sugar).
The flavour reminds me a somehow of the Diplomatico reserva exclusiva, yet a bit less sweeter and more complex in taste. The finish is not so strong, a gentle light burn.
All in all, a very good rum!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 210 ratings

Has been on my wishlist for a long time so was pleased to receive it for Xmas. As its 21 yrs old i poured a double dose into my Glencairn glass and left it for 25 mins on the bench.
On the nose i get caramel , molasses and wood , lots of wood.
This is a smooth , dry sipper that seems very well constructed. Tastes smokey with some leather , oak and plenty of Bourbon flavour which im not a great fan of..
Nice gentle burn in the mouth but no real burn in the throat.
There is some sweetness as well but this is definitely a bourbon /whisky lovers dream introduction into the world of aged rums..I enjoyed it more with an ice cube , overall a good alternative to overly sweetened rums
8.5

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

I get some molasses on the nose mixed with a hint of bananna. Not a strong or overpowering aroma - it is kind of subtle, very pleasant.

Initial hit brings out the lingering flavor of the bourbon, blends into oak flavors. Other reviews comment on strong oak notes - I dont get that. It is there, but not overpowering. It transitions into a sweet back end of molases before tailing off. Finish is a bit weak, i wish it had more.

Overall a great drink. Smooth, nothing that is overpowering, complex enough to be really enjoyable, simple enough to drink neat pr over some ice. Definitely will keep a bottle in my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nora from United States with 10 ratings

Very smooth, perfectly balanced. Very reminiscent of a good scotch. Would not have bought it due to the price but it just so happened to have been on sale. It is aged in ex-bourbon barrels. It is not as sweet as other rums with is something I greatly enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

I sampled this at the same time of the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, and although the Plantation won the rum battle, this is still an excellent rum! Zafra, like most Panama rums, focuses on the smooth velvety finish, versus have a strong flavor. After all, it's distilled by the master himself, Don Pancho! If you are huge Ron Zacapa fan, this is very similar in flavor and finish. If you are fan of Don Pancho 8 year, this will lack some wood flavor substance.

Rich toffee, exotic fruit and spice. Very minimal oak flavor and smooth finish. I would buy this for someone who is looking to get into rum sipping.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by declan walker from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Every time I pour a glass I feel amazing. Looks very professional and tastes the same. Good value too. Very complex flavour, beautiful stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

This is the perfect rum for those bourbon and/or scotch drinkers who don't want to be bombarded with the overt sweetness and sugar of some rums such as Diplomatico Reserva and Zaya. Don't get me wrong, it still has a lot sweetness but it's muted by the bourbon barrel aging and goes down very easily. I'm really enjoying this at the moment as my nightly sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The nose is fragrant with some spice. When you swallow you definitely get a clear bourbon taste that only lasts for two seconds. The finish is long and very nice with flavors of vanilla and toffee. This would have probably been a perfect sipping rum if it weren't for the bourbon. On the other hand, this is maybe perfect for bourbon drinkers new to rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Was recommended to me by a friend. Very good and found it a tad nicer than Diplomatica Reserva Exclusiva. Has a little sweetness, but nice flavor and burn.