Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jimmie from United States with 18 ratings

This rum has exceptional Flavor with Oak on the nose and as the forward tasting note. There is a sweet honey note on the back end and just enough burn to let you know it is there. I have thoroughly enjoyed this one.

Posted about 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 31 ratings

Rhum complexe et envoûtant. Assez doux mais puissant.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ryan Rosebush from United States with 31 ratings

Very enjoyable sipper with slight sweetness. Makes an absolutely killer rum old fashioned as well!

Posted over 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

First time trying this rum. It had deep rich flavor with a mellow finish

Posted over 1 year ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

An everyday to go to priceworthy and always pleasant rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Howard from United States with 9 ratings

I find Zafra 21 to be my favorite sipper. Not too sweet, really nice aftertaste. No burn, no metallic feel to it and a fair enough price. Is it worth almost twice the price as the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva? I'm on the line, but I think I would miss it if I didn't have it.

My favorite out of my 86 different rums, some costing twice as much.

Posted over 1 year ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

True pirate rum! Aged nicely, strong and full of flavor. Sweetish, and aromatic. Hints of wood, vanilla. Stays with you for a while. A bit of danish navy stile.

Found it in Akurat bar, Stockholm, 2019

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Vůně: intenzivní příjemná vůně, mandle
Chuť: štiplavá po nadechnutí velmi jemný, s chutí po ořechách

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

I was disappointed. Average tasting, not good with the first sip but then you can discover the nice taste of nut.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sarias330 from United States with 2 ratings

I love this rum. It's a great sipping rum and has excellent notes of vanilla to it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Eoin sweeney from Ireland with 10 ratings

The taste is incredible and has such complexity and the longest finish I have experienced to date. Molasses and oakey spice smoothness. Yum

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

This is a grown up rum. I don’t get the whiskey references that others do, but I’m no a whiskey guy. However, upon letting it rest I get it. This is a rummy’s Rum though. And a darn good one.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

One of the better sippers that still is afordable. Fancy and classy! Love it!

Posted over 1 year ago by Mikenedham from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Had this is a small rum shop in geneva for first time. Like the oakiness as a sipper - pretty dry in the mouth, good rum for scotch drinkers. An excellent addition to the cabinet for variety over other 18-21 sippers...

Posted over 1 year ago by Ariestra from Spain with 7 ratings

Equilibrado, suave, cálido... todo lo que se puede esperar en un ron. Me sorprendió gratamente al tratase de un ron panameño, pero se ve que por allí están haciendo las cosas bien. Aromas a chocolate y naranja. Muy buen ron

Posted over 1 year ago by xzayvier07 from United States with 2 ratings

This the rum that changed my perspective on drinking rum. After Zafra I realized I knew nothing of the potential of a great rum. Caramel notes with a dark amber color, smooth, great for sipping before or after dinner.

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

god i love this rum. it's got some great bourbon barrel spice, and its a beautiful aged rum. the sweetness is just right. i love it neat or iced. really tremendous.

Posted over 1 year ago by Germaine from United States with 6 ratings

Similar in taste to Zacapa 23 to me. Very good, easy to sip for people that arent into rums.

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Se saborean los años en cada trago. Es ciertamente un manjar y sin dudas el Nr. 1 de Panamá. Dulzura exacta y un balance perfecto de madera y vainilla.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

Due to the many reviews comparing this one to a bourbon, I was very hesitant to try it. Also, ever since finding out that Don Pancho was not the Master Distiller and that his name was only used to promote it, I was really turned off. His name is not even on my bottle, so that is very much telling.

I had planned on driving 40 miles to a well stocked rum bar to try it because I truly did not think that I would like it. However, between the dreaded thought of driving to the outskirts of a bad neighborhood and knowing that one just cannot judge a rum from one ounce at a bar, I picked up my own bottle this morning. Now if that first sip at a bar is terrible, then there is very little chance that the rest of the bottle will taste better.

This is a very dark rum that happens to be semi-dry with 15 gpl of added sugar (thanks to another reviewer for this info). The aroma is almost nothing. My first taste really impressed me, but later sips not so much, hence my rating of 7. I can't pinpoint the taste, but it is definitely not bourbon. If you want a rum that tastes a lot like bourbon, look no further than Porteno Solera 8 from Columbia. This Zafra is not even that close to a bourbon. All I can say is that this Zafra has a rich taste and after taste that is quite complex. I am glad that I bought this bottle, but at $49, my decision to buy another one will have to wait until this one finally gets finished off. It is good to know that it will last for more than 4 months due to it having less than 20 gpl of added sugar.

For those of you who like very strong and complex flavors to sip a few drops at a time neat, this one is for you. As for me, I have to enjoy it on the rocks to mellow things out. Mixing a rum that costs this much would be unthinkable.

Posted over 1 year ago by Marty Machowski from United States with 4 ratings

My first rum ever. Sure to please. Smooth with a great aroma and not too sweet.

Posted over 1 year ago by Scott from Sweden with 11 ratings

Just one of the best rums I have had. Sweet, but not too sweet.
Very smooth. Wish I could afford to always drink this

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Cocoa and wood, a sign of good barrel maturation. Not harsh at all.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Caramel and coffee on the nose. A full mouth feel with a lot of flavor, coffee, oak, caramel, and just a bit of sweetness and a medium finish. Pairs well with a cigar or a good steak.