Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10
273 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
6
34
92
115
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

273 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

For the price, I expected a bit better. A little oaky aftertaste, light on the molasses. Have it listed as a 5.5 on my scale, but can't get a half bottle here.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 7 ratings

I explain this rum to my buddies as a scot went to Panama and perfected rum. The Nose begins with honey, raspberry and brandied cherry. Small notes of lemon tart later on. The middle palate is Very creamy. Soft caramel and milky coffee leading into brown sugar and orange peels. Some spicy black liquorice notes.
She finishes with waxy peels, cardamom and brandied cherries again. One of my all time favorite rums ever made!!!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Gersonian (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

This bottle was gifted to me by a friend so it's free 99 price tag may be biasing my taste buds. That said, this is one of the best rums I've had. The perfect caramel color actually speaks to the flavor profile. Nice and sweet without being overbearing and the subtle hints of wood and fall fruits and spices are reminiscent of a sweeter bourbon, making it a good choice for whiskey and rum drinkers.

Now that my bottle is officially kicked in dream of the day a fresh bottle is back in my home bar.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by peter_g from United States with 5 ratings

zafra master reserve 21 presents with immediate vanilla, cane, and oak, in perfect balance. the experience is consistent on the palate in the sense that the flavor profile doesn't evolve - it simply is what it is - except to finally give way to a slightly "boozy" ethanol burn. may be drunk neat or over ice, but don't be ashamed to use it with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Romi0 from United States with 1 rating

Minimal burn, but lack of after taste. However, the oak/nutty notes are delightful with its semi-sweet touch of molasses. It's a truly remarkable aged rum!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by allredb from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is so different than all the other rums I have or have tasted in the past. I do like this rum. It is not sweet and seems dry, if that is even a way to describe rum. It definitely is unique in flavor and aroma. I drink it on the rocks. If you are looking for something different from most rums give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rick from United States with 8 ratings

Finally a Rum my wife likes as well. She is a whiskey drinker and really likes Zafra. One of the few I drink on the rocks no mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Seems to be a pure rum but it doesnt really jump out at me as something I want to drink. I've had an open bottle for almost 2 years. I enjoy it when I have it, just not something I seek out.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Light color, good aroma but taste wise, it’s a bit harsh for my palette. There are so many better ones than this. The 30 year was recommended but I couldn’t find it locally so I bought the 21 year old.
Was very disappointed for a 21 year old, found much better runs in some 12 year olds.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Erik Marum from United States with 39 ratings

Easily one of my favorites. Very smooth, with balanced caramel, vanilla, and light molasses flavors. I normally am not find of a strong or heavy molasses flavors rum but this one is exactly right. Subtley sweet, but not overpowering at all. Has a slight burn (very slight) but is a delayed warm tingle that brings out focus on the after taste. Not the longest after taste, but long enough to full enjoy the flavors it presents.

For me I sip this one neat, and it goes down sooo easy. Never added ice as for me it was never necessary and I am so happy with it neat I never had the urge to experiment.

It's a little higher than other rums ($45 Miami where I buy it) but no where near the exclusive prices. Yet, I'd take this any day and $45 for this beats any whiskey hands down in this price range.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

*December 2020 Update* So this has, without question, become one of my favorite rums of all time. Easy top-3. There is no rum I would rather sip by the fireplace on a cold day. Its flavors are bold and complex yet also harmonic and inviting. It is to my tastes absolutely masterful. Next to Foursquare 2007, this is probably tied for my single favorite rum of all.

Original review:

Given the flavor profiles I was afraid I wasn’t going to like this rum as much as others. Given the rating though I felt like I had to try it...and I am so glad I did. This is an extraordinarily smooth and pleasant rum to be savored slowly. Some say it has a burn to it, but I would say it is more like a fireside warmth. It’s like molasses, oak, maple syrup, and fine tobacco next to a crackling fire. It leaves a marvelous after-essence of hickory nut. This is absolutely becoming a mainstay in my cabinet. I am impressed.

2 weeks after popping the cork on this bottle I still can’t get it’s beautifully complex mix of flavors out of my head. That being the case I think I have to bump this up to a full 10. This rum is a master piece to be savored slowly on every sip.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 8
Price: 9

Total: 9.5