Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.2/10
281 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
6
37
93
117
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

281 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 201 ratings

For the price, I expected a bit better. A little oaky aftertaste, light on the molasses. Have it listed as a 5.5 on my scale, but can't get a half bottle here.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Light color, good aroma but taste wise, it’s a bit harsh for my palette. There are so many better ones than this. The 30 year was recommended but I couldn’t find it locally so I bought the 21 year old.
Was very disappointed for a 21 year old, found much better runs in some 12 year olds.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 39 ratings

Easily one of my favorites. Very smooth, with balanced caramel, vanilla, and light molasses flavors. I normally am not find of a strong or heavy molasses flavors rum but this one is exactly right. Subtley sweet, but not overpowering at all. Has a slight burn (very slight) but is a delayed warm tingle that brings out focus on the after taste. Not the longest after taste, but long enough to full enjoy the flavors it presents.

For me I sip this one neat, and it goes down sooo easy. Never added ice as for me it was never necessary and I am so happy with it neat I never had the urge to experiment.

It's a little higher than other rums ($45 Miami where I buy it) but no where near the exclusive prices. Yet, I'd take this any day and $45 for this beats any whiskey hands down in this price range.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mujuru from United States with 87 ratings

*December 2020 Update* So this has, without question, become one of my favorite rums of all time. Easy top-3. There is no rum I would rather sip by the fireplace on a cold day. Its flavors are bold and complex yet also harmonic and inviting. It is to my tastes absolutely masterful. Next to Foursquare 2007, this is probably tied for my single favorite rum of all.

Original review:

Given the flavor profiles I was afraid I wasn’t going to like this rum as much as others. Given the rating though I felt like I had to try it...and I am so glad I did. This is an extraordinarily smooth and pleasant rum to be savored slowly. Some say it has a burn to it, but I would say it is more like a fireside warmth. It’s like molasses, oak, maple syrup, and fine tobacco next to a crackling fire. It leaves a marvelous after-essence of hickory nut. This is absolutely becoming a mainstay in my cabinet. I am impressed.

2 weeks after popping the cork on this bottle I still can’t get it’s beautifully complex mix of flavors out of my head. That being the case I think I have to bump this up to a full 10. This rum is a master piece to be savored slowly on every sip.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 8
Price: 9

Total: 9.5

Ffffff

Posted at 2to2 bar almost 2 years ago by Carterofshadows from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

I love it full of taste with too many diferent tastet's in diferent moods

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Haggmeister from Sweden with 24 ratings

Had higher expectations, simple and smooth rhum, with no clear character

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 48 ratings

Absolute perfection. It has the right balance of sweet and burn. I could just smell it for hours. I had a pour of it in the BVIs and having a hard time finding it. Not sure what a bottle cost but it’s worth it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

To be honest, Panamian rum was not so much my preference, such as Abuelo 12 year and Malecon 12 year. Too strong dry plune or raisin like flover for me.
However, I saw this rum rating and I got this Panamian rum Zafra 21 year.
This has rich and deeply taste of butter caramel, chocolate, sweet tart and cask flover.
I'm satisfied. Thank you Panama !

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

I know many people who enjoy this rum and see the reviews of same. I found this raisiny and a bit hot. For a sipper I’d never sip. If you like old mono, dos Madeira’s etc you’ll enjoy this. Similar flavor profile.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by fedebelga from Belgium with 8 ratings

Now this is some very balanced premium rum, a 21 yo Panamanian master reserve. The nose: sweet, molasse (brown sugar).
The flavour reminds me a somehow of the Diplomatico reserva exclusiva, yet a bit less sweeter and more complex in taste. The finish is not so strong, a gentle light burn.
All in all, a very good rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 217 ratings

Has been on my wishlist for a long time so was pleased to receive it for Xmas. As its 21 yrs old i poured a double dose into my Glencairn glass and left it for 25 mins on the bench.
On the nose i get caramel , molasses and wood , lots of wood.
This is a smooth , dry sipper that seems very well constructed. Tastes smokey with some leather , oak and plenty of Bourbon flavour which im not a great fan of..
Nice gentle burn in the mouth but no real burn in the throat.
There is some sweetness as well but this is definitely a bourbon /whisky lovers dream introduction into the world of aged rums..I enjoyed it more with an ice cube , overall a good alternative to overly sweetened rums
8.5